Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

What a joy to be able to see such great films in DVD whenever the mood takes you rather than waiting years for them to appear on TV .The mood takes me frequently to Hollywood musicals and to Alice Faye. Rose of Washington Square was released in 1939 in black and white. The picture and sound quality are superb as is the film.

Starring Miss Faye, Tyrone Power, Al Jolson, the story line may be familiar. Tyrone Power is a con man (heel)' who Alice loves and went along with, (as usual Power has the screen charm).Al Jolson (Ted) is teaming up with Alice (Rose Sargent) but finds he is without her on stage where he performs his repertoire of his well-known songs (My Mammy, Rock-a Bye Your Baby, California Here I come etc).Ted sees where Power (Bart) is coming from but love between Rose and Bart is there. Alice sings 'My Man' wearing what I would call enticing clothing. She also performs 'I'm Just Wild about Harry, 'Ja Da' and 'The Vamp'. Unfortunately 'I'm always chasing rainbows' and 'I'll See You In My Dreams' were excluded. Maybe they will resurface in film.

All generally works out well for Alice (but not for Power, imprisoned) in the end. Alice declares she will wait for him (true love). Her biographer Jane Lenz Elder states that she found working with Al Jolson's ego "awful".Based on the lives of Fanny Brice and gambler husband Nick Arnstein the studio was famously sued. Studio producer, Zanuck, carried on and gave the public a movie of enduring quality. It may have been churned out at the time of the Hollywood golden age, but this has class, as 70 odd years on, myself, family and hopefully generations to come can continue to sit back and embrace the warmth and innocence of an age that is timeless. Pure entertainment.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
Great nostalgic film. Tyrone Power was very handsome and Alice Faye had a very natural personality that helped make her a star. It was also interesting to see Al Jolson. They will never make these kind of light musicals again so watch them while you can.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
very good films no hazzle on time easy ordering
sellers easy to deal with and reliable In those days film musicals when in technicolour always retained their colour brightness and sharpness an expensive process never been beaten Amazon is bril one click and I am there
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2010
It's great to know that many of the old musical films are on DVD. Some are quite
modest - like "Rose of Washington Square" but still enjoyable, as much for their
star power as anything. Alice Faye was tops in those films and kept those looks of hers into old age. What a trouper - and who better to sing some of the songs of
yesteryear! Any one of these vintage musicals is worth a couple of hours as an
antidote to today's cynical, rush-by world of ours. More of the same please.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
Superb movie, highly watchable with outstanding performances from Tyrone Power, Alice Faye and particularly Al Jolson who steals every scene he is in.
Item arrived promptly, securely packed and in tip-top condition. Congrats to the sellers - well done !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
When Fox produced its technicolour musicals in the 40s things began to look up. Betty Grable and June Haver were eminently watchable. But in 1939, when this production emerged, we were forced to stomach the unctuous Tyrone Power and Fox's sole female baritone, Alice Faye. Ironically Faye's best number, 'I'm always chasing rainbows' appears only in the out-takes. The plot is as dire and naive as the general standard of the acting. When my DVD arrived in the worst fretwork case imaginable (I thought that someone had trodden on it) I knew I was in for a long haul. But it has to be said that the quality of the disc was top-class and it had been beautifully restored. I purchased this movie for one reason - Al Jolson. 'The World's Greatest Entertainer' kept the whole thing together. He was brilliant in his three numbers. Add 'April Showers' in the out-take, and you really get your moneysworth. Forget the inane plot, the inept Tyrone Power and the dreadful dance routine of the eponymous Rose of Washington Square. Focus on Jolson. Sheer Brilliance.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
Great movie of very good quality. Excellent service too. Ordered the movie/s as a surprise gift for my 91 years old mum - she was so happy when they arrived.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2010
Classy film musical pre-war starring Alice Faye and John Payne. Afficioanados will love it. Good price and delivered fast from USA.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
I bought this item for my mother who last saw this when she was a young girl.
She was over the moon with it

Arrived in great condition and in perfect working order.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
GOOD FILM
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)