Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 16 September 2011
This is a nice but dated and simplistic version of
Tolkien's classic children's story. Worth watching as a stand alone story, it remains reasonably true to it's source although taking a few liberties with the story line. Sometimes for no logical reason. Worth seeing, better to read the book, or have it read to you in bed aged eight. It shows how the new Peter Jackson film has a difficult task capturing this tale. developing a band of fourteen characters and keeping their own individuality, interacting with different distinct races. For some strange reason the elves look more Evil and toad like than the goblins in this offering. Much much better than the Lord of the rings cartoon. The only two things wrong with this film are one, buying it and two watching it through to it's end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
A not very good adaption of The Hobbit by J R R Tolkien.
The copy I bought some time ago is pretty poor in quality but the whole story is badly adapted.The animation is very badly done and the whole thing is a complete shambles of a cartoon.It compares very badly with the cartoon version by Ralph Bakshi of The Lord of the Rings which is excellent.
I would not recommend buying this unless as a curiosity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
Different cover received it's ok the one shown is better!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
i choosed this rating cause it was interesting,there was nothing i disliked about this dvd and would recommend to a friend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
Insulting to the book, to Tolkein, and to the audience.

This is appalling, and there has never been any excuse for making something as bad as this. Better animated films were being made in the thirties.

The removal of almost all the story, warping of the rest, and distortion of characters and species is unforgivable.

If you have read the book, then any barge pole you might want to poke this with is not long enough.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
I remember seeing this a very long time ago but couldnt remember very much about it as I think I was around 5 years old. So on seeing it here I thought whats the harm in buying it. Ok its not state of the art animation but it gets the story across and the music is pretty good. All in all I liked it :0)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2009
This is a great dvd for all ages. My daughter is only 2 1/2 and she loves it. Sticks pretty well to the story. Great buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
When you think about it, this is probably one of those things were you look past the fact that its not the most consistent version of The Hobbit, in fact its all over the place.... but its good fun and quite funny in a 'what's going on' sort of way.

But after watching the terrible animated version of Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit looks like a masterpiece compared and it's really very amiable after giving it a few watches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
being a big fan of the lord of the rings i wanted to get my kids into it and this was perfect as my kids now love watching it time and time again
i would reccomend this dvd for anyone with kids or even if you have'nt you will still love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
Cartoon is good. I like very much. The story is quite accurate and is told well. Well worth watching again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse