Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 October 2016
Patti Smith probably has a niche following. She's an enigmatic indivividual, but she's multi talented, charismatic and whether it's her poetry, singing, artwork or photography, she's often spell binding. i recently listened to her reading her book Just Kids, which is autobiographical and covers, in the main, the years she spent with Robert Mapplethorp. Her account is lyrical and compelling and this DVD is an excellent companion to and follow on from the book.

Even if you've never heard of Patti, or know little about her, this film is an eloquent and and fascinating insight into her life and work. She's very much her own person and is largely uncompromising in the way she's lived her life and worked towards her various goals. She seems to have packed a number of lifetimes into her years. Her experiences are diverse and different and she's a truly extraordinary individual.

This film is exquisitely shot, some fly on the wall, some direct narration and some art shots. It's never boring and it's a remarkable account. Despite her sometimes brash onstage presence, there are many glimpses here of a very different person; one filled with compassion and live as a wife, mother and friend. I enjoyed this enormously.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
One of the best documentaries I have seen in my life about music and the unique perspective of an artist. I have always been a fan of Patti Smith and her music so I saw this film with an open heart and mind and was pulled into this journey of several years condensed into a two hour film that depicts a fascinating life filled with thoughtful, riveting and towering music and a intricate mind filled with questions and observations about the inner workings of politics, religion and humanity. It is a fulfilling experience to watch Dream of Life and a very inspiring one!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
A very moving & thought provoking film.
If you have ever read or listen to Patti Smiths work this is a wonderful insight in to her world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2012
I love this woman, she is way ahead of most of the rest, i love her outlook on life and her positive way in everyday life as well as her music, thgis woman is outstandind in her own right and a credit to the human race, exellent stuff, i wish the world was full of Patti Smiths, that would be some word, lets dream on patti, long live this legend, love her.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2016
Good video for s Patty Smith fam
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
I was really looking forward to this film, having just seen Patti Smith at the Byron Bay BluesFest 2017 and being bowled over by her performance. Unfortunately I didn't feel that I got any insights into her as a person or her life. The film seemed to prioritise creating an artistic impression over communication. But that may just be me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this film, Patti Smith has captured here the world and her life through how she see's it. I liked the way in which the photography, her words and experience are all entwined. It is one to watch if you like her work. The music is great, I just wish I could find out more about the track she sings as the trailers are screened at the end, can anyone tell me?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2009
I'm a massive Patti Smith fan but this is a bit of a yawn (admittedly, I did try watching it at 1am in the morning). Languid and arty rather than rock n'roll.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
I had just finished reading Patti Smiths book 'Just Kids' and then saw this film. It complemented the book brilliantly and moved the story on. Patti is always fabulous to listen to and watch and neither the book or the film disappointed. A must for any Patti fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)