Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

The Mist [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 14 December 2012
Ok so my thoughts on the film `the mist' which is an old film (not old old)
Which came out in 2007, based on a Stephen King novel directed by none other Frank Darabont who directed the shawshank redemption and the green mile. And currently producer on the walking dead.
This film is probably one of the most underrated films.
Basic synopsis in a town in Maine (well it is a Stephen king novel) Thomas Jane takes his son to a supermarket only to get stuck as a mist suddenly eclipses the town. And their is something evil lurking it in. The film is largely based in the supermarket the film focuses on the interactions of the group; but does have some freaky moments to it.
And a overly religious woman who says this is gods work which separates the group.
The film is well written acted and directed. I cannot find any fault to this film. It is sad that it has been overlooked.
It's release on blu ray which comes with the black and white and colour versions. The ending is bleak so don't expect a happy ending. And the haunting track the Host of Seraphim by dead can dance adds so much to the ending its powerful and holds a sadness to it. Frank Darabont had changed the ending of the film from how the book ends.
In my opinion one of the best horror films out. Because it doesn't rely on blood guts and gore or half naked woman running around.
It takes itself back to the old styles horror films.
If you have not seen this film you should give it a watch.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2010
I tried.I really tried.The bad acting,the crappy dialogue "you're scaring the children" The awful CGI.But i was still willing myself along for the ride.Against insurmountable odds I even enjoyed the odd moment But as the credits rolled i was ashamed of myself for ever suggesting that we watch this film.do not ever watch this movie.It could easily lead to divorce,with one party citing the others poor taste in films.
44 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
"The Mist" is another superb adaptation by Frank Darabont of a Stephen King story, but this time instead of redemption, Frank's going for terror - hoping to get you to soil your jockeys or at least nibble your fingernails more than you normally would. He achieves a bit of both actually in this terribly endearing Seventies-feel Sci-Fi schlock fest.

First up, Darabont cleverly doesn't go for big names in the lead roles - there are faces in there you'll recognize (William Sadler and Jeffrey DeMunn - who were both in the mighty "Shawshank Redemption" for instance), but it's mostly actors you vaguely know or don't recognize at all. It has the effect of making their predicament more real - ordinary townsfolk locked into a battle for survival - where common sense quickly takes a back seat and bravery becomes a luxury few are willing to deploy...

Here how it goes - the Army's been experimenting up in the mountains (aren't they always) and have unleashed something nasty on our world (don't they always). As the 'mist' creeps in over a small US town after an unnatural storm, half the not-so-bright populace gets trapped in the local supermarket where it becomes quickly evident that it's probably not a good idea to go outside into the dense creeping fog, because people who do tend to either not come back or get eaten. Ropes that were attached to torsos - fall limp, there's a sound; a scream and someone's entrails end up on the potato chips stand...(thoughtless of them you have to say)...

All the usual elements are in place - the irritating stupid ones who do something they shouldn't and end up as fodder, the lying Army types covering their uniformed asses, the wise old ones who sacrifice for the young, the cowardly big talkers who then sit in corners and whinge - the women who are ballsier and brainier than the men - all manner of parents who are just trying to protect their families...the resourcefulness and guts of those who do fight back and win...

Darabont also cleverly ratchets up the tension by having no music for ages so that when the sinister synth drone does kick in - it really kicks in - and when the wailing vocals of Lisa Gerrard from Dead Can Dance on "The Host of Seraphim" comes in towards the end - it has the emotional impact of a fist in the face. It's on an album called (not surprisingly) "The Serpent's Egg"...

Toby Jones is superb as the grounded Supermarket owner, Thomas Jane as the father who must keep safe his son at all costs and Andre Braugher as his difficult neighbour who doesn't buy into the hysteria and conspiracy theories and pays the webbed price.

But the film belongs to Marcia Gay Harden who is stunningly effective as the town's religious zealot who seizes her it's-the-wrath-of-God moment with non-stop apocalyptical-jabbering. Of course after two days of ranting about sins and the End of the World and her being God's conduit, she begins to make twisted sense to the terrified folks desperate to placate the beasties outside. Enter the inevitable Lord Of The Flies scenario - a sacrifice must be made...

