Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Learn more



on 3 October 2016
Killer Klowns from Outer Space is a whole lot of fun, but very creepy at the same time.

And Arrow have done a great job with the Blu-ray transfer, especially the Circus scene's which were so colourful and bright. All in al a great release from Arrow.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 October 2016
I’ve only recently watched this and while I was a little skeptical at first (despite being a 70’s and 80’s horror film fan).

I have to say every once in a while I find a gem of a movie and this is one of those, I love the good fun story that was silly, but in a good way. The acting wasn’t too bad and the locations and sets used are fantastic.

Another great release with a great picture by Arrow.

The Blu Ray steelbook is a real beauty.

5 stars from me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2016
Very funny horror comedy. A small town in America comes under attack from a bizarre group of aliens who arrive in a UFO that looks like a circus big top tent! The aliens look like scary clowns who use pop corn guns and acid cream pies as weapons and have guard dogs made from balloon animals. They are on earth looking for food...namely people, who they cocoon in candy floss sacks which they can stick their curly straws into to suck the fluids out. Its up to a group of teens to find a way to stop the clown aliens and destroy the UFO. This is a tongue in cheek horror comedy, and I think it is intended to amuse rather than scare the viewer. It's great fun and I recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 October 2008
I've loved this film since the first time I saw it almost 20 years ago.
It grabbed me right from the start when the superb theme tune by The Dickies kicked in. The clowns themselves are suitably menacing, they look like badly filled fancy dress costumes gone wild but when they show their teeth it's time to watch out. The line "they were travelling through outer space and stopped for something to eat" describes the plot succinctly and Cove Crescent is their chosen pit-stop.
John Vernon as the red-neck deputy Curtis Mooney is the only really bright light in the acting stakes. The special effects are not that brilliant but that suits the movie well, this is not an FX extravaganza but it is one of the best low budget comedy horror movies you will see.
Apart from the big-top space ship and low-grade plastic weapons there's also the klown kar, the klown women (looking as sexy as the stripper in Funny Man), popcorn that grows into monsters and custard pies that dissolve flesh; almost every aspect of the circus clown act is twisted into some fiendish device here.
If I had one complaint it would be the lack of any real extras, most notably the 20 minute "making of" featurette that appeared on the R1 DVD release many years ago is not included here. That grumble aside thanks to the Chiodo Brothers for making a movie that cheers me up every time I watch it and The Dickies for that brilliant theme tune.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2013
First of all, `Killer Klowns From Outer Space' is NOT a horror. But then it's also not a straight comedy. There's not an awful lot that's horrific about it, instead, it chooses to be a tongue-in-cheek caper with very creepy undertones. If you're not afraid of clowns, you probably will be after you've seen this lot. There's just something about them which is `icky.' It's hard to describe.

Either way, this clowns (or `Klowns' for some unknown reason) are intent on wrapping humans in candy floss and then sucking their blood through curly straws.

There is nothing serious about this entire film. It's the ultimate B-movie of the eighties (in fact, it may be a C-movie). The acting is dodgy, the special effects aren't that special (although the Klowns' masks are nicely nasty).

It's one of those movies where you simply have to put your brains on hold to enjoy it. There are plenty of plot holes that I choose not to notice, as I'm too busy enjoying the sheer stupidity.

Don't think, just laugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2014
Oh no it's on Blu-ray! This is my husband's all time favourite film, he makes me watch it at least twice a year, he forced me preorder it as soon as it was available. :o)
I love horror and this is an oldie but a goodie, the clowns are creepy even now and although made in the 80s there's still something chilling about it.
that said, i keep hearing rumours about killer clowns 2...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2016
This film is fantastic, so why only 4 stars? Because Arrow films no longer package a collector's booklet with this film. This left myself a long time fan of this film highly disappointed.
The ONLY copies of this film that come with the booklet are the STEEL BOOK versions which are now out of production (although 2nd hand copies are available via auction sites). Therefore Amazon's description is currently incorrect.(April 2016.)
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2016
Straight into the action within the first ten mins or so. An inspired comedy horror romp, played straight which only makes it even funnier. Colourful and creative - candy floss cocoons, new klowns spawned from popcorn. I'd love to be on the receiving end of all those custard pies if they weren't deadly acid! Suzanne Snyder is hot! While the ending leaves the door open for a sequel, sadly it looks like it's never gonna happen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2009
Do not take this film seriously and you have a very funny and very entertaining comedy horror about clowns that land in a bid tent to capture humans in kiler cotton candy or balloons and feed on them!

YOu have all the classic clown gags - such as custard pies, puppet shows, several big clowns coming out from a small car etc... but with an evil twist.

The acting as many reviewers have said is appalling except Officer Mooney who is hilarious with his attitude to 'yoofs'!

There was only a trailer as an extra. Thats a shame as it would have been nice to hear a commentary or watch a featurette on the making of this film. I am surprised a sequel was not made but maybe Hollywood will remake it like every other film these days.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2014
Quite simply one of the most enjoyably stupid (and extremely clever!) sci fi comedies ever made. Packed full of outrageous ingenuity, this spoof of 50's B Movies works on almost every level, delivering the perfect movie for a night in with some friends and a few beers. This Steelbook edition is a must have, the Blu Ray quality is excellent for a low budget 80's movie and the extra features are fascinating. Artwork for the Steelbook is pretty cool too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse