Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
26
4.4 out of 5 stars
Vaughan Williams: Folksong Arrangements [British Composers]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 31 August 2011
The late Robert Tear has a fine and lovely crystal clear voice which just makes this Album so much more enjoyable. I love the type of singing that is only accompanied by Piano. My favourite here is the six minute: 'How Cold The Wind Doth Blow' - accompanied here by a Violin also. Six studies in English Folk Song are placed at the end which were recorded in 1963 with Violin and Piano. You will find this CD great to 'de-stress' to. Some of these EMI Classics are amazingly good value!
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
5* What else to say?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2009
I once owned these songs on LP and - long after I'd ditched my LP collection for CD's - I remembered them and hoped that one day they would re-appear on compact disc.

Folk song was in RVW's blood, of course; if not from birth, from the time when he began collecting old songs from elderly singers in East Anglia, and it was folk song from which - with English music of the Tudor age - he forged his own inimitable musical voice. So these songs must have had a special place in the composer's heart.

Back in the early years of the 20th century, those eager to preserve folk-song thought that the only way to keep them in the public consciousness was to turn them into 'art-songs', performed either by trained soloists with instrumental accompaniment or by choral groups. These settings are in that tradition, of course. RVW, Holst, Cecil Sharp and the other collectors could not have anticipated the rise, later in the century, of interest in singing these songs in a more 'authentic' style by untrained and often unaccompanied singers.

No one sets folk-songs better than RVW. To my ears, his settings are as heart-felt and sincere as Britten's are arch and affected. The performances could not be bettered and, as the previous reviewer says so eloquently, track 21 "How Cold the Wind Doth Blow" is a deeply moving masterpiece.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
Very operatic. Not really my thing. Will most likely give it away.
From a disappointed Vaughn Williams fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
This recording 'ticked all the boxes' as they say. It is the 'must have' for those that like o take their favourite vocal arrangements in small packages. Each song is a gem with much to choose from on this lovely CD. A brilliant collection, encapsulating the very best in English Folksong.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2010
This is one of those cd's that when you first listen to it you sit and think 'yes, what a great buy'
The music is simply amazing with Robert Tear singing with such warmth and brilliant musicianship.
I now live in NZ and this cd really gives me a vivid picture of England (or how it use to be).
This cd is really worth the time. Buy it!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2009
The Vaughan Williams arrangements contained on this album are played with true passion and respect- almost reverence- for the great composer's music and his love of English folk music and a simpler way of life. Listening to this music will simply bring a smile to your face, and fill you with a hope of better times to come.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
I knew this product from an old LP. Good to hear it in its digital perfection. The only problem I experienced was getting itunes to recognise all the tracks.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
A great collection of British folk tunes by VW. The recording is fresh and engaging and it provides a nice bridge between his folk roots and VW's own music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)