Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
6
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2008
Making Dens was a distinctive sound amongst so many me-too's and for that reason grabbed my attention and interest. I really liked the album, even though I kept thinking of all the 70's bands it reminded me of... Twenty One shows a tightening of sound and focus, though this time stepping into the 80's at times, though not like being retro, and fortunately with some of the better style of that decade. The band has created and produced an excellent spread of very catchy songs without being over commercial - it really won't take you too long to get into this album, and it should help take the Mystery Jets forward as long as enough people get to hear the band. I think the production is certainly tighter - personally I feel there is also scope for the band to offer more individual solo type work and maybe get a bit heavier, Muse or Arcade Fire style, building on Blaine's excellent vocal work on this album. Maybe on album 3?!

Overall a really good second album.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2012
Roughly 25 seconds into the first song 'Hideaway', a bassline comes in, a sexy funky bassline that cuts through the police sirens that start off the song. Then comes in the song as Blaine Harrison sings of an 'undercover lover' atop a sea of catchy hooks and backup vocals. This is a good signal of what the rest of the album is like. Delicious hooks dancing among sing-along choruses with knowingly clever lyrics. Highlights include 'Half In Love With Elizabeth, the irresistible 'Two Doors Down' (a retro throwback), and the tender almost ballad of 'Flakes', though there isn't a dud among these songs. Expect much more from these boys, as a group with such melody, pop sensibilities and pure essence of fun are going to be going places.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 June 2008
The Cure, Tears For Fears, The Cars, Duran Duran...if there's one thing this album is guaranteed to do it's to remind you of the 1980's.

Recent single Two Doors Down was one of those classic divisive pop hits. Some would appreciate it for what it is (a catchy pop hit) whilst others would probably be unable to look past the obvious 80's sound (complete with gratuitous sax solo) that it undoubtedly represents. Those of you who land in the "hate" category for this one might as well steer clear of MJ, which almost transcends into parody.

Lead single, Young Love, was, on the other hand, criminally overlooked by most, but is one of the better songs on the album. Laura Marling pops in to lend a hand and whilst it may be very much one of those "boy meets girl" style songs, it's one of the better examples of that mini-genre. It's got feeling, which is rare in a modern day pop song and, like the other standout tracks on the album such as Half In Love With Elizabeth and Veiled In Grey, it is completely devoid of cliche.

It's not a trick that they can completely keep up for the entire album and towards the end there is a definite lull. It's not to say that the lesser tracks are awful, but they are overshadowed by the brilliance on display elsewhere.

Still, a good album with a handful of excellent tracks is certainly worth the investment in my opinion.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2009
I was given Twenty One and was blown away with what I thought was a debut from a new group. I should have realised that the production, confidence and just outstanding quality was too good for a debut album. Like KM I hear Talking Heads in this album which is high compliment indeed. But there is range of styles here which is just plain showing off as each track is a complete package. Standout tracks are Young Love, Half in Love, Two Doors down & Umbrellahead (can you hear Clap Your Hands here?). Surely MJ are about to really break into the big time (Zane is a fan) - they deserve to.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
I absolutely love this album, I did own a copy of this before I ordered it and was happy to promptly receive a second hand copy in excellent condition. I'm pleased to now own the album artwork as well as the music for my favourite Mystery Jets album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 June 2008
I rushed out to buy this album after hearing and loving the excellent single "Two Doors Down" and the rest of the album is equally brilliant. With a real 80's sound, reminiscent of groups like The Police, Talking Heads and Ah-Ha this album is very listenable, likeable and extremely fun. I can't wait to see these guys at Glastonbury in a few weeks! Highly recommended and easily one of the best albums of 2008 so far.

Stand out tracks - Two Doors Down, MJ and Young Love.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2008
After hearing the recent single 'Young Love' and being aware of past material and various music videos on mtv2, i felt this album was a must buy. The album has a number of instantly catchy songs, from 'Hideaway' to 'Two Doors Down', the majority of songs are upbeat with hard hitting drums and a mix of vocal chanting and harmonious melodies. Basically if you like the single 'Young Love' or any of their previous tracks, this album won't disappoint. Still in the early days i think this album will propel this band up a few levels, watch this space.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2008
They've tightened their sound and Blaine's voice has never sounded better - leading the band into wildly catchy tunes, feeling more like a complete album then their previous. Fans of their first will find this second effort greatly welcomed.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
Not listened to the Mystery Jest before hearing Two Doors Down, great band and great tunes. The whole album is easy listening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2009
This album is highly catchy and the more you hear it the more you get into it, I certainly can't stop playing it in my car. It is very 80's retro yet contemporary at the same time which adds to the appeal even more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.17
£6.50

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)