Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
107
4.4 out of 5 stars
Chocolate [2008] [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 September 2012
Chocolate is one of my favorite martial arts movies from the 2000's. It's classic blend of over the top melodrama and fast, well choreographed action. But with a twist - the main character is an autistic girl. This major difference adds another layer to this movie - actress must be good both dramatically and physically. I personally wasn't really impressed with Tony Jaa because he just felt flat as an actor and had no charisma. As an martial artist he is unmatched but he is not very good actor. But Jeeja Yanin had both acting skills and really good martial art skills. She actually reminded me a bit of young Michelle Yeoh. The action in Chocolate isn't as good as Ong-Bak but it's still light years ahead of Hollywood. The story is very simple and has a lot heart and passion which really helps driving the plot which isn't very good. The last 20 minutes of the movie are very good action set pieces after another. I liked it better than Ong-Bak climax. But that's my personal preference.

The video and audio is top notch. There are no English dub thank God! It's Thai with English subtitles. There are a bunch of featurettes covering films production, behind the scenes footage and interviews with the cast, director and action choreographer. There are also outtakes, deleted scenes, trailers and training footage. It's around about hour and a half long. Not bad for single disc edition. If you are interested in martial arts movies you definitely check this one out. Don't snob it because Jeeja Yanin isn't as good as Tony Jaa or Jackie Chan, give her a chance to impress you. Where do you else will find a girl who can do her own stunts and act well at the same time? Not in Hollywood...
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
I like martial arts movies and this is a very good film. The young lady is very talented. Plenty of action.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
great action film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
Excellent DVD with worthwhile extras on it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWERon 4 May 2010
Brilliant movie as ever from Asia. This girl can pull some brilliant moves off she's a fantastic athlete! If you like martial arts movies and Asian cinema you will love this one, it's a must see for definite!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2017
Great film debut from Jeeja and helps show autistic kids being special.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2012
I won't bore you with plot summary as this has been repeatedly covered on other reviews. Suffice to say that Jeeja Yanin is in a league of her own. I wouldn't like to try to compare her to any other martial artist, because she is pure talent in and of herself. I bought this movie after seeing Raging Phoenix, also starring Jeeja Yanin, and so with this movie Chocolate, I wasn't expecting that she could match her performance from Raging Phoenix, but she not only matched it, she surpassed herself! Of course I love both movies, and I am a huge fan of Jeeja Yanin. She is definitely one to watch in upcoming titles such as The Kick, Jakkalan, Chocolate 2, Warrior King 2 (the protector 2 in the USA), and Sin Jin. I wont give away plot synopsis, details and release dates, etc, because I have scarce detail myself, but if anyone is interested just google Jeeja Yanin's upcoming film biography. As for this movie Chocolate, it is sweet, brutal and bloody, a rare Thai brew that is not just refreshingly original but a work of sheer genius that is guaranteed to have all true martial arts fans wanting more. In the words of Jeeja Yanin herself, "This is my first movie, I worked very hard in making it, and I hope it will become one of your favourites". Happy viewing!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2009
Zen(Jeeja Yanin)an austistic - like teen with an incredible gift for mimicing martial arts is forced with a family friend Moom to collect old debts from characters in her dying mother Zin's past.Obviously they are reluctant to pay and hovering in the background is a vengeful former lover of Zin's.
Cornball story, replete with transsexual heavies and the usual over the top songs used in Asian films to heavyhandly convey the high emotional points, Chocolate is earnestly played though with a nice tongue in cheek attitude and although initially it is difficult to go with the central conceit some beautifully staged fight sequences allow Jeeja Yanin to shine culminating in an extrodinary final sequence that is utterly breathtaking.
Certainly on a par with Ong Bak(made by the same team),Choclate is worthy of your time if you liked the aforementioned and Miss Yanin is fantastic.Watch the final credits(and some solid extras) to see what she and the rest of the cast put themselves through for our entertainment.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2008
I saw this on a recent trip to Thailand (where the movie was filmed) when I was taken to see the movie by a journo friend who was bigging it up. I expected a pretty poor imitation to Ong-Bak if I'm being honest, but I was pretty BLOWN AWAY! From the Ong-Bak / Warrior King producers, Chocolate is a new all-action, stunt-packed, martial arts fest featuring some truly memorable moments. The story follows a teenage girl who visits several of her mum's ex-mafia partners to collect debts to pay for her now sick mother's hospital bills. Of course, no one wants to pay up, so she takes matters into her own fighting hands. I loved the fact that the lead action star was female for a change. Her skills are just amazing - what else can I say? I also loved the fact that half the movie wasn't devoted to trying to make her a sex symbol for the male audience. Instead, the movie concentrates on making her seem like a real fighter with a real cause - refreshing stuff!

So in conclusion, a more than worthy successor to Ong-Bak, Tony Jaa and Warrior King. If you like these, you will love Chocolate. PS. Look out for the stunts-gone-wrong out-takes over the credits at the end - totally crazy stuff!
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2012
well ive seen some films in my time, and this as got to rate as one of the best ive seen the acting really really good action well thought out wish i knew about this film sooner blue ray really brings it to life the leading actress has a brilliant furture in front of her and i be looking out for more of her films, all in all you need to watch to really understand in what i mean 10/10 this is a must have for any collection
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)