There's something terribly old-fashioned about The Mist. It wants to make your girlfriend go "yew!" a lot and it achieves this on several occasions with genuinely squeamish aplomb. Coming over a bit like an Irwin Allen Seventies epic, The Mist is basically a very, very good B-movie.

For Blu Ray owners - the special effect creatures are Jurassic Park meets Alien meets the bug scene in King Kong - creepy, scary and deliciously icky. The Blu Ray images are really clean and crisp and even when huge things lurk over cars in a blurry haze, you still see their monstrous outlines and 'feel' their size as the pumped-up audio does its thing.

By the time the unexpected and staggeringly downbeat ending finally comes - you know someone has done their job right, because you've been rightly and royally entertained. And more importantly - you've rooted for these people - so much so that you end up thinking about them and their decisions - days later...

A great rental or buy. Recommended.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2009
This film is completely bizarre. A bunch of small town folks holed up in a supermarket while something unspeakable surrounds them. Unfortunately the dialogue is also unspeakable, so the likes of Marcia Gay Harden struggle with their ridiculous roles. The supporting actors and extras have been appallingly directed, spending the majority of the running time standing still and looking confused. But the biggest misjudgement is the pointlessly depressing ending, which achieves nothing apart from rendering the lead character completely idiotic.
44 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2015
Food For Thought.
A Deep And Thought Provoking Movie - Not Bad For An 'Old School' Monster Movie.

The Mist reminds me of the Book 'Hug the Monster: How to Embrace Your Fears and Live Your Dreams' Paperback - 9 Jan 1997 by David Miln Smith (Author), Sandra Leicester (Author). In The Mist - In The Midst Of Chaos there's absolutely no chance of hugging any monster to embrace our fears. That's not happening in this movie, as The Mist is a sad, disturbing and painful reflection of human behaviour when an 'unrecognisable' disaster strikes.

I say 'unknown' because Londoners pride themselves - (and quite rightly too) - for the help and support given during the 7/7 Bombings. The difference is that although the source and the scale of the bombings was 'unknown' at the time, Londoners 'knew' that something had gone terribly wrong with the fabric of London life - the public transport system - London Underground and London's Red Buses - (London Underground - the pride and joy of the current Mayor of London [Boris Johnson], meanwhile London's Bus Drivers get treated like 'the poor relation that's come to stay').

The Mist goes beyond all reason of faith, knowledge and logic. It goes beyond the edge of human reasoning and understanding with politics and religion slap bang in the middle forcing people to choose sides. Those who refuse to take sides, use common sense to take their chances outside, but when those three choices - (logical, political and religious) - are narrowed down to two choices - death now or death later - death by someone you love or respect or death by being ripped apart by a monster' - well - let's just say - in 'life', death should never be an option - unless you choose to be an incredibly stupid human and become a martyr or suicidal.

Take away the entertainment value of The Mist in film, we humans are the only animal species that would rather choose death than face the consequences of life. Have you ever tried to kill an insect and see how they hang on to life?
Scare people long enough - ie: take away their rights and privileges and you'll see how daft, insane and primitive the situation gets, the individual will be even worse - The Wall Street Crash is a prime example.

Films these days are being given two certified ratings: one set by The British Board of Film Classification and one set by The Republic of Ireland.
The Brits is Red, the Irish is Blue.
The Mist has a 15 18 Certificate - 15 set by The Brits and 18 set by The Irish.

I think it should be an 18 18 Movie - but - you know - Who Am I that anyone should read my Review?

