Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
Anthems For The Damned
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 15 June 2013
The Amalgamut was hard to follow and for me this didn't do it. There are some great songs (Lie After Lie) but the albums before and after certainly seem to have the edge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2012
Another consistent album with a handful of very good tracks. The style has changed slightly from The Almalgamut, it's less heavy and brash but just as confident. The subject matter also helps to calm things down and creates a sombre ambience that suits the mellower tracks. However it still does have a few up-tempo moments and loud guitars are the order of the day - just not too loud.

'Soldiers of Misfortune' starts everything off perfectly. It is one of the best tracks on the album and plays a nice balance between heavy rock and industrial, whilst also being a perfect mainstream single, complete with a very good chorus. And it feels worthy as opposed to simply jumping on the bandwagon of Bush administration-hating. 'What Next' is another winner. Great chorus, it's more of a heavy track with some searing vocals by Patrick. 'The Wake' is not as good as the first 2 but is still a great song. 'Cold(Anthem for the Damned) sits well as a title track of sorts. Again it does pretty much the same job as those tracks that preceded it with an outstanding chorus. 'Hatred...' is quite tuneful insomuch as you'll be humming the chorus quite quickly after hearing it. 'Lie after lie' is equally as contagious, more stripped down and acoustic for the most part. And 'Kill the Day' has a similar vibe, it's quite sunny and strummy. But all very good.

After the first 7 tracks the quality becomes less consistent. 'The Take' is ok but could have been shaved from the final cut in my opinion. 'I Keep Flowers Around' i cannot seem to gel with at all. It's a bit sprawling and angular but in a drum-machine kind of a way. Again, it's not so much bad as just not very interesting. 'In Dreams' and 'Only You' though are both very good. The first is a mid-tempo rock song similar to the opening salvo. And the latter is an excellent ballad of sorts that is one of the best songs on the album. 'Can Stop This' has the perfect title. It is another like 'The 4th' from the Amalgamut; ambient dance music with no real tune as such.

Overall on a par with The Amalgamut in quality alsthough slightly lighter and more thoughtful in tone. Not as good as the monster that is Title of Record but definitely another worthy addition the the slowly growing Filter catologue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2016
Anthems for the Damned is probably the sort of album Filter should of done in 2001 to build on the success of Title of Record.

It came out in 2008, and Filter had kind of gone of the radar a bit by then.
This album is excellent! Its got everything a Filter album should have, and everything about the first 3 albums which worked so well it seems.
There is even a bit of electronica thrown in (think of Filters songs One and Can't trip like I do)

If you are going to buy a Filter album for someone else, this is the one you should go with first.
It is completely overlooked and ignored and to me is the natural follow up to their 1999 record Title of..

Missing sadly is Geno on guitar and Steve Gillis on drums, but its such a good record it doesn't matter too much.
If Ben Grosse had done this one I can assure you it would of sounded huge, but this one is produced by a new producer Filter had never worked with before.

I am not sure what would of worked better, but I personally think this album is brilliant.
It has everything about Filter that make them good, and its a much more sentimental album, and if Richard sung more about things like political problems, or world problems instead of "relapsing" he might just be better off. It seems to work well for him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2008
Unfortunately Filter are largely ignored in the UK, "Hey Man, Nice Shot" was truly awesome and everyone stood up and listened to the former Nail.

However, that aside Filter have always been ignored. I put myself in this category admittedly largely down to irritating material like "Trip Like I Do" etc.

That said, after hearing Soldiers of Misfortune on MySpace I ordered it immediately from ebay, having recieved it just under a week ago - I can't stop listening to it and have booked tickets for myself and a couple of mates to go to Carling Islington 3 weeks time.

I could bang on about how good each song is, but you're not interested, all you need to know is that this album will be overlooked by most...Be the one who doesn't, you won't regret it.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2011
Boring from the 1st to the last second...Is it the same Filter who gave us once "Hey Man Nice Shot"?...Can't believe it...
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2009
I agree with the previous reviewers. If Bono and the Edge heard this they'd be saying "Why can't we make an album like this?". For me this also fills the void left by Soundgarden. Ignore Filter no longer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2008
Soldiers Of Misfortune is as epic and poigniant as anything the erstwhile Irish fellas have put out in recent years. The rest of the album is stonking. If NIN could have kept this guy, their recent creative output might have actually been worth listening to...

Excellent album, worth every penny...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)