Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

More ABBA Gold
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 2 February 2014
Terrific sound, awesome production! Many try, but only a rare few can come close to the craftsmanship of ABBA. Necessarily this collection isn't quite as hit-laden as ABBA Gold, but it contains one of their most splendid moments, "The Way Old Friends Do", plus "Under Attack", "When I Kissed The Teacher", "I Do, I Do, I Do", and many other cool moments. Not a bad track in the lot! If you seek just their biggest sellers, get ABBA Gold. However, you really should get this companion "More ABBA Gold" if you're a major fan. I think you will end up listening to this great volume at least as much as the first volume. (maybe more). These shimmering tracks aren't heard often on the radio, so they sound extra fresh...and superb! Enjoy!
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2017
So poor! Do not order from here. I love ABBA & have had ABBA Gold CD for years. I ordered More ABBA Gold as loved the play list. CD arrived-case correct, CD printed correct. Press play... Dancing Queen blares out. In fact it’s all the songs on first CD!! Complain & they send another CD out. Case correct, cd reads correct. Press play... Dancing Queen blares out. To happen TWICE is a joke. Job lot???!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2000
If your favourite was missed from 'Abba -Gold', it's sure to be here. This CD has more hits, but also a few songs that you may not have heard before, unless you've got the original albums. Songs such as 'When all is said and done' and 'Way old friends do' may not have been smash hits but they're still great songs and they show the marvellous diversity of Benny and Bjorn's song writing talent.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2017
when playing this CD all the songs are from ABBA Gold not from More ABBA Gold, i wanted a another one with the correct songs on it but had to have a refund
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 14 December 2017
There are times I'd much rather hear this than Abba Gold, which has more of the big hits, and that's the reason ~ it's so good to have a compilation with On & On & On, Angeleyes, Summer NIght City, the soaring Eagle, Honey Honey, their early pre-Waterloo Swedish No.1 Ring Ring, the superb Head Over Heels {the follow-up to the wondrous One Of Us}, Lovelight, When I Kissed the Teacher, When All Is Said and Done, the irrepressible I Do I Do I Do, and many others.
You also get the terrific, rockier So Long, on which Abba seem to be channelling Status Quo! Then there's the emotive ballad I Wonder, and Cassandra . . .
Abba were such a great pop band, weren't they? And their lesser known songs are an integral part of their story.

Much more than an 'Abba Extra'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2017
songs identified are incorrect
the songs on the cd I received was the playlist for ABBA Gold Greatest Hits.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2014
An odd mix of songs in which are not in chronological order. You therefore have early poppy songs like Honey Honey next to mature sophisticated later songs such as The Visitors. The album doesn't gel.

There are classic songs on here - Eagle, The Day Before You Came, When All is Said and Done and the forgotten disco gem Summer Night City. Equally, there are some bizarre choices - the very ordinary B sides, Lovelight and Cassandra and the musical I Wonder (Departure). As Good as New, One Man, One Woman and Slipping Through My Fingers would have been better choices. It does feature hitherto unreleased song I am the City which itself is just repetitive. A patchy collection.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERon 9 March 2003
It would appear that this album, when released, was something of an afterthought. Abba gold sold millions of copies, so this compilation was assembled for those who wanted a second Abba collection. Inevitably, it is not as strong as Abba gold, as the most obvious songs were all there, but it still easily justifies five stars.

Abba ha more hits than can be accommodated on a single CD, so there are a few hits here, although they didn't chart in all the major record-buying countries. These include Summer night city and Angel eyes (both British top five), Eagle (a big hit in several European countries, but not released as a UK single), I do I do I do I do I do (an early Abba hit in Britain, America and many other countries), Honey honey, When all is said and done (both American hits), Ring ring (their 1973 song which wasn't selected for Eurovision), Head over heels and Under attack, one of their last hits.

The day before you came was the last newly recorded Abba single. It was a minor British hit but it is one of my favorite Abba songs, which would have been a much bigger hit had it been recorded and released a few years earlier.

I am the city was recorded for a new album that never materialised. It is a typically upbeat Abba song, but is one of their rarest tracks. All the other tracks either appeared on original albums, or have been added as bonus tracks to re-mastered versions of original albums - for example, Summer night city is a bonus track on Voulez-vous. Furthermore, I am the city has not appeared on any other compilation (at the time of this writing) except Forever gold, a re-issue of this album and Abba gold as a double-CD. So Abba fans need this CD just for I am the city.

For the more casual music fan, this is a great companion to Abba gold. If you don't have either and you want two CD's of their best music, you might consider some of the more recent double-CD's such as Definitive collection - most of the tracks will be the same, but a double-CD might be better value for money.
22 Comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2013
After the great success of ABBA GOLD, it was inevitable that there would be a follow up collection of the Swedish groups greatest hits.

Imaginatively entitled MORE ABBA GOLD, this CD contains twenty tracks and runs to just almost eighty minutes in length.

While many of the most famous songs are featured on the first compilation, this follow up features no fewer than seven international number one hits and features the first ABBA success, RING RING, released a full year before the group found fame with its EUROVISION SONG CONTEST win in 1974 with the classic WATERLOO.

As usual, Agnetha and Frida sing the lyrics while Benny and Bjorn play the music and most of the songs are in the quick, rather jolly tempo so common to the group. Notable exceptions include EAGLE and the rather haunting CASSANDRA, one of my personal favourites on the CD. Other highlights are OUR LAST SUMMER (memories of a long ago romance) and THE WAY OLD FRIENDS DO, which has a fine New Years Eve quality about it.

Along with the CD there is also a small booklet giving brief details of the songs listed and a nice collection of both colour and black and white photographs of the group.

All in all, this is a great collection of songs for ABBA devotees and those just wishing to listen to highly enjoyable music!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2017
Very poor. Ordered as a Christmas present and after opening, discovered that even though the case and disc said More ABBA Gold, the songs were from the original ABBA Gold Album. Had a replacement and it was exactly the same!! Didn’t think to read the reviews as it was a popular CD! Why are Amazon still sending out the CDs and wasting people’s time?!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)