Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

The Changeling [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 25 January 2017
It's an oldie still capable of scaring, enjoyed it when I first saw it, and even if I was familiar with the plot and each scene - it still managed be scary and a very good nights viewing. A film with grown up actors, giving grown performances, and something I don't see very often - namely 'acting', not a pointless scrunching of facial features and a multi-million dollar paycheck that passes for acting these days. Compared to what we see now, this is a subdued and unassuming script, with a script-relevant musical score. Nice one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2016
I have to be honest and say that I purchased this DVD on a bit of a whim simply to make up the value of an order I placed and, was in fact, a film that I had not actually seen until I watched this DVD. Therefore I was very pleasantly surprised to find that this was a film that I very much enjoyed watching. Although a little ‘tame’ by the blood and gore standard of modern Hollywood shockers it is none-the-less a tense, disturbing and sad film supported by good acting and well directed scenes, some of which are quite disturbing (without giving anything away one scene in particular, involving the death of the central character, is one I think a lot of people will find notably disturbing). With a good story line this is a thoroughly enjoyable vintage type horror film with enough suspense, tension and shocks to keep you engrossed and entertained from beginning to end. If, like me, your are one of those people that tires of the gratuitous gore and violence of modern horror films then do yourself a favour and add this film to your basket and enjoy a bit of vintage horror excellence. You won’t regret it !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2017
A decent horror film from the not too distant past with an erie feel to it & a reasonable plot. That slowly builds. Better on all fronts to the modern horror films that rely on stupid jump scares, loud music, overbearing gore. This gets into your head & leaves you feeling chilled. All in all a decent horror story, that apparently was realised by true invents.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2016
George C Scott lends his weighty presence to a run-of-the-mill spooky house tale. His major movie star status was beginning to wane round about now and his later career shifted into television, albeit with some great performances. His wife Trish van Devere joins him here, but this is not a good thing: she's an attractive lady but her acting is strictly by-numbers TV fare and she adds no character to the proceedings. The scares are nothing new - dark staircases, empty spiderwebby rooms, self-motivating furniture, noisy plumbing. The ending is somewhat over the top. Worth a look for ghost story lovers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2012
If you've never seen this little gem of a ghost story, you might want to give it a try. It's perfect for a rainy evening. Curl up on the sofa,(preferably not alone) turn out the lights, and prepare for two 'haunting hours'.

It's an intriguing story. Musician and composer John Russell, (played by the wonderful George C Scott), moves to an old house in Seattle. He's grieving and traumatised after witnessing the accidental deaths of his wife and young daughter. It soon becomes clear that the house has an odd history, and that John is not alone there - it's haunted by the spirit of a former resident who died in mysterious circumstances. Who the spirit is, and how John finds out about its identity, and the appalling manner of its death, makes for fascinating and spooky viewing.

Made back in 1980, with few special effects, the film still creates an atmosphere of tension and unease. The spirit wants something from John, and can connect with him through his grief at losing his family. It gradually becomes more insistent in its efforts to prompt him into action on its behalf.

Watch for: -
The arrival of the spirit, signified by a single note played on a piano in an otherwise empty room,
The unexpected appearance of a child's toy,
The seance and the tape-recorded aftermath.

Give this film a miss If you're looking for the 'stalk 'n slash' type of story - with blood-spattered walls and demons in the cellar. But, if you like a traditional ghost story with some spine-tingling moments and a gradually-building sense of tension and mystery, then you won't go far wrong with The Changeling.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2013
I remember this as scaring me when I originally saw it years ago and it is still haunting (pardon the pun). If you like gore and violence, don't bother, but those who prefer an old-fashioned, little-to-be-seen ghostly tale should enjoy this. Some of the effects are a little outdated but that just adds to its charm. What knocked off the fifth star for me was the unlikelihood of a bereaved husband and father, suddenly alone in the world, opting to live in a huge, empty mansion, and a few consistency issues with the backstory of the doomed boy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2016
Fab movie, (not to be confused with that Angelina Jolie effort) George. C. Scott is brilliant in it and the story at the heart of the movie is wonderfully ghostly and supernatural, for anyone who likes their horror with a story rather than totally plottless slashers this one's for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2015
The Changeling is a gothic horror that has a lot of drama due to the story itself but also to the great and moving performance of George c Scotto, a great actor who can be tough and mean as well as sweet and fatherly. Worth watching even just for him
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2017
The DVD arrived promptly and was exactly as described. It's an excellent film, too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2018
great film saw this at the cinema when it was first released still gives me chills
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)