Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2009
The product isn't brilliantly described here, so I'll explain it in a little more detail.

There are four things this timer does-
1: Self timer. Set the time the timer will wait for before starting he next steps.
2: Interval set. Sets the time the timer will wait before taking a new photo.
3: Bulb mode duration. Set your camera to bulb mode and the timer can hold the shutter open for up to 100 hours (~4 days). Set your camera to continuous shooting and the camera will keep taking photos for the time you set.
4: Photo Counter. Set the camera to take 1-99 photos, or leave it on infinite.

Using these modes together, this is a powerful tool. Some uses so far:
Time lapse: Wait 2 minutes and then take a photo every 30 seconds until 50 photos have been taken.
Astrophotography: Wait 5 seconds and then open shutter for 1/4 hour.
Nature photography: Take 5 second burst of photos.

Build quality is excellent, and the controls are perfectly designed. There is also a nice big button which can be locked down so you can use it like a normal shutter release.

I was impressed to see the timer can trigger autofocus a second or two before taking the photo. Mine came with a battery as well.

The manual is comprehensive, useful and well phrased, although a couple of times the translation to English results in a few errors (you can set the number of hours, minutes or secretaries) but none are major enough to cause problems in understanding.

Aside from the short cable, this is the ultimate shutter release.
77 Comments| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2010
It's basically described well by Alex and Thomas, but I'd like to restate that it's much more feature-paked than any Canon remote for cameras without the "N" fitting or whatever it is.

I think Thomas either got a different item to me or ot it slightly wrong, the "number of shots" can be set up to 399, not 99, but to be honest you'll probably either use infinite or <99 anyway.

Now on to the bad points: it's a little cheap (quality-wise). The timer can hop around a bit in how long it thinks a second is - it's hard to represent this textually but it'll do something like:

1---2---3---4---5---6---7---8--- <-- real time
1---2--3----4---5---6----7--8--- <-- how the timer can count sometimes

So it averages out at a (real) second per (its interpretation of a) second, but if you need it to be precise, then it may disappoint.

Luckily, I'm using it for time lapse, where the camera will decide the shot length and the remote is used purely as an intervalometer with large enough interval for the odd second not to be a problem, and astrophotography where the shot length is generally long enough not to be affected by this.

Also, one thing that kinda bugs me about this but it's not a problem is that it's always on. The only way to turn it off is to take the battery out. Having said that, the manual specifically states that it's an always-on device (like a watch!) so I guess that's normal. And it doesn't seem to be using a lot of juice, although I wouldn't know as I've only had it a couple of weeks (but the battery hasn't died yet!)

And yes, the cable is somewhat short but not really a problem for me.

Hope this helps someone out.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
Nice unit with all the right functions, but the connector does not fit either my 400D or 600D. And consequently not with the 450D, 500D, 550D, as they all share similar connections.

It's not helpful to write incorrect compatibility in the item name. Please correct pronto. Make sure you do some research before purchasing.
22 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2010
LCD timer remote is a must have for every photographer because it lets you manage some settings without touching the camera. Plus you can take a number of shots at specific times. You can adjust exposure, interval, number of shots. It's simple to use. You learn it in five minutes. The LCD monitor lits, so you can use it in the dark. It comes with a very helpful manual.
Tip: if you want to shot images at 1/4, 1/20, 1/400... you can adjust the settings from the camera menu and set remote's exposure setting to zero.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2016
Timelapse and Hyperlapse are now a lot easier with this remote control. Once I sat and read the instructions it soon became second nature to set it up and run with it. I hadn't heard of an intervalometer until I ordered this and what a huge difference it makes. Well worth having it in your camera back as it has so many uses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2012
I bought this product with the hope that it would work for my 60D (as stated in the title), however, the end of the cable which plugs into the camera body is a completely different one, than the one in the picture on Amazon. On the box I received, it says that it fits with the Canon 1D, 1DS, 5D, 50D, 40D, 30D, 20D and 10D.

Don't be fooled into buying this and thinking that it will work with your camera, the cable is a Canon C3, but my camera, and lots of other cameras, needs the 2.5mm end to put into the camera.

It probably is a brilliant piece of kit, for the price, but the title is WRONG.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 April 2013
I bought this to photograph the Northern lights and it performed flawlessly. You can set delay to start taking exposures, length of exposure and time between exposures as well as number of exposures.

It's not immediately intuitive but the manual is good and once you understand the display it makes perfect sense. You can also backlight the display which was useful during the Arctic night. It has an LED which lights when the shutter is open which might affect those doing astro-photography and a beep on shutter open which is useful at night but can be disabled if it drives you mad.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2011
I needed a remote control mostly because I do a bit of astrophotography and also to make time lapses. In what regards astrophotography, it's important to control the shutter for longer expositions (many minutes) and this is not possible without physically pressing the shutter button; with the remote control you can do this without having to touch the camera; with this remote control you can actually program the exposition time, and the number of shots you want to take, and with which interval between shots.

For time lapse, the Canon 1000D is a bit limited since it doesn't allow you to do this straight from the camera, you can do it with the camera connected to a PC with a software for that. This remote control makes time lapse possible even without a PC, just set up the number of shots, with what interval between shots, and that is it really. You are limited to 399 shots in one go. But you can always start again after a batch of 399 shots.

Sure it's a bit on the cheap side in what the plastic is regarded, as another buyer has noted. And also as another buyer noted, the seconds counting can be a bit jerky. BUT it way cheaper than the Canon remote control, allows you to do a lot more things, and works great.

Good value for money.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2009
I ordered this Timer for my Canon and it works very good. I used it for long exposure sessions for astrophotography and won't miss it any more. The display is green illuminated and turns off after a few seconds.
A little LED shows you, if an exposure is taken or timer is out of work.

4 of 5 stars because of the cable which is a little to short and the low contrast on the display while temperatures below -5 degrees.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
Simple device for doing time lapse video, delayed shots or just used as a remote shutter release for tripod shots. For those worried about the lack of and off button, I've had mine for about a year year and haven't had to change the battery yet. I use it with my 500D and have done some long time lapse shoots, 8 hours, 1 frame per second. Really easy to set up and use. Can't fault it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse