Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2007
Creedence was such a great band, that almost all they did was remarkeble. All their albums got the needed qualities to could be someones favorite.Even more its interesting to hear them all, because of the changes in style thorugh the years. Starting with slightly experimental rock and long improvisations moving ahead to more straight rock and roll. Depending on taste different listeners can prefer different Creeedence-albums. This is my personl favorite Creedence album. It is their third album. The first is very experimental, the second quite jamsession like with long solos. Then came what I see as the central massterpieces. Then some I find lesser interesting. This is the first - and best! - of the three central masterpieces if you ask me. Not too freaked out and not too straight. Cathing a perfect balance in between, with the best from both sides, and presenting real strong material. Great songs - pearl after pearl. Showing John Fogerty at the peek of his songwriting, even though he have proved greatness both before and since.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2003
CCR's Green River is for me their most accomplished work - lacking some of the excesses of Cosmos Factory, and tauter than Willie and the Poor Boys. Looking down the track listing, and the spine tingling guitar work in 'Tombstone Shadow' and mournful lament of 'Lodi' - still makes me want to grow a beard, light some rope and relive the early 70's.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2016
This is a review for the remastered vinyl version of this release, i'm sure i really do not need to review the fine music on this classic album.
This is now the third vinyl i have bought in this series and once more i am very happy with it, the vinyl itself is the quietest running of the three.
The cover is of a good quality and the vinyl is housed in a plain white inner, not antistatic, something that really shouldn't be a problem to fix, just a little more thought by the manufacturer and a much better overall product can be achieved.
The sound quality is lacking a little compared to cosmos and pendulum but i'm not really making a fuss.
Good quality item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
My favourite band of all time! I still listen to all their albums regularly, even though I still don't know half the mumbled lyrics! I thought I'd upgrade, as the CDs were so cheap! This remastered album, with the bonus tracks, is absolutely superb! Great sound quality and interesting, memory jogging information in the accompanying booklet. A must for all CCR fans...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 January 2013
In 1970 C C R were voted the world's greatest Rock and Roll Band as The Beatles broke up. Just in front of that in 1969 Green River was released to much acclaim. As a singles band they had a lot of success but strangely in the USA they had many singles static at number two. They never quite managed that elusive number one in their homeland but managed it just about everywhere else including the UK with a track from Green River [ Bad Moon Rising / Lodi] For my money this album has everything . John Fogerty really hit a purple patch in this period and I defy anyone to find a weak track here. There are also bonus tracks included with some live recordings. I have decided to catch up on all their albums on CD . I salute Mr Fogerty as a master craftsmen. The man wrote, arranged, produced sang lead and played some amazing guitar. He possibly could be the most under-rated Guitarist of all time. If you can be lucky enough to catch him live he really is an amazing talent . Sad that the group ended in turmoil and still to this day have not settled their differences . However we do have the Music and what a legacy that is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
having heard some john foggerty solo things that were brilliant I decided to grt some CCR.green river is a proper rock n roll record.
I had forgotton how good they were.just play the title track and you,re away.
great music-steve sa s.wales.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
While the title track was successful when released as a single, the other single taken from the album (Bad moon rising) became even more successful. It just missed the top spot in America (as several Creedence Clearwater Revival singles did) but went all the way to number one in Britain.

Other highlights here include Wrote a song for everyone (a plea for mutual understanding that is just as relevant today as it ever was) and Lodi (a very sad song), while the other songs are all worth hearing.

This album helped to consolidate Creedence Clearwater Revival `s already high reputation when first released, but even better was to come with the next two albums (Willy and the poor boys, Cosmo's factory) before arguments within the group affected the quality of their music. If you're building a collection of original albums by Creedence Clearwater Revival, this may not be the best place to begin, but it should certainly be on your list.

Since I purchased my copy, this album has been re-issued with different packaging and extra tracks. Amazon puts reviews for both versions on both product pages, but I recommend this album whether or not it has those extra tracks.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
creedence are one of the great bands of our time ,in 1969 they issued three albums...fantasy are releasing these albums on vinyl , green river bayou country and later this year willy and the poor boys...what can I say just some of the greatest music ever....,written by the legendary john fogerty backed up by brother tom fogerty,stu cook and doug Clifford. ....just timeless....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Wonderful creedence album every song a killer classics bad moon rising , Lodi ,wrote a song for everyone,not forgetting title track green river amazing song ,
but for me it's the lesser lauded tracks that make this album five stars the brilliant tombstone shadow close behind sinister purpose but my all time favourite cross tie walker !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
I agree with all the other reviews about what a classic album this is, and how the remastering has done it justice. I think it's possibly CCR's finest hour.

However, we're reviewing the actual reissue, not just the original album, and Fantasy have included some very variable extras. Although, 'Broken Spoke Shuffle' is a delightful instrumental surprise, 'Glory Be' is fairly turgid, and the three live tracks, recorded in Europe in 1971, are of very poor sound quality and not particularly well played either (the band were already past their best in 1971 and Tom Fogerty had gone). To my mind, these should simply have been left off or replaced with earlier live material or B-sides. So, I'm afraid it's one star off for Fantasy's poor selection of extras.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£5.99
£5.01
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)