Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2017
A good quality product. Used often and for long periods. It does not give any vibration issues. Gives a good finish if using quality paper. The dust capture bag is more for 'show' as it captures only a small amount of dust in my experience. On this basis I use the sander outside on items that are moveable. If you want a sander that has better dust capture qualities look elsewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Whilst the sander itself does the job as intended, the reliability is questionable. From day one the on/off switch has no positive action and when machine is switched off it sometimes starts back up as you go to put it down or starts then stops as you switch it on. The reason for this i would guess is due to the rubber dust cover for the switch being too thick. I now switch off at the wall when not being used for a while.
After owning the sander for 3 months the machine stopped sanding altogether but would rotate freely and would "buzz" when switched on. When sent back for repair (i should have chose the refund), i was told that a piece of debris had been "stuck in the fan mechanism, as i had only been sanding wood i can only assume it was this that they were referring to, hardly a job for which it was not intended. In short, a lot of money for a flawed design.Would not recommend.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
Really pleased with the sander. All the qualities you would expect from DeWALT. Quite light and is very smooth. Took no time at all to do the walls and woodwork in our hall and stairs.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
As a keen DIYer I buy numerous power and hand tools in the mid-range price bracket.

Sadly I have had mixed experience of many so called top brands and feel even when spending close to £1000 on workshop tools, brand name is no guarantee of reliability.

If you buy a drill you want it to drill and for the motor to last at least as few years.

If you buy a sander you want it to sand and last for at least a few years.

So down to this Dewalt sander. It may not be the dearest nor the best but it works and has done for 4 years now. Using the correct sanding discs the quality is good and it does the job I bought it for, sanding.

Sure the on/off rocker switch is difficult to switch on or off sometimes and many is the time I’ve switched it off and put it down for the thing to still be running.

The extractor is both weak and awkward, but for me these are niggles on any machine you buy even expensive machines.

So if you want a reliable orbital sander and can afford the 100 quid, go for it. If you want a good extraction system and a firm on/off switch go for something else. However remember you might get a less reliable sander with a good extraction system.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2011
I highly recommend this sander. Having struggled with a cheap Ryobi in the past this like sanding with a Rolls Royce. Amongst other jobs I've used it to effortlessly sand down the whole of a 2 bay stable in no time at all. 5 stars from me
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
I do a lot of sanding and use sanders for some quite tough jobs so don't tend to buy very expensive machines. Like another reviewer here, I find you often don't get a significantly better build quality when buying a budget machine or a mid-highish end machine however, I love this!

Its fairly quiet for a sander, with not too much vibration going through your hand and quite light so it's comfortable to use for an extended period. The dust bag although tiny is actually not too bad at collecting the dust-it fits a lot more in than you'd expect and doesn't get in the way like some. Its also very easy to attach to dust extraction, there is an inbuilt reducer so you can use hoovers or larger extractor hoses. It gives a nice finish and the variable speed allows for a nice degree of control. Also, the cable (which is rubberised and looks quite tough) is really long which I've found really useful.

Definitely my favourite tool-I bought a green Bosch belt sander at the same time and that's got terrible build quality already nearing the end of its short life-this feels real, long-lasting quality and I think i'll replace some more tools Dewalt based on this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
Great bit of kit very handy does a good job bag on it works well to catch the dust .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
Brilliant. Love it. Perfect little work horse and the dust extractor is really effective where there is no vacuum cleaner available. Don't hesitate just get it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
Another great product from DeWalt easy change sanding disks and adjustable speed setting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Superb sander. Used it to sand down uneven plaster. This was an absolute god send
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)