Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
107
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2000
Angel Heart (1987) must be regarded as an overlooked highlight in the career of director Alan Parker. It is difficult to find fault with the film, since Parker has created a movie which is polished without being slick, shocking without being disgusting, and realist without becoming a pastiche. The story is simple: Harry Angel (Mickey Rourke) is a private detective hired by a mysterious client (Robert de Niro) to track down a former singer who has disappeared. There is one problem; everybody with whom Angel speaks seems to end up being killed horribly. As the film progresses, we learn more and more about the man whom he is trying to find, and the film ends with a nice twist; some of my friends had seen it coming, but I must confess to having been surprised by the ending. The whole movie is a joy to watch; and this is not surprising, since Parker has made masterly use of a rich array of resources: the undeniable talents of a very strong cast, in which Charlotte Rampling joins Rourke and de Niro in delivering strong, understated performances; a series of striking backgrounds including Harlem and New Orleans; and an evocative soundtrack, provided by Trevor Jones, featuring the genius of saxophonist Courtney Pine and including fine blues music from (among others) Bessie Smith. And, of course, Parker's own considerable talents. Alan Parker is a visual director, and treats the cinema screen as a palette upon which to paint. This film is a riot of dark colours; purple skies, leaden water, blood on snow, blacks and whites in a startling chiaroscuro effect. Symbolism is rife in this film: the lift doors which are glimpsed in various buildings not only give us a hint (if we can work out what they mean) but also act as a leitmotif leading us to the conclusion. Much of the dialogue is spoken softly, often as a whisper. The violence of the film is stark but often implied; we see dead bodies but do not witness the murders. This film stands on its merits: the acting, the settings, the dramatic direction of Alan Parker. It hs to be said that the plot is, perhaps, on the thin side; but since when has this mattered? We all know, as we sit down to watch The Day Of The Jackal, that de Gaulle won't get shot, but the film still grips us; and so does Angel Heart. Even the closing credits are gripping enough to keep us in our seats until the screen goes black.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2002
mickey rourke is hired by robert deniro to trace a missing singer. along the way he mixes it with blues players, fortune tellers, rednecks and naked voodoo dancers. i've never really like rourke but he is very good in this as a real loser. deniro is deniro in a silly wig. the real star is the gorgeous lisa bonet. in or out of her clothes she is simply enchanting as the tragic and wonderfully named epiphany proudfoot.
the film itself is a real oddball concoction of chandleresque noir and gothic horror. highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2007
Angel Heart" deserves to be considered Alan Parker's masterpiece. The direction is truly amazing, as Parker drives us deeply through a meticulously prepared dark atmosphere, full of allegories and secret hints.

In "Angel Heart", we watch Mickey Rourke in his finest acting hour, who plays Harry Angel, a private investigator hired by the mysterious Louis Cyphre, depicted by the great Robert De Niro. Cyphre assigns Angel the task to find a guy named Johnny Favorite who has disappeared, with whom he has unsettled debts. The task is much harder than it first looks however, as Angel bumps into several murders in the process; and as if that were not enough, the quest makes him realize some very unpleasant truths about himself and Mr. Cyphre.

As noted before, both Rourke and De Niro are excellent in their roles; a high mark goes for the rest of the cast as well, with Lisa Bonnet standing out as charming and apocryphal Epiphany Proudfoot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2001
This is a tail of perversion and lust. The story line is very original and the acting is superb. Its shocking and well directed. I would go so far to say this is one of my top 5 films. I loved it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Classic supernatural thriller from Alan Parker at the peak of his powers. Complex story line combined with stunning visuals with a great performance from Mickey Rourke and others. A must see that can take multiple watchings and still finding more from the film each time. A definite must see!
On a par with the other Parker classics Mississippi Burning and Midnight Express.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2008
a quest for identity which takes protagonist mickey rourke from new york to new orleans on an increasingly bizarre adventure as he gets closer to the staggering truth

intense, dark, hot, steamy, carnal, vital it has to be one of the high watermarks of 80's film making. SPOLIER WARNING: when the truth is revealed (if you hadnt twigged alreay his name if Louie Cifer forcrissakes) and de niro as the devil looks staright at you and his eyes go yellow, i defy any mortal good soul not feel a profound and primal dread to your very core: you've sold him your soul and he wants it back.

full of images of turning wheels and lifs descending (youre going down baby) mickey rourke carries the perfomance with swagger and gravitas and the sex scene with one of (at the time) America's TV teen darlings which shocked the nation, this is superlative film making
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2000
A must for video, with repeat viewing necessary to spot the subtle images, lovingly constructed, which are often hidden in the background or incidental to the scene. Rourke gives a career best performance, and De Niro is wonderfully menacing, especially when eating an egg! Credit for the success of the movie must go to Parker however. It is his vision that allows the sinister menace of an outsider's reception into the in-bred southern society of New Orleans to act as an (initially) subtle metaphor of Angel's own sense of dislocation for the world around him. Watch it in a triple bill with Deliverance and Southern Comfort, and your will never holiday in florid again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
thank you brilliant film fast delivery
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
This is an old favourite of my husband and I.
The film stars Mickey Rourke and Robert Di Nero in a very dark film. It is set in the present or is it? There is a really good plot running through it and the amount of symbolism is fantastic. The ending is very well done and I don';t want to give anything away. I would recommend this to fans of Interview With A Vampire and others that like to work out plots and twists.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2000
Well, when I first found the story, I could not believe that someone could come up with such a warped storyline. Graphically horrific and erotic in nature, it centres around a private eye, searching for a missing person. As the plot developes, we learn about the main character, his lifestyle and his perversions. Without giving the story away, I will say that if you have the mind (and the stomach) then this is one story you will find hard to forget.
I would also recommend "The Black Dahlia, by James Ellroy"
N Wright
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)