Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
87
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2017
Here we have a soprano with a wonderfully pure voice and with such a rich diverse collection comprising 17 tracks there is something for everyone. Even the popular opera aria 'O Mio Babino Caro' is performed with great aplomb with which many an opera star would be content. In fact the purity of her voice is such that at least one of her versions( on her first released CD) I have never found equalled never mind surpassed. Other gems to watch out for here are the Bach/Gounod 'Ave Maria, 'May it be', 'Danny Boy,' 'The Water is wide' and so on. In particular, I would single out the 'Ave Maria' because this requires precise voice control which many would find a daunting challenge but not Hayley.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
This album is the typical best album of Hayley in the United Kingdom.
There are some best albums in Japan, too, but it is possible to enjoy this album sufficiently as the unique best board in this.
17 pieces of music interest of the selection from the 16 year-old debut to nearly 21 years old is obtained.
It will be the fact of her preferring to classic crossover's of becoming in this way when gathering music with various types.
It is wealthy in the variety, the singing ability, too, is enough and doesn't make it be really tired.
Since sale of the best board in Japan in 2014, an album isn't sold though.
I want for this album not to become the last best board.
I want you to take out a new album by all means.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Such clarity and beauty in her voice.
Unique.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Purchased as a gift for someone who hadn't heard of this singer, they are delighted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
Lovely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2011
Just love this album! The beautiful voice of Hayley is like a clear crystal brook rippling over smooth pebbles, fresh like the trees that grow alongside the river banks, delighting the senses of all you happen to come by, refreshing them with every note she sings. Beautiful Hayley,you refresh me and lift me up, thank you.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2009
This album is worth the price for Now is the Hour on it's own.
A beautiful Maori song (Po Atarau / Harere Ra) that was a huge hit about 1948 sung by Gracie Fields,
This version of Now is the Hour by Hayley is my definitive version of the song, sung with an intimate understanding of the Maori culture and language, just melts the heart with it's beauty, What a gorgeous voice !
Should also bring back some great memories for the older listeners, My Da just loves it :-)

Gorgeous version of Christine McVie's Songbird on this as well.

Two versions of Ave Maria the Bach/ Gounod version and the Caccini version.

17 tracks in all you won't need the remote to skip over any tracks on this collection, You may need the remote to press repeat a few times as some of the music on this album just massages the soul about as deep as a female voice can !
Hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2010
I came round to Hayley Westenra via a very obscure route. One of the saturday paper supplements had a 'what ever happened to ...' feature and this week it was Neil Reid who had a hit in the early 70s with 'Mother of Mine'. I checked Youtube and sure enough it was there but also listed was another version by a singer called Hayley Westenra. To say I was knocked out by Hayley's version would be an understatement (incidently her version is on an album of Japanese songs Vol 2 I think - it costs a fortune!).
I spent an evening running through Hayley's various performances and wondered how I had missed such a good singer. As for the CD it's a lovely collection showcasing both her classical credentials and a beautiful lilting voice on songs such as 'Danny Boy' and 'Shenandoah'
The 'sleeve notes' feature various photos of Hayley meeting famous people and her enthusiatic and charming comments remind you just how young she is.
The one black mark on this CD is a mix up with the tracks. On the version I got the printed cover and the tracks match, however pop this into your PC and the media player will tell a different story, the tracks from number 5 onwards have the wrong titles so if you rip the CD to your portable music device you will have to rename most of the tracks. I think this mix-up may have been caused by different tracks being used on the compilation in different countries. I am assuming that this error has been picked up now and future versions will be fine. In any event I won't mark the CD down for a technicality when the songs themselves are so beautifully delivered.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2008
It is without doubt by no coincidence that Hayley decided to call this album River of Dreams. It is a tiver of dreams. Each track explains a personal journey in Hayley's musical and personal life, and I believe it is the best Best Of one can produce. Each song was carefully selected, and the songs were without doubt my favorite from the start. So I was extremely pleased to see the tracklistings. I am also more than impressed with the three new recordings. Songbird is one of the best version I have ever heard, and Now is the Hour is yet again one of Hayley's best Maori songs. I believe Hayley's best songs are in sung in Maori, and there is no exception for Now is the Hour. The new recording of Ave Maria displays Hayley's purity of her voice, and how she has contained it over the years. The three new tracks are very well selected, as the album itself is great, and the new tracks prove that she has more. I am very pleased with this album, and am so glad she produced a Best Of. I can now listen to Pure, Odyssey and Treasure all at the same time! If you likes her three international albums, then this is for you. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.59
£3.49
£3.99
£4.98
£13.62

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)