Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 15 May 2013
The sumptuous colours and superbly drawn setting combine with a majestically catchy song which sucks you into the world and bodes incredibly well for the rest of the film. You are only at the intro and already you will be salivating, sure the pessimist inside you will think `brilliant intro but it must surely go downhill from here' something about climaxing too early. To a mix of great relief and joy you find yourself journeying into a brilliantly realised world which is bright and wonderfully stylised.

We are brought into a world built upon what must have been a prosperous technologically advanced civilisation which stands now only as ruins and long forgotten chambers buried deep within the ground. Nature and time have consumed it all, until we are introduced to a girl who has been in suspended animation since before the fall of `civilisation', though as we find out she is not the first.

The general theme of the film should be familiar to anybody with a passing interest in anime, in that it is a case of forest v humans of a military bent v humans with an interest in peace. It is a well worn plot in these sorts of film but it forms a nice strong base for a very interesting story which is solidly laid out.

The film is thoughtful but it does have an action gear which switches on as we are introduced to the idea of enhanced humans. The film feels like a cross between final fantasy 7 and Panzer Dragoon Saga in terms of atmosphere and visuals there are shades of these two games in the storyline as well, which in my opinion should warrant immediate purchase by anybody with a passing interest in these two classics of story led games.

There are scenes which mirror studio ghibli's Laputa almost exactly, in fact the last 30 mins are almost a perfect reflection of that films finale, it does feel like a respectful homage rather than blatant rip off, and it has such a strong character itself that you might not even notice the similarities; it took me a second viewing to notice.

The musical score is also worthy of a quick mention it completes your total immersion and is always beautifully majestic.

Watching this film makes you wish you lived in decaying buildings overrun by plants, because it sure does look beautiful, or at least this film manages to make it look that way I suppose in real life you might get put off the idea quite quickly when you realise that your crumbling house has let water in and made the grass you are sitting on all soggy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2014
I was looking for something along the lines of Studio Ghibli's more imaginative and magical tales and this film delivered to an extent. The animation is beautiful and the story holds your attention, containing some mysterious and intriguing elements.

However, I am a stickler that when you create a reality in fiction it's got to work and I'm afraid this is where this film falls down. It's set on Earth and I'm afraid that someone should have told the makers that on Earth volcanos need to be attached to the ground in order to spew lava that is coming up through the planet's crust. I know some may find this picky and be able to overlook it, in which case they will enjoy this film more than me.

Despite my criticism, this is still a descent film and much better than others of the same genre, like the awful Journey to Agartha.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2012
This film hasn't always got the greatest reviews but I really liked it and thought it would have made a good series. I think it's main problem is that outstanding opening which complete with a soundtrack from Kokia, does put the actual film in the shade somewhat.

Scientists, in their impatience to develop trees which can thrive in harsh conditions, of course go too far, the trees become self aware, break out of their confines on the moon and dispatch their seedlings to Earth in a fiery meteor storm. Many, many years later, forests cover most of what was left of the earth but one community has carved out an existence in and around the ruined skyscrapers of what was once a busy metropolis. With the forests now controlling the very supply of water, they have developed an uneasy relationship with the tree like druids in order to survive.

One day, a young man called Agito finds a set of status capsules underground. While most of the inhabitants have long deceased, one does contain the daughter of the chief scientist, still preserved in time from the destruction of the Earth. Waking up in a world she barely recognises, she becomes torn between those who want live in peace alongside the sentient forests and those who want to use her to destroy them (and everything else) in order to regain control.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2013
Product arrived it great packaging and the DVD itself only had a few surface scratches (as pre-owned) the box was a little damaged as the cover plastic had some holes in it where it appears to have been caught (seller Zoverstocks).
The story line is great and slowly introduces you to the main character Agito. The story makes you feel for him as he tries to save the girl he awoke from the stasis pod. As i watched this the first thing i thought of was studio ghibli as it is of similar quality, great graphics and detail in both looks and story (could be a little confusing at the start but you will soon understand it). I watched this the moment it arrived and then again the day after (spotting this i had earlier missed). I would recomend this to anyone who is a fan of studio ghibli, anime and who the story line attracts.
Also take note of the first mention of silver hair, XD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2012
Origin : Spirits Of the Past tries to be a Miyazaki movie like Nausicaa or Princess Mononoke but kind of falls flat with weak characters and poorly defined universe. The movie looks really good, with nice, crisp visuals and the soundtrack is really nice, but other than that it's just a movie that preaches on about how awesome nature is and how technology is bad. If you just want to watch something with really nice art, knock yourself out, but if you got suckered in by the fact that the box compares it to ''Ghost In the Shell 2 : Innoncence'', you will be sorely dissapointed. But really, it's not the worst thing and I don't regret seeing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2013
I have been a big fan of Manga/Anime for a long time - mainly the Studio Ghibli collection, so my curiosity was immediately stirred when I saw this. The price, first of all, is amazingly cheap compared to, for example, Ponyo, which is about £15.

The film itself i thought was somewhat similar to Laputa and Nausicaa by Ghibli what with the themes of environmentalism, where nature has been attacked and suppressed and now fights back and also the appearance of a girl from a different time who possesses important power for saving the forest.

Some parts of the movie are a little silly, or annoying, but nothing's really perfect, so I would really recommend buying this if you like Anime and fiction!

Product arrived wrapped in plastic and completely new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2017
Lovely animation and great music. The story is original and as it is with many mainstream anime it's full of hope in the face of adversity. Kokia is singing the closing theme and is amazingly beautiful.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2013
The drawing on this animation is breath taken, not sure why its a 12 as it can be watched easy with children around as they is no sex no swearing and its bright and colourful. Even though the case looks boring this film pretty good and if you like the girl who leap through time, Spirited Away then your sure to like this like I did
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2017
Fantastic, exactly what I expected too! Prompt delivery as well, would definitely recommend 😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2018
NO PROBLEMS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)