Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
49
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 July 2016
I was a bit concerned when I realised that Amanda Tapping would be coming into the show especially when we are not used to seeing her without Daniel and the others. But I can honestly say that it was just as good as the other seasons.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2016
Elizabeth Weir departs a hero and Sam Carter assumes command (a good decision as she fits right in as a strong leader and interacts with the cast brilliantly) yet I still belive Elizabeth should've have been rescued after the mid season finale then rehabilitated to being the rightful leader after her first three seasons on the show.
It would've made for a great recurring storyline for the the fourth season that hits all the right notes despite the cast changes.

The stories, action and character development in the fourth year of this show continue to shine through however making this an equal to SG1 in some ways and making it entirely its own in others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2008
After what I felt to be a disappointing third year, `Stargate Atlantis' considerably ups its game with season four. But it's not with particularly clever or imaginative stories that the shows writers and producers manage to bring about this change; it's actually in the areas of character development and action that this season really excels. Events simply move too fast to criticise and before I was even aware- the season had ended and I found myself in eager anticipation of yet another action-packed season.

With the (implied) deaths of inarguably my favourite two characters in season three, I wasn't expecting their replacements to integrate perfectly, or right away into the Atlantis team, but both actors are given such great material to work with that it's impossible not to be engaged with their individual story-arcs. Sam carter is (of course) as brilliant as always, but unlike Doctor Weir, doesn't appear in nearly as many episodes, or seem to be involved as deeply in the decision-making processes on the base. She just feels like any other member of the team and fits right in almost immediately. Doctor Keller is initially unconvincing in her role as chief medic, but before long she too blossoms into a really intriguing and multi-layered character. Where as fans of Ronan Dex will be relieved to know that his character develops not one iota in season four, but remains as infuriatingly/reassuringly dense, rude and one-dimensionally violent as always.

While there are more than a handful of solid Replicator and Wraith-based episodes to enjoy in this twenty-episode season, it's the character-based stories that stand-out for me as the best examples of this season. Episode 7- `Missing' (8/10), episode 13- `Quarantine' (9/10) and episode 16- `Trio' (9/10) are each so gripping that it's hard to believe you're probably watching the three most cheaply made episodes of the season. The action largely takes place on only one set per episode, but it's just fantastic to see the main characters doing what they do best i.e. acting-out in their familiar personas, but slowly coming to realize their own short-comings and question their relationships with one another. `Missing' has two characters stranded on a single planet for the duration of the story in an episode that finally sees Teyla awarded some meaty material to enrich her character, while Keller becomes a much more well-rounded character along the way. `Quarantine' imprisons each member of the Atlantis expedition into their own unique hell, allowing them to develop in satisfying ways. While the third is all about characters (who are supposed to be geniuses in their particular fields) being forced to think outside the box, literally!

The final stand-out story for me would be the concluding episode- `The Last Man' (9/10), which finally breaks out of the mould of the finale's of previous seasons and doesn't involve an unprovoked attack on the city, or a multi-episode build-up. It's pretty self-contained on the whole and mixes well themes of time-travel, action and season four's despicable mystery nemesis.

Miscellaneous comments- the Genii appear hardly at all (good thing), Teal'c puts in an appearance in the episode `Midway' (9/10) (great thing) and characters who you thought dead & gone for good...may not be (awesome thing)!!
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2012
Regarding the episodes (20 spanned over 5 DVD's) - I believe any fan of the Stargate franchise will be generally pleased, as they keep the good tradition of fine action packed and entertaining episodes, with Wraith, Replicators, some SG-1 crossovers and more.

I think one of the things I like best in this franchise is the fine blend of the producers both taking themselves very seriously and very lightly, resulting in superb entertainment.

This blend finds it's way both to the episodes and the stories and both to all the extra features available on the box set. There are insightful and at times very funny behind the scenes featurettes.

Disc 2 contains 7 minutes of bloopers (for the first time) and each and every disc has some more fine featurettes.

All (!) the episodes have commentary tracks that are sometimes very interesting.
There are English subtitles for all the episodes AND featurettes AND commentaries(!), with the latter containing also who says what (as usually there's more than one commentator). This is simply great - I wish it was a standard option on other DVD productions - thumbs up!

There's also a nice booklet with the summaries of all episodes and special features on all discs, including, for the first time, details of commentators for each episode.

Overall superb boxset - highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2011
As a big fan of sci-fi, Stargate's SG1, Atlantis and Universe are amongst my favourites. Often, with many tv series', the quality goes down with time...Not the case here. This series is jam packed with good drama, nice character development, good scripts and new ideas.
It was also nice to see some familiar faces from the earlier SG1- such as Col. Samantha Carter, and T'elc with the Atlantis gang...
I also like the packaging format..the inclusion of a booklet listing the episodes with a brief description is VERY helpful. I just wish the publishers of the Star Trek series' would do the same. I hate having to peep under discs to see which episode is where.
It you are new to Stargate Atlantis, you may want to start with Series 1 for background first. The episodes on Series 4 are just as good, if not better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2008
I have been waiting for this DVD boxset since they finished showing this season on tv. I have really enjoyed Stargate Atlantis from the beginning and generally believe that the series gets better all the time in terms of characters and plots.I loved the addition of Col. Sam Carter this year as I am a huge Stargate SG1 fan. I believe that this year was more focused on the long running story line through-out this season, compared with the more 'stand-alone' episodes of the three preveious seasons. There are some dramatic episodes involving the disappearance of the Athosians and also a couple of great standalone episodes like Quarantine. So even though this season is slightly different to the previous three, I still think it was an excellent season which I enjoyed as much as the others.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
I love Stargate franchise, I hope they will start again some day.
You should watch Stargate SG-1 (up to ninth season at least) and of course Stargate Atlantis (1 to 3rd season) to understand this set.
But StarGate is really the best Scifi series so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2008
Good fourth season except maybe one or two episodes. great characters development, good actions. The show become more mature. The relationship between the characters become interesting. I like the relation between John Sheppard and Rodney Mackay. Many plots have been created and deserves to continue in a fifth season and more. The cast give depth to the characters. congrat particularly to Joe Flanigan and David Hewlett. Now the actors possess more their character and bring a lot to them.
I'm waiting for the fifth season.
I'm sad to know MGM, SCI-FI and producers decided to cancel the show when the current rates are good and the quality become better and against the viewers opinions and petition signed a lot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2008
This is actually a very good show to watch, i only recently started watching it. Season 4 is very well written and its very entertaining just like the other 3 seasons. It's worth buying as every time you watch it gets better.

P.S. Amazon are selling it at a far better price than HMV who are ripping you off.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2009
AS A FAN OF STARGATE FROM DAY 1 AND REALLY ENJOYED ATLANTIS
ALL THE USUAL CHARACTERS WITH WISE CRACKS JIBES ACTION AND MYSTERYS
GUEST APPEARANCES ARE FEW . AMANDA TAPPING WONDERFULL AS USUAL
MY FAVOURITE IS MIDWAY WITH RONAN AND TEALC. ALSO ADRIFT EFFECTS ARE FAB.
I LOOK FORWARD TO SEASON 5 . I FEEL IT WAS CUT SHORT
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse