Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
142
4.1 out of 5 stars
Family Guy - Blue Harvest [UMD Mini for PSP]
Format: UMD Mini for PSP|Change
Price:£4.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 February 2008
The main problem with the otherwise excellent "Blue Harvest" is that the type of person who will be interested in it enough to buy it has been so indoctrinated with every type of star wars-parady-humour that it isn't easy for the writers to think of something that hasn't been done before. There are some moments of genius- Peter taking the couch from the trash room, Chris listening to Tatooine radio as he flies to Moss Isley, or the time he introduces John WIlliams and the London Orchestra for the rousing two sunsets scene. The problem is that to the non-starwars fans the jokes will often be lost to them (case in point being the discussions Chris listens to on the radio) and to the initiated the jokes at times feel a little bit reached for.
There is also the rather odd choice (in otherwise excellent lateral casting) of creepy old man as Obi-Wan- which never really sits right for me. Moreover, the long cell-rendered space scenes (whilst perfect) look hugely expensive and take you right out of a "family guy" frame of mind- as does the (again otherwise perfect) musical score. I challenge anyone not to feel the urge at times to turn Blue Harvest off and switch to the original.
This is still family guy, and fantastic for it, but unless you love Star wars and want a loving faithful parody (from writers who obviously also love their subject matter) look first to the 6 ground breaking series available.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2016
Buy it as you will be very entertained.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
Great dvd. Fab packaging and extras!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
As expected. Genuine DVD good value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 February 2008
I was surprised when I saw how many people were disappointed with this DVD - perhaps they are on a higher intellectual or astrophysical plane than my family because we thought this was pant-peeingly hilarious. It is a homage to the original Star Wars movie, done in outrageous Family Guy style. We were laughing out loud from the moment the rogue sentences started flying through the sky. I loved R2D2 from the ghetto, Princess Leia being no good with technology and the bit with the sofa.

I have deducted one star simply because this is relatively poor value compared to Family Guy boxed sets. However there is nice extras feature which is a compilation of all the times that Star Wars references have been used in regular episodes - there are dozens of them!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2008
I am a family guy fan,i am not a fan of star wars in any real way,however a family guy homage to star wars,while not appealing in every way still seemed capable of being a class act,it wasnt.
This is a double episode but suffers from running out of steam after twenty odd minutes or so,a shameful underuse of stewie and peter also grates and too much of herbert who is best used in short segments all weighs this down.
Granted,some of the jokes and references may not make sense to me but i know enough about star wars to get by but this finds few laughs with me and thats a real shame,the price of this is cause for debate as well but let it be known in no way is this out of this world.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
another star wars episode great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
good service got what i wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
It's family guy at its best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2008
The first time i saw this i nearly wet myself! It's short but vey funny! I liked the sofa bit alot....!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)