Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 29 September 2017
Brilliant series so sad there was only two series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 October 2017
Enjoyable series, not dark or violent but lightweight with Damian Lewis central to the make-up of the plot. The Americans might describe his character as ' quirky ' but to my observation he is very ' English ' , very much like some people that you'd meet socially in a pub or at a dinner party. To me he has a disarming manner that some Americans might find odd or irritating.
And that's at the core of this series as Lewis's character grates against his female detective partner as they solve a crime in each episode using his perception and compassion and empathy with the obvious suspects.
The background story arc is that Lewis's character was framed for murder and spent 12 years in prison before evidence surfaced to prove his conviction suspect---- hence his attitude towards the obviously guilty party when called to each crime scene. His search for those who framed him forms the background to each episode and is left hanging at the end of this 1st season.
I bought my copy on Amazon.fr which is a Region 2 box set in English and German language with English and German subtitles which can be freely interchanged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 April 2010
Fresh out of prison and now back in the force, Charlie Clews has been cleared of the murders that caused his incarceration. Colleagues are wary. Is he truly innocent? Even if so, surely he must be unstable after twelve years amongst vicious criminals who at one time or other broke virtually every bone in his body? Certainly he seems more than a trifle erratic, prone to eating much fruit and spouting enigmatic philosophy. His assigned partner Dani Reese, just out of rehab and anxious to prove she is again up to the job, fears he will prove a hindrance. Others may have greater cause for concern. Charlie has a hidden agenda, exposing the ones responsible for those killings and for framing him. They HAVE to be fellow officers.

The stage is thus set for eleven episodes and many intriguing cases - that bigamous tax man, for example, with his lower half vaporized; not to mention the woman wearing angel's wings who plummeted onto a car roof.

Damian Lewis is yet another fine British actor thoroughly at home in a major American role. It is a fascinating one too. Charlie's prison experiences have caused him to delve deeply into himself, he now with great insight - skilled at seeing beyond the facade. Head gently tilting sideways, he gazes through eyes - right into the soul. He also has many highly useful extra contacts, invaluable for helping to cut a corner or two. Best mate is fellow ex-convict Ted Earley (Adam Arkin), finance his speciality. Ideal, for somehow money seems behind those murders so many years ago. The trail goes back to an earlier bank raid where several were shot dead and eighteen million dollars were stolen. There IS a connection and Charlie WILL find it.

Admittedly the series has its creaky moments. Those Zen utterances, meant to be so MEANINGFUL, at times prove a bit tedious. Also there are aspects that puzzle. Why did it take so long for Charlie's innocence to be proved? Who runs the mansion and orange grove bought with his compensation money? (Not just Ted surely?) Why at the end is that major villain not arrested?

Minor matters! Much was enjoyed, appetite well and truly whetted for Season 2.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Absolutely brilliant, it's a shame there is only 2 seasons
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
loved watching this on tv so had to get the box set
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Well worth watching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
Great buy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 December 2008
A cop series with a difference.

Damian Lewis(who starred in Band of Brothers)plays Detective Charlie Crews. A cop wrongly convicted and after spending 12 years in jail, he is back. Not just back, but financially compensated and promoted to detective.

Like all the good recent dramas there is a thread running through each series that slowly gets revealed. Who set him up? While he is trying to work this out he continues his day job, and enjoys his wealthy bachelor lifestyle.

The series is original, involving, and well acted. If you liked Dexter you will enjoy this.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Watch this, something different in what is a very old format...Great cast
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2009
I don't know why I bother!

I try to avoid getting invested in new series as I don't like the idea of being hooked to my couch for another hour per week. But, every now and then I'll catch something or be told about something that peaks my interest.

As there has been a lot of great American series' lately with British actors in the leading role (House & Lie to me featuring highly on that list) I decided to check out another - Life.

I won't go into the ins and outs of the story, there are plenty of reviews already on that. But, I will point out that, after the grit of the aforementioned House & Lie to me it took me a few episodes to feel this was up to par. But after about the third episode I was leaving each episode desperate to see the next (which is why I always get these things on DVD now or download them now). By the end of season 1 I was completely hooked and had to get a hold of season 2.

Getting to the end of that my wife and I were both keen to find out when season 3 was going to be coming out only to find to our horror that NBC have cancelled it!

Apparently they are focusing more on the 'reality TV' genre. Morons!

So unless another network decides to pick this fantastic series up, I'd suggest it may be worth avoiding if unresolved plots annoy you.

I can't understand these American networks. The last time I got really invested in a series it was Shark. Again, 2 series and cancelled. The thing is, they make these things where the first seasons are fairly well tied up (in a way) but once they get the 2nd they finish the story more confident they will have a third season to run the plot, so cancelling it then is extremely frustrating.

Usually with these things it is due to ratings, but it is normally (as with Shark) due to the network moving the viewing time all over the place and putting it up against high rating series like American idol etc.

In this case apparently NBC shifted the schedule time a lot and put it on at very low viewing times (late on a Wednesday night etc) yet the viewing figures still grew. So what gives?

Anyway, this is just a warning. The series is really great, but it might be worth waiting to see if another network is sensible enough to pick it up before investing time and money to an unresolved story.
11 Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)