Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2008
I've had this tv for a couple of months now. It really is excellent, I can't think of any negatives. The colours and contrast are good (really good blacks). It makes a fairly good job of SD pictures, but HD (from bluray or upscaled dvd on PS3) it is truely stunning, everyone should get a copy Planet Earth in bluray to show it off!
I had been looking at lcd tv's for a while, standing comparing them all in shops for ages. When I first heard about this one coming out I wasn't sure how good it would be as everything sounded great except it didn't have 100Hz. I had previously seen an X3500 (which has 100Hz "Motion flow") next to a V3000 and the V3000 looked really jerky by comparison (when watching some football and scrolling through credits), so I was thinking I would have to fork out the extra for a tv with 100Hz. Well with the W4000 they must have done something clever because it looks at least as good as the X3500 when there is motion.
Being able to stick in a memory stick to show off pictures is a handy little feature too (though I wouldn't leave it on all the time as a picture frame!).
I think it even looks nice (never did like the big blocky frame of the X series), I would recommend this tv to anyone.
0Comment| 87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2008
Ive seen many lcds from many manufacturers and, i own a Sony s3000 myself, i waited for some time to get that perfect TV, i skipped the w3000 as it had few issues, now that i have this TV I'm blown away with its performance, the blacks can easily rival most off the plasma in the market, there is no backlight bleed, no clouding issues like many other sets on the market. The SD picture quality is good nice vibrant colours, good detail. blue ray will blow you away picture is so detailed and sharp, whites are just as good as the blacks, call off duty 4 on the ps3 is brilliant no motion blur to report. overall this set is probably the best LCD on the market and it is under £1000, i think that bravia engine 2 is a big improvement over the old engine. The only TV i would consider 2nd place would be the Panasonic LZ85 which is was considering to buy.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2008
This is quality!

SKY HD pictures are simply stunning, even non HD programmes look good (if you sit 2 foot in front of the TV then it will look a bit naff but then you shouldn't sit that close to a 40inch TV!) PS3 games look and run fabulous (the same could not be said of the Philips LCD this TV has replaced). Same goes for Blu-Ray. A friend who has a Panasonic Plasma could not believe how good the TV was, you can only tell it's an LCD when you are up close, there really is very little difference between the two now.

A previous reviewer points out the default colour settings are naff, and he's right, but spend 30mins adjusting the different menus and it will be 30mins well spent!

Sound is fairly decent, but i'm considering getting a cinema setup now I've got a TV this good!
11 comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2008
After looking to buy a 40" LCD for 18 months, I saw this in the local sony shop. The picture quality is superb both on HD and SD from sky and freeview. It is a much better than the Sony X series that was next to it in the shop. It is also a major step forward in design easily beating other sonys and samsungs and together with a more competitive price for this quality screen and an introductory offer meant I had to buy it. Highly recommend everyone to see this LCD before buying any other
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 September 2008
You can read the other reviews for the technical low-down, but in simple terms this is a beautifully designed television which is quick and easy to set up and has a wonderful, sharp display. It was equally easy to set up the DAV-IS10 sound system, with its remarkably small speakers, to accompany it. And of course, you can show your holiday snaps on it at a size that even your 98-year old Gran can see!

Great value for money.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2008
I dithered for a long time trying to choose a 40" TV. Couldn't decide between Panasonic Plasma or Sony LCD. In the end my dithering paid off as the price has dropped by over £400.

I bought the Sony in the end and I'm extremely pleased with it. I'm mainly using it for Sky (SD) but even on Freeview through the built in tuner it has a great picture (so long as you don't sit right in front of the screen) much better than any Freeview picture I have seen...very little Pixilation even on fast moving stuff like football.

Haven't tried any HD sources yet but upscaled DVDs look very rich.

I'm slightly disappointed by the sound....doesn't have the punch of my Toshiba LCD so at some stage I may consider surround sound or a 'sound bar' but it is more than adequate for general TV progs.

Great TV.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2008
really is a top quality product. independent review sites rate it top of the non-100Hz models, and for me, they're spot on. Delivery from Amazon as usual faultless. TV v easy to attach to stand, and setup is automatic. Have connected to standard def Sky - gives a really nice picture. DVD is even better (from a Sony DVD/HDD player). More tweaks and adjustments are possible than even the geekiest person could ever use, but some of them are really good (picture in picture, backlight adjustment). Overall, superb
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2008
I researched carefully before buying the Sony W4000 from Amazon. Several TV review websites gave this TV their blessing. My main criteria for buying was that the tv would provide quality images and sound at standard definiton level. So much hype about HD; yet perhaps 90 percent of broadcast television is in Standard Def. So do be realistic when choosing . Suffice to say the Sony is excellent in all respects; good colour and clean images, with above average soundstage. The remote is ergonomic and comfortable to use, onboard menu system is clever and straight forward to operate. I am assured also that it produces excellent images from HD sources. Essentially a great telly. Buy with confidence !
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2008
Spent a year checking out the HD TV market. I watched this model drop to £1300 (inc free hard drive dvd ) and bought it from Amazon. No problems with the tv whatsoever (bought last year). Everything is a joy to watch, especially dvd's. Reccomend highly especially at this price.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2008
We waited for some time for just the right flat screen TV and the wait was worth it for this one. Aside from changing the default colour settings, the only thing you need to do is take the TV out of the box and connect it. Set up was simple, quick and straightforward. Picture quality is excellent, sound quality from built in speakers is very good and we haven't felt the need yet to connect separate speakers. Definitely a top buy and well worth the price.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)