Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
81
4.7 out of 5 stars
Snow Cake - Special Edition [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.93+ £1.26 shipping


on 19 May 2017
Sigourney Weaver is an incredible actress and Alan Rickman was one of the best male actors of our time. This is a special, intensely moving film about dealing with loss, relationships, difference and of course the difficulties encountered by the main character ( played by Sigourney Weaver) who has autism. It is a film with a warm heart, and love and friendship does triumph but it shakes you up a little along the way. Have tissues ready.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
Every now and again a movie slips under the submarine net, cruises into the harbour and blows everything away. Rickman, Weaver and a first rate supporting cast leave a trail of burning buildings and sunken ships behind them - metaphorically. Traumatised after a tragic car accident, Rickman's character meets an autistic Woman and Mother (Weaver) and his life will never quite be the same again. This movie deserved to be up there in the awards, but never was. Miss this and you will miss a true movie event.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
Great movie. Different, engaging, thought provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Amazing film, compelling story and character. A must see. 😊😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2007
Fantastic film SW portraying an independant austic adult. We all know there are different levels of austism. Absolutely fantastic and well researched by this professional actress. Knowing many people with this level of autism it brought a happy smile to our faces relating to these mannerism shown by SW. Well Done!!!!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2007
This is the best film I have seen in such a long, long time. It is beautifully done and with a little humour. The actors are brilliant and I congratulate Weaver for her studying and befriending an autistic woman in the UK for her inspiration - it certainly paid off in the film.

I can't enthuse about this production enough - it should have won awards - buy it!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 January 2016
An excellent comedic film about autism with brilliant acting from Sigourney Weaver as the sufferer with Alan Rickman as the person who befriends her after a tragedy. Autism has many degrees of severity from very mild to severe and Ms Weaver's character falls into the functioning sort able to care for herself although she's towards the severe end of the spectrum. It refreshing to watch an intelligent film with good acting that doesn't rely on "special effects" - thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 September 2007
This film is a real gem - funny, understated, touching and sensitively written, played and directed.

Sigourney Weaver is outstanding as Linda, an autistic woman whose daughter has been killed in a car accident while Alex (Alan Rickman) was giving her a lift across Canada. I found her performance extremely convincing and disagree entirely with the reviewer here who suggested that it was unrealistic and failed to show how debilitating austism can be - Linda is supposed to a relatively 'high functioning' autistic person, with a degree of understanding of her own condition and why she is different from other people that she meets, rather than the monosyllabic stereotype portrayed in 'Rain Man'. However, the fact that she is unable to express her grief for her own daughter, and the degree to which the film shows every day life is affected by her condition, is certainly (while subtly) indicative of the problems Linda faces every day.

Excellent though Sigourney Weaver is in the role of Linda, the best performance in this film comes from Alan Rickman as Alex, who finds himself grieving, for the second time, for a young person barely known to him. Alex is by nature reserved, a man who keeps himself to himself, and in the hands of a lesser actor the role might have become lost in contrast to Weaver's eccentric Linda. However, this really is a stand-out performance from Alan Rickman as the sarcastic, awkward, self-deprecating, occasionally morose but never self-pitying Alex, who finds himself marooned in a small town in Canada when Linda demands that he stay to take on her dead daughter's role of taking out the rubbish on a Tuesday. It would be easy for the character to become an implausibly saintly figure, but Rickman manages to balance kindness and irritability, tolerance and impatience in his touching and plausible portrayal of the troubled Alex. Despite the fact that Linda was clearly the character in the worst predicament, I found that it was Alex's future I cared about most in the closing frames, which is high praise for Alan Rickman's portrayal.

Carrie-Anne Moss is perhaps slightly less likeable as Linda's next door neighbour, but is convincing nevertheless and the on-screen chemistry with Rickman is excellent. Emily Hampshire as Linda's daughter Vivienne has a small role but plays it exceptionally well - we care about her character and feel that we know her despite her short time on screen, and it is easy to believe that she could be Sigourney Weaver's daughter.

When I finished watching this film, I found myself already looking forward to watching it again. It's a low-budget British-Canadian co-production, and its exploration of its subject is worlds apart from the schmaltzy treatment this screenplay would have got in Hollywood. Please see it!

PS... the DVD extras include a short 'Making Of' film and deleted scenes. The deleted scenes are well worth watching as they do increase our understanding of the characters relationships, and the 'Making Of' film includes intelligent analysis from the director and cast. Watch out for Rickman's dry remark about the 'lack of distraction' in small town Canada, too - it reveals how much of Alan Rickman there is in Alex!
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
or regret seeing
Weaver's acting is amazing
everyone else can reflect in her glory

a film that is very worth seeing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)