Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
48
4.6 out of 5 stars
I Believe - Very Best Of The Bachelors
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 September 2016
As when I was a small child in the 1960s I liked The Bachelors, and I thought I would dislike them now, but no I still loved the sound of the wonderful Bachelors voices and they still were superb to me after 50 years.

If like me you enjoy nostalgia plus high quality singing which never dates. I firmly believe the Bachelors to be a 1960s phenomenon which still sounds wonderful today.

I would very like to recommend this CD I Believe - Very Best of the Bachelors as being truly marvellous and relevant as a shining example of the superb 1960s highest quality groups. This just so much more than mere nostalgia as sheer excellent value cannot be equaled.

Buy it because you love and want to go back those glorious days of the wonderful 1960s and remember your own self way back then. The Bachelors three superb voices of the Shamrock Green - Ireland.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Great product, highly recommend and will buy again. Impressed with product. Delivery was speedy and excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2017
One of my mums favourite groups, she just passed away so had to buy to remember her.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
Brilliant thank you,good seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
Nice to hear them all again!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Brilliant!! Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2016
Excellent, comprehensive collection of the original studio recordings!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
pure nostalgia with many easy listening songs. great in background while working at home on the computer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2008
One of the risks associated with buying hit songs from the 60's is that you never know if you will get the real deal until you put the CD on!
The are a lot of re-recordings of Bachelors songs around, but the good news is, not on this new album from Decca/Universal. This package of 25 songs contains 23 original Decca singles, 17 of which made the top twenty.
All the massive songs are there, Diane, I Believe, Marie, No Arms Can Ever Hold You etc, but among the non-hits there are some classic and well crafted recordings of songs that suited 'the boys' perfectly. 'If Ever I Would Leave You' (from Camelot) is one such number. I well remember hearing them perform it live at The Royal Court Theatre in Liverpool; the audience went wild with a standing ovation! It should have been a hit record, so maybe now, as part of this CD it will be. The two remaining tracks are recent recordings by Con and Dec Cluskey (the three original members have not performed together since January 1984 - mores the pity).
'Gortnamona' bears witness to their Irish roots and 'Somewhere' is totally typical of the powerful ballads that Decca used to find for Con Cluskey to sing his heart out.

But, is it 'the very best of The Bachelors?' No. Of course, an album like this has to have all the big hits - that's why people loved them so much and still do. The group recorded over 350 songs with Decca over a ten year period alone and there are some amazing songs, beautifully recorded that have never seen the light of day on CD. 'Sally' (the Gracie fields song) 'Invisible Tears' 'Put your Head on My Shoulder' are just three that spring to mind. Come on Universal - let's have another compilation with their best album tracks!

If this CD charts (and I suspect thats likely), it will be a lasting testament to the tremendous vocal versatility of John Stokes (the one with the bass and supplier of those lovely soaring high harmonies)Dec Cluskey (lead guitar and low harmony) and Con Cluskey (rhythm guitar and lead vocal).

So....go out and buy this slice of 60's pop history. These fabulous recordings will have you hitting the replay button on your stereo for sure!
0Comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2008
This CD is not the most comprehensive release of The Bachelors tracks (that honour belongs to the double CD ' The Bachelors - The Decca Years', also available from Amazon). However it does feature most of their best-known tracks, including the US no.1 'Diane' and of course the title track 'I Believe'. The brothers are celebrating their Golden anniversary in the music business, and one of the highlights of the CD are the excellent sleeve notes written by Dec Cluskey himself. The fantastic harmonies alone make it worth buying this CD, plus the big endings and seamless key changes. Not many groups last 50 years in showbiz, but this album makes it quite obvious why The Bachelors are the exception to the rule.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)