Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
130
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2015
An underrated show due to issues the network and in many cases the producers brought on themselves. If you are an original series fan, this season of Enterprise is a real treat. There are several great mini-arcs that are chock full of fun things that connect to the Kirk era. When it was announced Enterprise was to be a prequel series, my hopes were raised after some of the tired, safe seasons of Voyager. But after seeing that the look and feel was not really anything close to the Kirk era, I lost interest (like many others). By the time they turned things around late in the second season, it was too late. But that doesn't mean the 4th season (and the 3rd) aren't great, because they are. It's ironic that when the reality of being cancelled was real, it was only at that point the show started taking real risks with story lines. The result? The last two seasons of Enterprise contain some of the most truly exciting episodes since the Borg cliffhanger in 1990. Oh yeah, and the Blu-ray looks great too, the best of the 4 releases.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
I really enjoyed Enterprise even though it at times contradicted what came before in the Star Trek universe and they did sex it up to much,but I love the characters and most episodes,I think the last 2 were the rest in the series especially the last one as it was all about the TNG crew not Captain Archers lot,who ever wrote this last one needs sacking it was truly awful and knocks a star off of my rating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
Personally I love Enterprise, despite what people say. I especially enjoyed the 3rd and 4th series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
Easily the best Star Trek series and I think the best sci-fi ever. Only Star Trek shot in high definition. Likable characters. Original plots. The double episode 'In the Mirror Darkly' is wonderful. Anyone can enjoy it, whether they like sci-fi or not. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2016
Its Star Trek on bluray, video is great, sound is great, that it.
If you want to buy it, im sure you seen it on TV before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
Paramount originally decided to cancel Enterprise at the end of series 3, but allowed the fourth to be made. As a result, the writers really went to town to try to cram in as much as they could.

Once again, the quality of writing, direction and acting make this programme one of the very best pieces of television available. There are several multi part stories within this season, but even so the episodes stand out on their own very well. The end result was a series of episodes that addressed a lot of the back story for the "later" incarnations; and we see how the Klingons lost their forehead ridges, the beginnings of section 31, genetic manipulation and several other key items that would play a major part in the various series set further in the "future".

A particular favourite of mine were the two "Mirror" universe storylines; they even went to the trouble of re-creatinging the opening and closing sequence so that the stories were viewed as if from that mirror universe. It's clear that the actors found this a really intersting twist and in particular, Scott Bakula's impassioned speech to the crew about the preservation of the empire (part of which was cut from the programme, but shown in the extras) is a masterclass in acting.

The only epsiode in this set that was a disappointment was the final one; I'm not sure why they decided to bring in Jonathon Frakes, Marina Sirtis (both of whom I really like) and set the storyline as if it were on the holodeck of the Enterprise-D. But at the end of the programme, there is a piece showing the 3 main incarnations of the Enterprise with the relevant captains and the famous "split infinitive" speech; it still makes the hair stand up.

We need programmes like this to inspire us and the next generation; perhaps one day, Paramount will realise their mistake and introduce a new incarnation of this landmark concept and allow a new ship with a new captain and crew to explore strange new worlds, seek out new lifeforms and new civisations; and once again, go boldly where no-one has gone before.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2017
Paramount and CBS have not included Spanish language and subtitles in season 3 and 4. They encourage piracy in fact. I assign them a star, because I must give one. They do not deserve any.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2009
I have very much enjoyed watching the 4th and final season of Enterprise. I especially like the concept of a story going on for 2 or 3 episodes. This approach has allowed for a more detailed development of stories. It was also good to see things that are mentioned in later series that I personally have always wondered about. Most of the stories provided at least some of the answers I was looking for while at the same time creating potential development archs for future seasons (though, unfortunately, we will never get to see them).

The only episode I didn't like was the final one. It felt like this episode belonged into a TNG series rather than Enterprise. It left me with the impression that the cast of Enterprise had been demoted to supporting acts rather than being the main attraction. I suspect, that the author(s) creating this story had envisioned it to be the final episode of season 7 but with the abrupt end of Enterprise an excuse was needed to pull it into the 4th. And I must say, they found a rather bad excuse taking away the last opportunity for the Enterprise and its crew to shine from the cast.

All in all, an excellent season well worth the time and money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2008
Season 4 is filled with double header and even triple header episodes and with 2 parallel universe episodes which are even more higher on the entertainment factor.

Season 4 starts off when the ever present Daniels pulls enterprise into earth's past to 1940 where the nazi's have taken a part of america and all of europe thanks to some time travelling aliens whos intent is to get home and dont care what means they do to archive it, enterprise must stop them and get shocked when they find Archer still alive.

pulled back into the present archer must deal with his troubles of recent and to his old flame who is just promoted to captain of columbia.

after that we find out more on the vulcans, their past and Administrator v'las and his ruthless nature which considered against typical vulcan behaviour is very unusual.

we also see the formation of the United Federation of Planets, the death of an important character while saving shran and his daughter.

A great series that was prematurely killed off. Shame about that.
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse