Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2017
Brilliant, never gets old
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
As a fan of Doc Martin this film is a winner, as good if not better than the t.v. series, cant wait for the next one, EXCELLENT,
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Doc Martin' is one of those shows, I have found that gets better as it ages. However, the first year was very entertaining. There was something a little hit strange about he main character, Doc Martin, played by Martin Clunes, but, since he was a surgeon, that made some sense.

Dr. Martin Ellingham, a London surgeon developed a horrible reaction to the sight of blood. He also dies not have a good bedside manner, and he looks for another job. A GP is needed in a small village in a Cornish fishing village. He had spent summers there and, indeed, loved the area.

Martin was written and created by Dominic Minghella. Martin became the charmless, and insensitive physician, who is a brilliant diagnostician. He is so impossible I felt myself rooting for him. He is an off beat but good man. Once he is in the village, he sets up an office, people come by just to see him, and then they all develop unusual conditions, that he can almost always solve. In the process he falls in love with the schoolteacher Louisa, played by Carolyn Catz. She discovers she is attracted to him, but she doesn't really like him.

Every week a new medical condition is discovered, often including a interesting storyline. Doc Martin gains weight and loves the town. The town is an intricate turn of hillside streets and scenic overlooks. The town characters are the receptionists Lucy Punch and Katherine Parkinson; Ian McNeice, as a plumber ; Joe Absolom as McNeice's son; Stewart Wright and John Marquez as police constables, and Stephanie Cole as Martin's stubborn Aunt Joan. I began to think quite often that Doc Martin has Aspergers. He has all the characteristics. But, it makes no difference, really. This is a character who has soul, a romantic comedy we can all relate to.

Recommended. prisrob 04-07-17
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
I have all the Doc Martin films on DVD, in a box set, I don't know why they left this one out, so I have bought it seperatly. Well worth the money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
I think that Martin Clunes who plays the lead is great in that part as is everybody else in the series, even the view is great.

I would recomend the Doc Martin series to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2016
If I had seen this before the other box sets I most certainly would have never watched them.
Really poor film. Not funny. Camera work was really bad with a lot of out of focus scenes. Several outdoor scenes were obviously shot quickly due to time restraints as one second they were in full sunshine and from another angle they were in shade.
Not sure if it was the same production crew as filmed the tv series but the quality was nowhere near the same.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
good serie, I like this serie thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2017
As ever Doc Martin is a superb series which is well scripted and extremely well produced and acted out. This particular episode is absolutely brilliant and should not be missed, it's a must see for any lover of this excellent TV production. Sadly series 8 brings Doc Martin to its end and will not be carried on, however I can tell you that filming is currently taking place in port Isaac, and on Monday 26th of June Ian McNiece and John Marquez were both involved in scenes taking in a school festival, and Ian involved in what looks to be a near miss accident involving a car. Yes I was in Port Isaac last week and saw both Ian McNiece and Eileen Atkins at the Slipway pub just opposite the shop used as Mrs Tishells Chemists on the Sunday, And saw John alias P.C. Penhale shooting his scene outside the school and Ian shooting his scene in the yard just outside the school gate. Series 8 is due for screening in late 2017.
review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2009
I rather liked it! I was expecting an awful episode having read some of the reviews but it really was much better than I thought.

It was a little bit predictable as to what was going to happen and I didn't like the opening shot of Martin and Louisa tied up (as on the box) and then the whole build up done retrospectively.

But there were sub plots going on - Al and Pauline's romance, Bert's birdwatching tours and Mrs Tishell's usual eccentric turn. Perhaps it did lack a little bit of charm at times.

By the way, it's not exclusive to Amazon - you can get it elsewhere and cheaper!
0Comment| 93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here