Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
353
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2017
Expertly directed and crafted. Wonderfully filmed by Raging Bull veteran cinematographer and one of the best soudtracks of its time.
Movie is perfectly paced, characters are super likable and memorable, script is tight and funny and it exudes style out of every single pore.

I'm an 80s dude and I'll say it right now, even if you were born after, you will still feel nostalgic about an era you never lived in. Cult classic and oractically a perfect movie.

Bluray transfer is good. Great amount of extras. Super Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 May 2004
This is the ultimate in cheesy Eighties movies (I mean this as a good thing!)
What more could you want? Kiefer looking gorgeous as the leader of a teen vampire clan, the Coreys in their prime, and a great soundtrack, it's an excellent combination, plus you get Alex Winter in his pre-Bill and Ted days!
I really love this movie, it's another of my top five, I can't recommend it enough - buy it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2000
This eighties bratpack vampire movie was a classic of its time; when I was fifteen I thought that Kiefer Sutherland and his crew of degenerate bloodsuckers were the coolest role models possible. Not actually very effective as a horror film, The Lost Boys still has some shock moments (such as the part where the hunters disturb a vampire hanging upside-down in the shadows). Jason Patric is the new kid on the block, recruited into the vampire fold by a vampish seductress. The vampire gang is a metaphor for The Wrong Crowd, and it's fun to watch him almost succumb to the will of the vampire leader. The best scene is where the vampires dare our hero (Michael) to join them in dropping from a suspension bridge into the misty void...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 December 2003
Citing its influences as modern vampire literature, The Lost Boys is a 1980s update for the vampire movie genre, and probably remains the ultimate vampire teen movie: loud and fast, with a healthy dose of angst. "Sleep all day. Party all night. Never grow old. Never die. It's fun to be a vampire."
Michael [Jason Patric] and his brother Sam [Corey Haim] are forced to move Santa Carla with their mother, and swiftly learn that it well dserves its title as "Murder Capital Of The World". As Michael is taken in by a local gang of vampires, he needs his brother's help to prevent his full transformation. And the only way to save him is to take down the leader...
The film is a horror comedy with a good premise, but the execution is somewhat flawed. There are a number of excellent scenes, especially the vampire's-eye-view shots of attacks, littered throughout the film. The graceful swooping camera produces a very eerie effect. The railroad bridge sequence is an interesting portrayal of a night out for a vampire gang. The closing sequence degenerates somewhat into a parade of different methods of killing a vampire, although the garlic/holy water bathtub is impressive.
While Kiefer Sutherland's David remains charismatic throughout, Michael's interaction with both the humans and vampires of the film is strained and dull. In fact it is the dark humour that keeps the plot rolling, "You wait till Mom finds out!" screams Sam on discovering that his brother is a vampire. Standing out however are the Frog brothers, Edgar [Corey Feldman] and Alan, who run the comic book store and happen to be vampire hunters in their spare time. They are superbly characterised and brilliantly overplayed (and, of course, utterly inept). Barnard Hughes as the boys' grandfather is also engaging, despite his limited screen time.
It is intended as a fun film, as sequences like "death by stero" serve to ensure (the effect apparently took 2 weeks to produce, lasting only 10 seconds on film!), but the horror side is sadly lacking. It never develops much depth in the areas it wishes to address through Michael, as the character remains wooden and boring, especially next to Sam and the Frog brothers. It does, however, remain good fun.
DVD FEATURES: very lacking, including only the Theatrical Trailer, and a small set of text infomation snippets.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2008
I watched the Hi-Def version of this last weekend on Sky Movies. I don't know how they do it, but the picture quality's as good as a modern film (yes, The Lost Boys is 21 years old!). One of my favourite all times and it's added straight to my wish list!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2000
I remember being quite young when I first saw this classic movie, then I thought it was the greatest movie ever and even now after quite a few years (and a few very bad vampire movies), I still think it is an absolute classic, the greatest there ever has or ever will be. Maybe now that I'm that little bit older I can also appreciate the soundtrack to this movie, when I was younger it wasn't as significant as the movie itself but if the truth be known, the movie warranted the soundtrack or vice versa? You decide!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2017
Love this film!!!! I always wanted to be Starr played by the beautiful Jami Gertz, the actors are great, from the funny and cute Cory Haim (RIP) to the leader of the vampire gang Keifer Sutherland... the story of Vampires never gets old, it's a classic film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2001
A great modern take on the age old vampire tale.Schumacher certainlly delivers a bite with this fiendishlly funny flick.Sutherland plays the leader of a gang of "blood suckers",who at night roam the board walk of the costal town of Santa Carla,so called"murder capital of the world".With the arrival of a new family to the town,you soon learn that things arent quite what they seem.With great performances from Kiefer Sutherland and Jason Patrick and a killer soundtrack(Inxs,Echo and the Bunnymen) this has to be one of the best light/comic horror movies ever made and is deffinetly a must see movie.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
If you only see one eighties movie about vampires… then watch (the original) ‘Fright Night.’ However, if you’re well into either or both movie history, or our blood-sucking fiends of the night, then you should probably watch the original ‘Fright Night’ AND ‘The Lost Boys.’ There are some films you just have to see and The Lost Boys is one. Maybe I was being too flippant when I said that you should watch it after ‘Fright Night?’ Let’s face it… Fright Night got an updated remake whereas The Lost Boys is yet to be redone by modern (CGI) hands.

