Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 11 January 2010
I remember buying a 12 inch single with a few of these songs on, it is very much in the style of the mother fist lp that was out at that time. They sound very much like the type of song scott walker would have sung. Very different to his soft cell stuff or his stuff that was a hit but still great to hear again and because of its style it hasnt dated at all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2008
A compilation of b-sides and oddities from one of Marc's most prolific, and for my money, best periods. Long-time Marc Almond fans will probably already know all of these and be happy to have the tracks brought together in one CD package, but if your looking for an introduction to Marc's work of this period I'd recommend trying the truly brilliant Mother Fist album first, and then coming back to this, particularly for the 2nd CD with its wonderful Brecht & Weill theatrical dramas; Surabaya Johnny is irresistably sing-a-long.

But music aside, my complaint is with the god-awful packaging. A faux-deluxe digipack, the fuzzy image on the cover looks like a cheap colour photocopy taken from one of the original releases, and incorrect track listing on CD1 points to a complete lack of care and attention on behalf of the Some Bizarre team. Their current CD re-release of Psychic TV's Force The Hand of Chance suffers in exactly the same way. It may seem unimportant, but it really does marr what should have been an exciting and long awaited purchase. What a shame Some Bizarre couldn't find it in them to show their artists, and the fans, the respect that they deserve.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2010
These songs were written during one of Marc's finest periods (weren't they all ? ... well, not Fantastic Star maybe) Gyp theBlood and Broken Hearted And Beautiful are absolute gems. I love all of Marc's work over the years. But for me the best song on here and maybe any album by him is Black Lullabye ... it outplays everything on my i Tunes counter, and had been for years. It really has an atmosphere, a quality that I can't quite put my finger on - the backing singers are just right, really dreamy and the trumpet gives it a a really smooth, classy feel. Best listened to very late at night. Still waiting to hear him play this live.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2003
This album, contains some of the most lyrical and tuneful work Marc Almond has ever done, combined with a some very down to earth stories and lyrics. A world full of people grows on you every time you listen, it is impossible to get out of your head, while broken hearted and beautiful is achingly sad. Subaraya Johnny is so bitter you can taste it. Anarcona and Jackal jackal are full of mediterranean twists and turns, while I'm sick of you tasing of somebody else is just the best,
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2014
This compilation contains a host of songs that were previously only available as B-Sides or special releases and the like. Some fans only contained 3rd-hand cassette recordings of these songs and boy are we glad to get our hands on this! Marc Almond's time at Virgin records was comparatively short, but he produced some of his best work while there - these songs and the 'Mother Fist' albums particularly stand out.

I can't pick a favourite as I love all these songs too much. They're typical early Marc - run-down motels, blinking Vegas lights, sailors from foreign shores, night-time by the sea, the hopeless romanic - you can sense so many stories running through these songs and the flavour and character is beautifully tangible. If you love Marc, you'll love this compilation, and as an introductiom to Marc Almond's work, you can't pick a better album. I can't understand why Marc is sometimes villified for his work, yet pointless production-line pap like X Factor's Sam Bailey goes to number one in the charts. Bailey is as bland as her songs - manipulated rubbish - this is real and will stand the test of time. Long after X Factor is off our screens, this will continue to be a rediscovered gem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2011
Seeing as how those incompetents at 'Some Bizarre' did not manage to list a single track in the correct place on the cover, I thought this might be useful.

1. Blond Boy
2. The House Is Haunted (Ectoplasmix)
3. Broken Bracelets
4. Cara A Cara
5. The Heel
6. A Salty Dog
7. The Plague
8. The Little White Cloud That Cried
9. For One Moment
10. Just Good Friends
11. Stories of Johnny (Featuring Westminster City Choir)
12. Love Letter (Featuring Westminster City Choir)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)