Thank You!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2017
With the American TV series of the same name currently being broadcast, I thought it would be a good idea to return to Frank Darabont's 2007 film adaptation of Stephen King's novella, 'The Mist.' Now, anyone familiar with the novella will know that the movie is a fairly faithful adaptation of the source material, bar the shocking conclusion - more of which later. In brief, a large group of people find themselves trapped in a convenience store after a mysterious mist engulfs a small New England town. Outside lurk monstrous creatures from a nightmare world, while inside the humans begin to degenerate as suspicion & fear begins to strip away the thin veneer of civilization. It is a pretty cynical view of humanity under pressure but a believable one, in my view. Also, the acting is consistently good with no starry names to distract one from the drama. Thomas Jane does a fine job in the leading role but special mention most go to Toby Jones as Ollie & Marcia Gay Harden as the religious zealot Mrs. Carmody. Frank Darabont, no stranger to the world of Stephen King, directs some impressive set pieces, especially the tense pharmacy scene. The special effects are top notch, bar a couple of fake looking CGI shots inside the store. However, the film's biggest talking point is the aforementioned shocking conclusion. It went way beyond Stephen King's own bleak ending to his novella & was truly audacious. I'm surprised the Hollywood suits didn't demand a more upbeat replacement. In short, 'The Mist' is a fine little horror film that all fans of the genre must see!

Of course, this being a two-disc DVD, there are plenty of extras that detail its making, as well as a conversation with Stephen King but perhaps the most interesting thing is the option to watch the film in black & white. It is an option I'd heartily recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2015
I have watched 'The Mist' at least once a year since the blu-ray was released in 2008. It is one of the best, if not the best, adaptation of a Stephen King story, originally published as a 'novella'. There are elements of the story that have been rightly omitted by director Frank Darabont to serve the story and characterisation better and the ending he created is very different, packing an emotional punch which in my opinion, improves the story and the film. 'The Mist' is, in a nutshell, a very good film.

The UK blu-ray is equal to the 2 disc American version in every way and all the features are intact, including a black and white version of the film which Frank Darabont wanted. The sound and picture quality are as good as can be expected from a film from 2007 and there is not much to quibble about the blu-ray edition except the cover which is poor and not at all evocative as the one on the 2 disc US version which reflects the film far better - scary, dark, tense and full of monsters of both the human and non-human variety.

I won't give away some of the surprises in this film and I suggest anyone who has not watched this film before should avoid any so-called reviews here that reveal some of the story and the ending. This is a horror movie that has monsters within but the central theme is how ordinary people behave or what they are driven to when something extraordinary happens which in this case is an incident of apocalyptic proportions. The film is clever in setting up what is an ensemble cast although it is definitely Thomas Jane who is the lead actor here and he is good as the father trying to protect his son and do what is right at the same time. Marcia Gay Harden as the bible thumping fanatic and Toby Jones as the assistant manager who reveals himself to have a set of valuable skills are some of the other notable characters.

The visual effects are a mix of old-school and modern cgi and are very effective. Darabont has done an excellent job of keeping the film grounded in some realism with the various characters trapped in a supermarket albeit surrounded by creatures that are deadly and fantastic. Although this is not a film where there is an action sequence every 10 minutes or so like clockwork designed to hold your interest until the next such sequence, the film is well-paced, unrelenting in the depiction of the mounting dread of the ever-worsening situation and unafraid to deal a few surprises including an ending that is definitely not 'happy'.

