Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
27
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£11.39


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2008
I've had Manga Studio Debut since Christmas and I've been feeling my way with it. While I love the program, I found that the instruction manual (which is in pdf format) isn't that intuitive, so I pre-ordered Manga Studio for Dummies. After a first read through, I can see that it's going to be really useful. It gives great hints and tips and explains how to use all of the tools in a really easy to understand way. There are several tools that I was obviously using wrong!

This book is well laid out, thoughtfully written and very humorous in places. It also comes with a cd, which has a trial version of Manga Studio EX and some other goodies, including bonus chapters. The book is a step by step guide to using Manga Studio (both versions) from the ground up and it's a bonus that it includes information on both the Mac and PC versions (with the caveat that the author uses PCs, not Macs!), meaning that users of both platforms will get good use out of this book. The screenshots and illustrations are clear and very useful, as are the list of tens at the back!

If you have the program, I'd really recommend getting this book to help you get the most out of Manga Studio.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
Absolutely useless due to being ridiculously out of date, as most the functions described don't exist in the current program anymore, or have changed so much the information is of no use.

While it's a symptom of software being updated and whatnot, it still makes the book only any good for propping up a table.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2012
This book is a goood price, arrived well packaged with the software (manga studio EX in my case) and within good time. I cannot tell you how much this will help yo to get to grips whith what is (at first glance) a very overwhelming piece of software. The book is very well laid out- with a general overview which will helpfully point you in the right direction for a more detailed explination of techniques later.
Even if you have a basic understanding of the software this book is full of shortcuts and extra's to make sure you fully exploit every tool to its full potential! Its also goes into detail about tips for after you've edited and are ready to publish, and draws on the authors own experiences to give a deeper understanding on many issues.
Be prepared to do a little ground-work as the version the book refferences is from afew years ago... imagine your in a new and strange place- someone points and says "kitchens down that corridoor"- you may have to check a couple rooms to get there but you'll make it so much faster and know what to expect!
All in all, a must-have for people of all levels!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2009
This is quite useful if you want a readable tutorial for using manga studio. However if you prefer to just wing it and look up how you do something then you may as well just use the instruction manual that comes with the software.

Of course, reading the book has let me know about quite a few features I never knew the program had.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2011
This is a good book covering both the use of the Manga Studio software and the concepts of comic creation. However be aware that this book has not been updated for the latest version of Manga Studio (4.0) hence the three star rating. I am a newcomer to Manga Studio but as far as I can tell this book is based on version 3.0 and there seem to have been a number of features added/merged as well as tweaks and changes to the interface in the latest version, so be prepared for some detective work as you try to follow the steps outlined in the book. I know Dummies books often get revised, so check the product description as it will probably get updated at some point. On balance, I still think this was a worthwhile purchase (especially at less than a tenner) and, of course, if you are running version 3.0 this is going to be an excellent beginners guide.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 July 2011
This pleasantly-written little book takes the reader step by step through a piece of software which has changes so much that the steps either don't exist at all any more or can't be followed without accidentally finding oneself somewhere down a totally different menu tree that was never even mentioned. Maybe once or twice would be acceptable, but I'm now finding that almost EVERY piece of information I need is, well, basically _wrong_.

The general - i.e. not specific to this software - content is alright, easy to read and shows the authors know their stuff, but very little of the information for which I _need_ a manual is of any use at all. It made interesting background reading, alerting me to all sorts of fascinating features which subsequently, I couldn't find.

The original (pdf) product manual is actually far more useful in the saddle.

I would probably suggest that it would be a good and useful product for pre version 4 users but one final point has irked me into apoplexy.While doing the away-from-computer reading that I mentioned, I came across a number of features that I felt would be worth reading up on in more detail. Invariably, these chapters were - now hear this - available on the included CD-ROM, not in the book itself.
What is THAT about??

Maybe an update would fix all this.. but come on now, if your _information_ content is available only on a disk, why not just sell the thing as a CD-ROM and have done with it? Why have a CD-ROM at all? The included trial software can be obtained from the vendors' site and arguments about not needing 'net access make no sense as you'd then need to get on the web to buy and register the full product.Because of this essentially dishonest piece of poor-value marketing, I can only, meanwhile, give this a minimum star rating.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
A very good (and probably the only) published guide for those trying to get their heads around a tricky piece of software.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
Manga Studio does so much to make life easier for the comic artist that it can be a bit bewildering understanding what the possibilities are. I found Manga Studio for Dummies a more accessible starting point than the 400 page PDF manual that comes with the program, thorough as that seems to be.
Hope it won't be too long before there's a new edition to cover version 4 but I'd still recommend this edition to anyone who is just starting out. Until then there are a series of pithy YouTube videos by the author Doug Hills that will fill you in on what's new.
The 5th Wave Rich Tennant cartoons at the start of each chapter are a useful reminder that Manga Studio isn't just for Manga artists; you can fo course use it to speed up your workflow in superheroes comics or the kind of things that I do, historical information strips and picture maps (along the lines of Lord of the Rings maps) to illustrate guided walks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2011
Excellent condition, exactly as specified in the description. No faults to be mentioned and no pages ripped or missing from the order. Arrived promptly and on time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
The book has never been updated to match the software updates it was written for MS 3 the author has made videos for the company. The boob sould'nt be sold unless specifically requested. I've wasted my money
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)