Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 January 2014
As an oldie I have loved listening to their skilled and pleasing performances. sadly they are no more but they have been part of my life. Great to add these tracks to my personal collection. Good service.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
I've been fortunate enough to see the MJQ (many years ago) live, on stage. This collection is great and all that I expect from them. It reflects the depths they found, so easily, in pieces of music that we, the listeners, might never suspect to exist. The ultimate demonstration, for and of this, can be found in John Lewis's rewrite of 'God Rest Ye, Merry Gentlemen'. Much of it is performed by Milt Jackson and, just when you think you've lost the original tune, you'll hear a short reference to it, then it comes back, goes away and returns, teasing its way through the whole thing. Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
First started listening to M J Q L Ps in the late 50's. Saw them , I believe at the Royal Festival Hall around that time. Warm up band was either Ronnie Scott's or Tubby Hayes - or maybe both.!
I was delighted when I first listened to this CD - brought it all back ! - wonderful !
I used to listen to the Fontessa L P before cycling to East Ham Tech to take my H N C exams - - - those were the days !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2016
As others have noted, this is a good, but not great, remastering of four albums. High frequencies aren't quite there, and there are one or two with rather fuzzy bass. 'Django' (the earliest recorded) and Fontanelle are in mono, but of excellent fidelity. All four albums, on two CDs, are a pleasure to listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
A lovely mixture,covering many years development of this iconic group
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
A good compilation album of the MJQ some of my favorite tracks are missing but a good intro to their style
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2010
Good value for money. There is, however, the need to mix and match, as even the MJQ can get a bit tedious at the end of the 4th album!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2016
Classic laid back jazz ideal for a Sunday morning alternative to television
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2009
This is a fantastic album. The harmonies and syncopation between saxophone and trumpet are superb - it is sometimes difficult to tell which is which, especially as on some tracks they exchange left/right location. Seamless harmony marries with stunning improvisation. If you are moved by the sound of exquisitely crafted, lively, stimulating brass jazz, BUY THIS ALBUM AND ENJOY!
55 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
All seems Ok not yet played all of cd's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)