Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2014
Tchaikowsky's romantic violin concerto is one of the most loved and recorded concertos in the classical repertoire. Great performances, historical and modern, abound. With so many fine recordings of this brilliant and technically demanding concerto, it would be difficult to pick one as the best and a final choice might well depend on personal taste. Coming to Jansen's rendition with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra under Harding, it is unquestionably a great success and, in my opinion, one of the best modern recordings available in the current discography. Of course, there are several other good alternatives such as Repin/Gergiev, Chung/Dutoit, Bell/Tilson Thomas, Vengerov/Abbado. But, in any event, Jansen's version is comparable to the best and would-be a valuable addition to all serious classical collections. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2009
The title of my review fits perfectly in this recording by Janine Janssen. The sound is pure, perfect and the fact that the violin solos are played with a Stradivarius makes all the difference.

Her ability to play each note is remarkable and I believe that in a few years she will be one of the best performs in the world.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2008
I had not listened much to the Tchaikovsky Concerto in recent years, thinking of it as a bit of an old warhorse. Janine's passionate and fresh account has converted me back. Completely captivating. Buy with confidence!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
I have had this recording for some weeks now and I am captivated by it. Janine is so fabulous at playing her violin that I find it difficult to believe she is a human being. It always brings tears to my eyes as it is so intense and gentle at the same time. I cannot recommend this recording enough. Even if you know nothing about classical music, I am sure that this will more than impress you. Tchaikovsky would be proud !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
fascinating
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2010
I initially bought this CD for myself at full price. As expected, Janine Jansen plays with gusto and the performance is beautiful. The recording is excellent and well worth the money even as a second or third CD. I have since bought the CD for a friend of mine who is a violinist also. She is impressed likewise.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2015
Bravo!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Fantastic recording, sound quality is great and the packaging is nice. Not sure what else to say but it is a very good buy for a reasonable price.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
Listened to it on YouTube on love it then and still love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Great present for my dad.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse