Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
76
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 22 August 2017
This is Glen's American IV Johnny Cash moment...a clever and well thought out collection of songs covered in his own classy style and every track is a winner...forget his past if you have a problem with country music...but give this a genuine listen...it is a game changer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2008
I saw Glen Campbell perform live on 'Jools' and was really impressed with the new song. I'd always loved Wichita Lineman but hadn't taken much notice of anything else. I went on to Amazon to order AC/DC's Black Ice and thought 'why not' and ordered 'Meet Glen Campbell' as well. I've always been a guitar group lover - Floyd, Rory Gallagher, AC/DC etc but Glens album has outplayed Black Ice easily so far (except for that 'Jesus' track, which I skip).
Well done Glen and what a good guitar player you are too. This album is up there with other country favouries I have and nearly as good as Jimmy Buffett to - no higher praise can I give than that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
A Brilliant cd. Such a unique voice fits this collection of songs perfectly. Bonus tracks great too. Missing you already Glen. 💙
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Great album from a true Legend !! Does exactly what it says on the tin !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
fantastic cd listened many times now, great delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
thank you good album and great service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Great covers and bonus tracks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
Glad I purchased this great CD!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2008
I bought two albums at the same time a week or so ago - and I must have been inspired. One was Sia's fantastic 'Some People Have Real Problems' (I must do a review on that!) and this beauty.

One of the other reviewers suggested that this is the best album of 2008 - it is right up there as a contender. The ten tracks are covers of some very fine songs, some I knew and some I didn't. The thing about Glen Campbell is that, at 72, his singing is still as good as ever. I've always liked him, but have nothing more than a compilation which features one or two of his songs.

One reviewer has criticised the production, but I think it just adds to the quality of the tracks on the album. It starts off with 'Sing', written by Fran Healey of Travis who, I must admit, I find extremely boring. However, this is a great song and a wonderful version, beautiful in it's full (as opposed to paired-down) production - a great opening track, which got me involved in the album. From there, the music just flows and the other nine tracks include a couple by Tom Petty, Jackson Browne, Billy Joe Armstrong (of Green Day), Lou Reed and John Lennon. It leaves me wanting to play the album again and again.

Yes, Glen is singing as well as ever and there are some lovely backing singers here. Instrumentally, there is a superb set of musicians, including GC himself - a great guitarist - and the arrangements are perfect.

This is Glen Campbell and friends, putting together an album in the Glen Campbell mould, but brought up to date. The length of the album is only 33:46, which is short. I would have like a couple more tracks, but if you want to listen to it a couple of times, you've only spent just over an hour doing so.

So, a brilliant album, a fantastic return from Glen Campbell which, I for one, hope will be followed up in a similar vein - I would welcome a second album of covers, a la 'Meet Glen Campbell Again'.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 October 2008
Glen Campbell is, quite simply, a master interpreter of other people's songs. In Jimmy Webb he found a songwriter whose lyrics and melodies were perfect pickings for him. They were made for each other. No one should need reminding that Wichita Lineman, Galveston, By The Time I Get To Phoenix and Where's The Playground Suzie were evocative, melodic counterpoints to the emerging hard rock sounds of the late 60s and early 70s.

Pitched somewhere in peoples' minds between Elton John and John Denver, Glen Campbell became largely irrelevant for the next three decades. Although he recorded during this period, with occasional success, the songs were generally bland, pointless and poorly produced. What he needed was a decent set of songs and a sympathetic producer who would recognise the strengths Glen possessed, someone who would recognise what made those earlier classics work.

Enter Julian Raymond and Howard Willing. Their arrangements and production are beautifully evocative of Campbell's greatest period. The Foo Fighter's Times Like These and Tom Petty's "Walls" echo Galveston with low tuned guitars and strings reminiscent of Al de Lory's original arrangements.

Using the Webb classics as a cornerstone the ten selections draw upon the literate work of John Lennon, Jackson Browne, Lou Reed, Tom Petty, Paul Westerberg, U2, The Foo's and Billie Joe. Raymond and Willing let Glen's voice take centre stage and with his sensitive interpretations and their evocative arrangements a hauntingly, beautiful album has emerged.

Simple really. Take a great singer, give him some great songs, mix in some sympathetic arrangements for strings and horns, throw in steel guitar, drums and keyboards and you have a classic record.

Highly recommended. Not a dud track to be heard.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)