Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
10
5.0 out of 5 stars

on 12 August 2007
This book is worth its price just for the 'Basic Primer in SEO' chapter. It covers the whole lot without going into unnecessary technical detail. This chapter builds a solid background and enables the reader to grasp the terms used by SEO professionals who tend to be more business orientated.

The rest of the chapters go into more detail and give examples of how to optimise your code for search engines. The PHP examples are nice and simple, so any PHP developer can follow them and the more experienced developers can easily apply the simple exercises to more complicated scenarios.

The regular expressions chapter wasn't something I was expecting to find, but is something that is definitely needed as background knowledge.

I was particularly impressed how the authors of this book don't claim to know the ins and outs of how Google works. They don't try to make you believe that they have all of the answers, like some SEO experts tend to do. This honesty give me confidence in the authors' credibility. The authors give informed advice based on their experiences and direct you to other sources of information. When they don't have a definite explanation (for example, how page rank is calculated) they tell you what is the most likely answer based on the opinions of various experts. This allows the reader to form their own conclusion.

I recommend this book to PHP programmers of all abilities who are interested in any level of search engine optimisation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2009
These guys know what they are talking about (the picture on the cover underlines this :-). Chapters are self-contained for a technically oriented reader and loaded with concrete advice. There is also focus on the HTML side of the story, which was a pleasant surprise. We have used the recommendations in improving our SEO in our company. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2008
I have strong web design and (PHP) development experience but limited understanding of what makes a website more visible and also what causes a website not to be visible and the reasons behind this.

This book is great as it takes an approach for PHP users. It also helps you think about better development to consider Google, Yahoo and others "Liking You" ie: not penalizing you for something you didn't even know you were doing.

The book is best read from start to finish as it eases into many concepts that will affect your ranking in search engines by explaining how to get it right, or at least do a better job and not rely just on blind faith that your website might get hits.

If you need to get to grips with SEO as a web designer/developer or are looking to get your home web projects a little more off the ground search visibility wise, then this is a great book to start with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2007
I'm not overly techie but work as Project Manager in a Search department with programmers. This book clarifies a lot of the technical aspects in an accessible way. This is also the only book to my knowledge that covers this area of SEO (technical). The lads have done a good job with this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2007
For developers who just start with search engines optimization, this book is excellent. Covers almost everything you want to know about simple and efficient rewrite url, dealing with duplicated content, sitemaps, etc...

Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
I was glad I bought this book. Very well explained and easy to follow.I am now more aware of what is going on in my website and the external neighbourhoods. I am no techno person so did not not attempt the exercises provided but by the step by step instructions looks of it, it seems understandable to follow.
Must say it is a job well done so will be buying more books from these guys.Well worth its weight in Gold.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2007
Excellent especially if you work in a larger institution that has programmers and web marketing people on board. However, if you don't have any background in SEO, or anybody handling the basics of doing this for you, then you also need an 'introductory book' (the authors themselves recommend 'SEO an hour a day'. Nothing wrong with that, just don't expect to buy this book to understand basic SEO techniques.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
i have read this book, it covers lots of web2.0 knowledge, such as ajax, rss etc, if you a new programer, you can study seo, php, ajax,rss from it, it is really a great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2007
A brilliant book.
Would not recommend it for beginners.
If you are a developer and have strong SEO basis then this is the book for you.
Really enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2007
This is a very technical book with such a lot for the non- technical person. I am very capable as a web designer but I do not actually programme sites - yet. I chose this book among several for my SEO researches and I found the advice and especially the websites recommended really useful. I think the section on black hat techniques for SEO is essential information. Thank you authors.

Cynthia Black

cyndy@cpblack.co.uk
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)