Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2010
Dead Man's Walk, featuring the young Woodrow Call and Augustus McCrae, is a good yarn but the characters are so far detached in age, from the Woodrow and Gus of Lonesome Dove that it seems like there's a volume missing. In my opinion it's a pity that the jump from young, inexperienced Texas Rangers, to retired Texas Rangers isn't covered.

If, like me, you saw Lonesome Dove first, I expect Tommy Lee Jones will forever be Woodrow F. Call and it takes some getting used to that John Voight becomes Woodrow in Return To Lonesome Dove, and James Garner takes on the role in Streets of Laredo. Once that barrier was overcome however, I thoroughly enjoyed watching all four films in order.

A few more performers reappearing from film to film would have enhanced the enjoyment, but still a good buy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2009
Words fail to explain how we've so enjoyed Lonesome Dove over the years.

Some caveats....

Sometimes in the last two movies the scenes seemed a bit slow--probably a result of the TV mini-series for which they were made.

It's important to keep in mind that the third movie, The Streets of Laredo, is set chronologically well after the first two movies. It is sometimes difficult to keep this in mind since the actors are portrayed as looking much younger than those playing their respective parts in the first two movies.

One unfortunate problem with this edition is that part two of the three parts was lost in production. That is to say, there are two disks, containing only part one and part three. Part two didn't make it in production.

The final movie explores the early years of Gus and Woodrow when they first became Texas Rangers. It is a pretty good movie, but little is done to show how such green boys developed such strong character. In fact, it might have been better to write the movie without reference to Lonesome Dove story-lines or characters.

All said, this package delivers a gazillion hours of enjoyment for a small cost.
22 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
I already had the first three of this set but Deadmans Walk did not appear to be available singly in the UK but the other old DVDs were well received by relatives who also enjoy a good western. Well produced and with down to earth recording of what life must have been like in the Old West it also reveals the acting abilities of the various actors and actresses who interpret the main parts their way.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2009
The boxed set is excellent value.

These epics have not aged at all - a perfect balance of action with relationship studies. Even if you are not a fan of Horse Operas, you will get sucked into the lives of these characters.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
If I understand it correctly 'Return to' and 'Laredo' are both sequels to LD - the latter being McMurtry's own sequel and the former the 'studio' effort to cash in on the original. So they are 'optional endings' and not in a time line. Hence the inexplicable parts which sadly I think are worse in McMurtry's own version. P Eye and Loreena married - give me a break!? And Call seemingly forgetting he had a ranch to run? etc etc

'Return to' is great and whilst some elements repeat (eg Gideon is the 'Gus' figure) it is by no means as some have suggested just a simple rewrite. 'Laredo' is rather unpleasant and feels like vengeance on the studio from the author - and the book is worse especially regarding Newt and indeed Call's fate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2009
surely robert duvals finest moment,
all the actors are brilliant and cant imagine anybody taking there places.
this is a sure sign of a masterpiece,
sit back and be taken back to the real wild days of the west.
only down side, aftedr 20 hours of magic your back home again.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
this dvd set was purchased for my husband as a christmas gift from my sister my husband has always watched this on tv and enjoyed it very much his profession (hgv driver) sometimes takes him away and he does not get very good tv receptions so he takes dvds with him to watch and this dvd set is one that he will watch and enjoy for a long time
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2012
I had this item on video but wanted a DVD copy so I can keep watching it. So much to see and the acting by all the people is really good. The story line is very realistic of how life used to be in the west.

Its a shame so few real stories make it to the screen now, its good to see a story run its course rather than just all killing and special effects.

I'd give it 10 out of 10 for a story to enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
I read the book on holiday and just had to get the box set on my return. It's a great series and like the book I couldn't put it down/stop watching. The only thing I would recommend to any prospective buyer/viewer is that you watch the DVDs out of order following the boys growing up rather than in the sequence they were issued.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2011
bought a lot of dvds over xmas period, this one was outstanding,having read book
earlier ,lonesome dove by itself was great, three other dvds with it represents
unbeatable value..highly recommended*****
regards
chrisb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)