Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
69
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2013
If I had to choose my favourite Moody Blues album, this would be it. Every track is an absolute diamond. The album encapsulates the essence of the Moodies' searching, seeking spiritual sound. No-one else sounds like them; their music touches the soul. Listening to "Children's Children" is a truly uplifting experience and always makes me feel better/happier. (Mind you, I never realised what the cover picture really was till I read a review on Amazon!!!).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Arty and soaring, this album has Tony Clarke's meticulous obsession imprinted throughout. To Our Children's Children's Children was very much rooted in the times with NASA launches and Kubrick odysseys. Higher and Higher pulsates -- superior drums and lead guitar. Gypsy aches with separation from home, a searing evocative number. Candle of Life is wistful, a tune you may find you unexpectantly hum. And Watching and Waiting, my personal favorite, touches the soul with its yearning. Very powerful collection and performances. Another must-have title that's frequently set to replay all. Over too soon even as you wish it would linger. Exceptional and peerless!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
Of the original seven albums between 1967 and 1972, this is probably the best. Inspired by the moon landing the previous year, there is not a weak track on the album. Now digitally remastered by Justin, the quality of sound is very good and includes great tracks such as Watching and waiting, Gypsy and Candle of life. I recently went to their concert in Brighton and noticed that Higher and higher had been added to their live repertoire too. It was a shame that Watching and waiting did not receive the success of Nights in white satin. This is possibly one of their greatest ever tracks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
Bought this vinyl album in the 1970's and marvelled at the inventiveness and originality. It is recognised as a classic Moodies album and does not disappoint - perhaps because it brings back so many memories of a happier age. Highly recommended as a classic of its time and for now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 November 2008
Strangely enough this album only got to number two despite having a much stronger line-up of songs - a number of which would become Moody Blues' classics. There is a much greater thematic feel to this album than the previous two. It was the first issue on the band's new label Threshold Records and had a fuller sound which apparently made it difficult to re-produce the sound in live concerts.

The title is intriguing enough in itself. Were the band searching long into the future, prompted by the thoughts of space travel and the moon landing? Well of course they were. The album starts at a terrific pace with Higher and Higher and then the fine songwriting just continues with Eyes of a Child running straight into Floating and the whole thing is given a rather surreal feel by "I Never Thought I'd Live to be a Hundred."

Gypsy, Eternity Road and Candle of Life are all extremely good songs and the album is rounded off with the wistful and truly beautiful Watching and Waiting which brings us down to earth very gently. The whole albums banks and soars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 August 2010
Inspired by the then upcoming moonshot, The Moody Blues decided that space would be the theme for this 1969 album. Like all their releases from 1967 to 1972, it's beautifully made. At times, they managed to make three-minute songs sound like symphonies. For me, however, this is nowhere near their best album. I rate its predecessor ('On The Threshold Of A Dream') and the three following it ('A Question Of Balance', 'Every Good Boy Deserves Favour' and 'Seventh Sojourn') much higher. My reason is that the raw material is inferior to their usual standard. There is a dearth of killer songs. 'Gypsy', 'Eternity Road' and my favourite here, 'Candle Of Life' are superb. The first half of the album, however, is less impressive. Sure, 'Eyes Of A Child' and 'Floating' are couched in pretty arrangements, but are lyrically cliched (e.g. 'Free as a bird'). In addition, Mike Pinder's 'Sun Is Still Shining' is a tentative effort which revives the Eastern flavour so self-consciously out of place on 'In Search Of The Lost Chord'. I like 'To Our Children's Children's Children', but would not recommend starting a Moody Blues collection with it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
It's easy to forget how creative the Moodies were, with a succession of great albums. This is one of them, with effective remastering and bonus tracks. Very worthwhile, so buy now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
Moody Blues have done it again, another great concept album, with tracks that tell a story. Another one to have in your collection
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
I bought this CD to complement the other Moody Blues CDs I have Exceptional listening and underlines how good Tha Moody Blues are.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
The Moodies are so good to return to time after time! One of their best albums too. If you are a Moodies fan - this is for you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here