Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
109
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2011
I'm no musician or music guru but this is a brilliant come back album for Whitney; the first 5 songs differ from each other in style but are fantastic...I would like to see at least one of them reach to No.1 in the charts; she gives a beautiful tribute to all her family and friends who have supported her in one way or the other on the back of the album cover...but more especially she gives all that she has to God; Well done Whitney, keep going as strong as you have become and don't give in to the negativity that tries to invade you but give in to the love that evidently surrounds you!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2015
A very chilled and brilliant album with exception of the first track I thought Alicia keys could have wrote better song for Whitney, but Whitney's voice makes up for it with the cool average tempo Nothing but love and the beautiful ballad I didn't know my own strength, makes up for it.nit her strongest work but still a very enjoyable listen and a few tracks to get you on the dance floor.
highly under rated but I strongly recommend this.five stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Brilliant ,needed this for one special song for a ceremony ordered it in eve arrived next morning .great price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2017
Very good CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2009
Well whitneys comeback album is a longtime coming..was it worth the wait and the hype?..well yes and no really. While there are some brilliant tracks it's not the complete package by a long shot. the first half of the album is easily the strongest with great tracks like nuthin but love,million dollar baby,i look to you etc. The 2nd half is in simon cowells words..Distinctly average and it goes a bit wrong at this point. "A song for you" which is a cover and was succesfully covered by michael buble a few yrs back is given a hideous production which sounded like it was recorded on a kareoke machine with a horrible mid 90's dance production on top of it!!!..truly truly terrible..how this made it onto the album which was 3 yrs in the making is anyones guess !! Likewise the most overated man in Rnb in Akon chips in with 2 tracks..the first "like i never left" is actually not bad but the 2nd track " I got you" is as bland as a cucumber. Similary "For the lovers" is just plain avearge and R kellys "Salute" is mediocre. The album is also way too short and with a few tracks not working, another 2/3 tracks might have been a god send and might have added another star.

Worth getting for the first half of the album but it loses steam fast..whitney really should have made more effort.

1 million dollar bill ( 9/10)
2 Nothin but love ( 9/10)
3 Call you tonight ( 8/10)
4 I look to you ( 8/10)
5 Like i never left ft akon (8/10)
6 A song for you ( 2/10) terrible !
7 I didnt know my own strength ( 7/10)
8 Worth it ( 5/10)
9 For the lovers (5/10)
10 I got you (5/10)
11 Salute (6/10)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2009
I love this CD....most of the songs were great the second time round. To be honest, the first listen was a bit disappointing as it is nothing like the old Whitney. However, once i got over that and just accepted that her voice has changed, I began to embrace her new voice and the songs really got me hooked.

I am surprised that her songs don't get more air-time in the UK - except million dollar bill - which I actually don't really like. There are much better songs on there which i think would do much better if people knew about them....my absolute favourite is "I look to You" - such a powerful song - why don't they play that one on the radio? has anyone heard it played? I also love "Salute" - that song is so relevant and current...would definitely do well - imho.

Other songs that grew on me include: "Didn't know my own strength" - the words are very heartfelt; "Like I never left" with Akon - has a nice feel to it, quite Akon-like; "For the lovers" is good as well as "I'm a call you tonight" which have a kind of grooving feel to it. I didn't particularly like what they did to "A song for you" and there seemed to be a song missing - as I never heard "Worth it".

So all in all, this album would be a 5 out of 5, but because i can't help but compare her to the old Whitney, I give it a 4 (which is kind of unfair, as compared to anyone else, it would be a great album)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2009
It's finally here, Whitney's first studio album in nearly 7 years and thankfully it's a very solid album. They said they were going to keep the music true to Whitney and not to conform to todays music gimmicks and for the most part, they have achieved this. The album is very 'Whitney' but obviously has an up-to-date sound, probably achieved mostly through the use of the best producers of the moment. These include Swizz Beats, Danja, R.Kelly, David Foster, The Underdogs, C 'Tricky' Stewart, Dianne Warren, Stargate and Akon.

Overall the album is very balanced and well rounded with a good mix of up-tempos, mid-tempos and ballads. The first single 'Million Dollar Bill' is an up-tempo feel good track and is not a bad way to start of the album but it is far from the best song. The best ballad on the album is without a doubt 'I Look To You'. There is a real sincerity in Whitney's voice and the track is very moving. The Danja produced up-tempo cuts 'Nothin' But Love' and 'For Lovers' are really very good, especially 'For The Lovers' which builds up to a highly energetic chorus. Great stuff. Other stand out tracks include the Stargate produced 'Call You Tonight' which is a fantastic mid-tempo similar in style to Jennifer Hudson's 'Spotlight' only better. 'Salute' is a ballad with bite, dealing with the breakdown of a relationship.

Overall, the album is very positive, tasteful and of a high quality. Whitney's voice has changed since we last heard her but it is still undeniably Whitney. The album is Whitney from start to finish and there aren't really any tracks that should have been left out. It's definately a must have for Whitney fans, shes finally back and in a better place than she has been for years. Its also worth buying if you haven't previously bought any Whitney records as it is contemporary enough to be appreciated for that reason. The music is much better than what anyone else is putting out at the moment. A great musical effort (",)
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The the world can be a cold and unforgiving place sometimes.

Ms Houston has had her fair share of glory's glare but has
doubtless also stared into the darkness of the abyss.
That her instincts have not always been a reliable guide is
evident in a career which has, to my ears and eyes, never
seen her quite comfortable in her own skin.

Slave to the 80's dancing-disco-diva-machine; the
tight squeeze of Hollywood in the 90's; the lacklustre
last two albums 'My Love Is Your Love' and 'Just Whitney'.

One of the great voices of our time needed a whole
lot more nurture than both the industry and her
more fickle devotees were prepared to give her.

Finally that voice has found a home.
'I Look To You' is a revelation.
It is the recording she was born to make.

It is crucial, if you have not yet heard the album,
that you disregard observations that her voice is no
longer a worthy instrument. That she reaches for those
stratospherically high notes less often is eminently
sensible for a singer approaching her autumnal years
with dignity. The tone has deepened; the middle and
lower registers now carry the weight of both dynamic
power and expression. It is gloriously unforced.

She has chosen some great songs for her renaissance.

Two of the finest torch-songs of her late-flowering
are here. Mr Kelly's marvellous 'I Look To You' and
Diane Warren's 'I Didn't Know My Own Strength' are
both given blisteringly heart-felt emotional performances.
Hard but beautiful truths.

Up-tempo energy isn't lacking either : Mr Russell's
'A Song For You' is given a treatment every bit as
good as her account of Ms Lennox's 'Step By Step'.
It is a stomping and storming highlight.
So too the wonderfully funky gospel energy of 'For The Lovers'.

That Ms Houston is back is good reason to celebrate.
Nothing to apologise for and certainly nothing to forgive.
After all these years this is the real deal.

Essential.
99 Comments| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
The songs are great, very inspirational. It's like she has never been away. Wecome back Whitney, God Bless.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2009
I really liked this new Cd by whitney Houston , i have got her old music going back to the 80s . i was quite surprised how much i liked it now its 2009 , her voice is still Amazing ...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)