There’s nothing amazing about The Lost Boys’ plot, i.e. a family relocate to a new town where they discover it has a dark secret. Even in the eighties this was getting a little stale. However, it’s the film’s blend of horror and a real self of ‘self-knowing’ without ever descending into straight up comedy. The two central characters/brothers play off each other well, giving a natural feel of sibling rivalry while at the same time having each other’s back when push comes to shove. Of course, this relationship is really put to the test when the elder brother only goes and gets mixed up in the wrong crowd – a crowd of vampires to be precise! And, to prove the old warning true about never accepting drinks from strangers, he only goes and has a swig from a bottle of blood turning him into one of their reflection-less ranks.

As good as the brothers are, a really great film also has a wide variety of supporting characters for them to interact with. The Lost Boys doesn’t depart in that department. For a start we have the pair lads who seem to live in the local comic shop and ‘swot up’ on how best to defeat the local undead via the pages of graphic novels. If there is a real ‘comic element’ to the film it lies with them, but, seeing as they’re never used in excess, they never become annoying. Of course special mention must be given to Kiefer Sutherland. Before Jack Bauer was saving the world, Kiefer was ripping people’s throats out with his evil yellow eyes and 18 certificate Buffy the Vampire make-up. He’s by far the stand out performance. You may not want to root for him, but you sure won’t sleep easy after watching his sheer glee at terrorising any of us mere mortals.

Yes, as with any horror film you have to suspend your disbelief at times. Sometimes plot points are a little hard to swallow, but this film is just too much fun to really care and the massive amounts of good so outweigh the negative moments it’s just not worth mentioning.

You should definitely watch ‘The Lost Boys.’ Whether you’re a fan of great characters, horror, vampire, teen movies and general fun flicks from the eighties, it basically has it all. And that’s before I mentioned the musical score. Seriously… that chant is damn haunting and will stick in your head long after the cool (and completely out of the blue!) last line of the film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 September 2008
After quite a few disappointing movie rentals, and being none too impressed by the more recent monster/action films to grace our screens, I decided to try out a classic.

My interest was initially perked up by the fact Kiefer Sutherland was in it. Being a bit of a fan, and liking the premise of the film, I decided to buy the double boxset of the film (it works out cheaper - even if the 2nd one is a bit naff in comparison) and I must say it's one of the best films I have seen in ages!

The story goes thus. Michael and Sam move with their mum to Santa Carla, California, after what seems like a slightly messy divorce. They settle in quickly, Sam befriending two (if not slightly odd) comic book store teens, and Michael befriending agang of bikers...or are they?

Pretty soon, Michaels getting up to behaviour that annoys any parent - staying out all night, sleeping all day - while Sam tries to get to the bottom of his brother's wierd behaviour.

I don't want to blow the plot for anyone that hasn't seen it, but it's a fun and wholly entertaining film, with a rousing soundtrack, one or two jump in your seat moment, and for the Kiefer fans out there, yet another role (besides 24) that he seems made for. Keither plays his role with glee and flips between bully, lovable looking rogue and...something a lot less savoury.

Thoroughly entertaining, with some truly comic moments - and not just for the eighties fashions and HUGE hair - but because it doesn't take itself all that seriously - and to be honest is a much better film for it.

So come on - buy today, pop in the DVD player, go back in time to the eighties and enjoy one of those true eighties classics that belongs up there with the likes of Terminator and Robocop!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)