Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
64
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.71+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

When a expresses father dies and her brother forces his way into power by violence the empress is taken to safety by her faithful warriors until time is ready to come and take back what is rightfully hethis film stars the super star donnie yen as a worrior who helps the empress played by Kelly Chen this film has amazing scenery and a great story the battle scenes are amazing if at times slightly exaggerated but overall brilliant. This has it all murder revenge love honour and the ability to suck you in till you are mesmerised by its beauty highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
Very Good, love these types of movies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Good Chinese epic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
4 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
I have just finished this and my emotions are running high. I really enjoyed it. It is not so much a war film as a love story. A girl growing into a woman - a leader - through two relationships - her brother and the doctor who saves her from death.
The battle scenes are well done and , for once in these films, quite realistic but they do not dominate the film or outstay their welcome , and no impossible walking in the air moves. The characters are well drawn and the lead performances good. I have seen one or two of these which were overblown and overdone. Not this. The music is sets the right note from the start and you are soon involved emotionally with the film . Some reviews here would pit you off. I say watch it - make up your own mind. You will likely sheda tear.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2012
This film has it all, Great Actors, realistic sets, locations & costumes, with a cracking story.

The story is quite sad & tragic though. I'm not really into mushy films atall, yet, I found myself really enjoying this film.

I would describe it as a historical, Action, Romance, Tragedy. There is nothing flowery about it, yet, it is still moving & emotional.

The film deals with the Age long topics of Deceit, treason, conspiracies, age long feuds, battles to defend the land against enemies & betrayal within the Empires etc. In the middle of it all, is the story involving the central characters. The Princess, Her Loyal general, Her traitorous Cousin & the Strange young hermit who lives in the forrest, who she befriends.

Basically, the Princess is thrust into ruling the Empire, prematurely. It is up to her General to make sure she can defend herself & is trained well enough to win the respect of her officers & Army & be fit to lead them into battle. To do this, he has to be merciless, even though they have been friends from early childhood.

Another twist in the story unfolds as she is undergoing her training..But I'll not say too much on that..

Amazing Film..I loved it..Big Thumbs Up
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2009
I really enjoyed this movie, I have read alot of reviews saying there is poor action scenes, a weak romance plot and a average acting but I have the exact opposite point of view to all of those reviews. I hooked by this film from the opening titles, the heroic sounding music score was brilliant and as allways Donnie Yen gives a fine performance as does Leon Lai and Kelly Chen.

The action scenes are very good (most notable is the end fight sequence were Yen takes on an entire army on his own). I found ths film better than Hero, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon and House of Flying Daggers.
77 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2009
This is good. This is what Asian Movies are about. The action is excellent. The story is quite good. It is very well filmed. This is highly recommended and thoroughly enjoyable. Very praise-worthy and a must see!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2009
I do enjoy a good martial arts film and like Donnie Yen.I bought 'The Emperess & The Warriors' on Blu-ray with out acually watching the movie first.Some reviewers say that this movie was not one of Donnie's best and didn't have a great deal of action in it.
I really enjoyed it and was not disappointed by the action and although it was a martial arts movie and focused on sword battles it was not too bloody.There was a tiny bit of blood towards the end,but done all most 'arty' so it did not look gory at all.
Watch out for the fantasic battle at the end where Donnie takes out 100 warriors all on his own!!
On the Blu-ray, details of the armour was stunning along with the the epic landscapes shown in vivid colours.
I think 'The Emperess & the Warriors' is a beautiful yet underated film.It has a great story about about Family,Love & Duty and if you can watch a sub-titled movie I can highly recommend it.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)