Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
118
4.8 out of 5 stars
David Lean Collection [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 4 December 2012
Lovely to have these classic movies on DVD. I think I could watch Brief Encounter every day! The Dickens films are simply marvellous: the young John Mills as Pip in Great Expectations, and Alec Guinness, very young, as Pip's companion in Great Expectations and then turning in a brilliant performance as Fagin in Oliver Twist. If you've never seen Dirk Bogarde in The Tale of Two Cities, this is the collection to have - he brings the character of Sidney Carton to life in this poignant and moving story, possibly Dickens's best.

The Sound Barrier is a little dated now, but a wonderful way to understand the transition of air travel into the jet age. Madeleine is unusual and atmospheric, a Gothic crime tale based on a true story. The Passionate Friends is charming and a reminder of a bygone age of manners and good behaviour. These three films all star Ann Todd who was David Lean's wife for a while. She is a beautiful, mannered actress of her period, and these classics are a breath of fresh air in their measured pace, stylish and stylised acting and, while not quite in the Brief Encounter class (which is exceptional), wonderful matinee fare.

David Lean was a fantastic director and these early films give a good flavour of the marvels to come in Lawrence of Arabia, Dr Zhivago, and Ryan's Daughter. I recommend any film buff to include this box set in their film collection.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
After reading previous reviews, I ordered this amazing boxed set of the great David Lean's early work. Although I have only just dipped into the 10 disks, I can confirm what the majority on here have written. The re-mastering is superbly done in both vision and sound, bringing out the superb camera-work and direction. At under £18 for 10 disks, this must represent the DVD bargain of the decade. For anyone interested in the history of British cinema, this truly is a 'must-buy'.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2016
My wife and I had been to see "Hobson's Choice" on stage and wanted to compare it with the film of many years ago. The film on its own was almost as much as this box set, so I opted for this instead and am I glad I did. What a marvellous collection from one of our greatest directors and I love black and white films as I think they are far more atmospheric. The other thing I like about old films is they are not reliant on CGI or special effects, just a good story, good dialogue and good acting to bring it all to life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
This is a superb example of different rights holders getting together to produce a properly comprehensive collection of David Lean's British studio period, before he went on location for "Summertime" and then into wide screen epics. The restored image quality is superb and looks great upscaled to 1080p on my 47 inch screen. The only nit picking niggle I have is ITV Studios strange decision to put the discs into two five disc cases in completely random order instead of chronologically (they did the same with their Norman Wisdom set). Some work with a photocopier, scissors and glue is required to put things in the correct order on each sleeve.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
Nine of the twelve films here are acknowledged classics and the rest are interesting enough. There's not a lot else to say as the main titles are continually shown on television but if you haven't seen these before and want to immerse yourself in the best of british movie-making the don't hesitate to buy these. The remastered prints are flawless. Incidentally, if anyone wanted to see the British way of life (as was) or come to grips with it's historical and cultural basis, and even learn how the majority of us see ourselves, then you could do a lot worse than start here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2016
l can never express how much my husband and l enjoyed this dvd. We watch Hobsons Choice, This Happy Breed and Brief Encounter over and over again and enjoy them as much as the first time we saw them. Wonderful films, great actors what more can you ask for, so pleased we found this DVD and for us the value for money is exceptional
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
What can I say that will add to the excellent reviews already - like everybody else, I love the old films, they are very enjoyable to watch and I can say that I already have a DVD of Hobson's Choice and watch it when there is the usual weekend boring programmes on TV. Now I have a choice of them. Yippee for me! The films are also without violence or bad language - what a novelty nowadays. The restoration is excellent, how do they do it? Believe me, it is a must-have - buy now!!!!!!!!! By the way, I am not a staid old spinster, have been watching these films since my childhood days. Just love them. If you like your childhood memories then these are the films for you. Happy Xmas everybody - 2014 xxxxxxxxxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
I am relatively new to classic/noir films - these did not disappoint. They are funny, well acted and beautifully remastered onto DVD format. I couldn't recommend them more. Also none of those annoying DVD adverts on the beginning of the disk. You too could be sat in front of a log fire with a glass of wine enjoying these like I am. What are you waiting for?!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2016
Only viewed Hobson's Choice, for which I bought it, and that was very good. The whole selection seem OK especially if you're into the older B&W films. It's a very reasonable set of DVD's for very little cash and offers many hours of good if old fashioned entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2016
VERY BAD SOUND ON SOME FILMS
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)