Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
53
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2012
What a pity this is in NTSC format and will not run on my fairly new digital TV. It runs on my 12 year old laptop and I have yet to discover if I can relay it from laptop to TV. It is not the same on a laptop. If the screen is not at precisely right angle it all looks dark, in fact hardly visible. Otherwise splendid
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
A different portrayal of Jose by Kaufmann which grasps the cruel element in the character. Wonderfully sung as anticipated and. apart from Escamillo, acted superbly by all the cast. A valuable partner for the Domingo filmed version, both of whose performances are equally valid. I would not be without either
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2016
WOW! This is a sexy Carmen and ultimately sad as we trace Jose's inevitable downfall when he falls for Carmen to when he kills her. Kaufman and Antonacci are in superb voice and the whole production is spellbinding. Buy it at once!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
You couldn't ask for more. Gorgeous singing and very very sexy. Earthly but conventional production but good camera work and excellent sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
USUALLY IT IS CARMEN WHO STEALS THE SHOW, NOT IN THIS PRODUCTION. JONAS IS FANTASTIC. WORTH BUYING AND KEEPING IN HYOUR OPERA COLLECTION.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
This is a stunning production of raw passions with excellent acting and superb singing. Jonas Kaufmann is one of the very best tenors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
Excellent wonderful cast and the singing second to none really enjoyed it & will watch it over & over again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
Love this version of Carmen. Would have loved to of seen it live. Very happy with the prompt arrival.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
I searched through the various You Tube offerings in search of a pleasing Carmen and this was the only one that appealed to me.The audience is left in no doubt about Carmen's sexual forwardness: she wraps her legs around the unfortunate Don Jose and even buries his head under her skirt. A bit strong that I thought for family viewing, but my son informs me that "They are all like that these days Dad".That said, she is much more convincing than those Carmens that would never turn a man's head.Two of my favourite sequences are the part with the children's chorus near the beginning and the final procession to the arena near the end of the opera. I thought both scenes were splendid because I have seen them handled in a rather routine manner in other versions.I can say much the same about the rest of the show. It is full of zest and excitement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
"Brilliant", nothing else to add except Delighted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)