There are some excellent scenes to be savoured including a stand-out sequence in a pharmacy that will leave one of the party out of his mind, a bug attack on the supermarket that shows our group that there is always something worse out there, and the last word in a confrontation between the religious fanatic and the assistant manager of the supermarket. All this and more make 'The Mist' a very satisfying and entertaining film that all Stephen King and horror movie fans should look forward to - no matter how many times you have already watched it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2017
The Mist tries to create a thrilling atmosphere, but ultimately is just mediocre. I've tried to open my eyes up to one of Stephen King's later horror films, but alas with every watch I just feel underwhelmed. A strange elusive mist overshadows a small town where various civilians are trapped in a supermarket. However, within the mist are strange gruesome creatures so it's up to the trapped survivors to try and escape. The situation that is presented is an allegory. Humanity itself is self-destructive. With many different personalities in one secluded location, there's bound to be cliques, differing views and struggle for power. This is where the film succeeds. The paranoia undertone that the narrative conveys is the thrilling element. Utilising the strength of fear to persuade and corrupt others into an idealism. How is that portrayed here? A flipping religious lunatic preaching to the crowd. Oh yes, is it a sly dig at religious conversion? No, I don't think so. It highlights how humans destroy each other, and provides the plot with an antagonist that incredibly infuriated me. The monsters are just there to provide tame scares in all it's horrible CGI glory. Sure they look creative and provide some gruesome aspects, yet somehow I was bored. I wasn't particularly thrilled. I just felt incredibly annoyed at how damn easily people can get corrupted, which in fairness is what the plot was going for. I found the acting to be incredibly mediocre, particularly in the first two acts. Every line of dialogue was monotonous. A few good gory scenes involving mini arachnids bursting out a living person or acid web to the face. Then...the ending arrives. If I wasn't infuriated enough, this was the icing on the cake. I absolutely hated the conclusion. Depressing? Yes. But damn coincidental and convenient if you ask me. I understand the purpose, that even good souls ultimately destroy others. But...urgh. The trapped environment and intelligent narrative is what excites me, everything else was absurdly mediocre. Just...the ending...I despise it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2012
I bought this film purely on the reputation of the director Frank Darabont and the close relationship he has with Stephen King and his work. I remember first reading the novella the film is based on in the early 80's. Although I haven't read it since, it did leave a lasting impression. Unfortuately, so did this, but for all the wrong reasons.
The Shawshank Redemption and The Green Mile were succesfully translated to the big screen by Darabont and my hope was that The Mist would follow suit. It doesn't.
Basically, the whole enterprise has a made for tv feel. The prodution values certainly don't seem designed with a cinema audience in mind.
I wont synopsise the rest of the film because if you've thought of renting it you already know the basics of the storyline.
I can't think of a single reason for anyone who likes to be affected on any level by watching a movie to waste any valuable time on this. It fails in every conceivable category. And the much talked about ending does not remotely fit in with the 'feel' of the rest of the film. It seems to be there just for the sake of shock value; a postscript to an unfulfilled story line.
A missed oppurtunity.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2013
Stephen King's `The Mist' was a novella I had read many years before, and despite the Horror-Meister's bizarre plot constructs, I was - as usual - totally absorbed. For many moons afterwards, I found myself at odd times contemplating the fate of these people and what I might do under the same circumstances. And that's what a good story should do. It wasn't perfect, by any means, but it sure hit the spot. So when I heard that a movie had been made, I was eager to try it. Though reviews were mixed.

For the most part, Darabont followed King's story, almost to the letter. Which was a mistake, because it was a little too talky. This was especially so during the supermarket confrontations when arguments keep getting reiterated - though that does actually happen in real life. In short, an experimental military establishment has cracked open a space warp, and stuff has leaked in. There's mist - and there's monsters. The world outside is engulfed; the supermarket provides a safe-haven for those within. But there's monsters inside as well - Humans. Time and terrifying things begin driving some shoppers towards mental crises, and they grow more dangerous than those beasts beyond the glass. It's an excellent study of creeping paranoia and claustrophobia, strongly reminiscent of Carpenter's `The Thing'. Darabont has made two significant plot changes. A seduction in the supermarket, which I personally found highly inappropriate and gratuitous in the story, has rightly been omitted from the movie. And the ending - ahh, the ending - he gave that a very novel twist indeed. It caused a lot of controversy amongst King purists at the time, and still does. You must make of that what you will.

Acting isn't brilliant, yet passes muster. The script is equally adequate. But the set-pieces and effects are to die for. The chaotic derangement is extremely well realised, the fog effects wonderful, and the monsters - though clearly CG stuff - are (almost) seemless. The ambience of the mist frankly perfect. There are provocative silences and a marked absence of tension cords, which enhance the other-worldliness just beyond the doors. Huge mantis-like outlines are barely glimpsed in the mist, and one impossibly huge beast is depicted seemingly wandering in this alien void, bellowing in a way that is almost tragic. Maybe we've hurt them as much as we've hurt ourselves with our irresponsible meddling.

Although it has a B-movie structure and received a luke-warm reception, that shouldn't put viewers off who want a scary movie that still makes you think. Carpenter's `The Thing' was released under similar circumstances, and is now rightly regarded as one of the greatest horror movies of all time. I don't think this is as good, but it's certainly in the first division.

My `Momentum' DVD quotes a 120min runtime, 16:9 widescreen ratio, and a 15 viewer rating.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Dreamcatcher [DVD] [2003]

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)