Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2013
Although the Product Dimensions are stated (albeit slightly incorrectly), I wasn't really prepared for how small this excellent kit would be. More accurate dimensions might be 12cm x 4cm x 8.5cm (around 4½ins x 1½ins x 3ins), but that's still tiny! It's less than a handful - take a look at my photo.

The kit's contents don't seem to be fully stated anywhere, so I've added a photo of them and here's a list of how much is in the little red pack:

- 1 x pair of large vinyl examination gloves
- 2 x hygienic cleansing wipes
- 1 x 5ml syringe
- 2 x 2ml syringes
- 1 x 19G 1½", 1.1 x 40mm hypodermic needle*
- 2 x 21G 1½" Nr.2, 0.8 x 40mm hypodermic needles*
- 2 x 23G 1¼" Nr.14, 0.6 x 30mm hypodermic needles*
- 1 x scalpel (with a thumb-sized handle)

*I've no idea what all numbers mean, but guess there are different uses and that a medical practitioner given the kit would know which one was needed.

All the above are in individual sterile packaging. Most have an expiry date on them - mine, received in January 2013, showed early-2017 dates so should be okay for the next four years at least. They're mostly made in Spain (the scalpel in India) and the outer packaging of some conveniently carries details of the contents in more than one language. There's also a little sterility information card and a primary care guide. The latter, in English and French, gives guidance on what you should do in an emergency - I suggest you and your travelling companions read it beforehand, just in case!

You should carry this kit on or about your person while abroad - it's small and light enough for your pocket, camera bag or handbag. Whatever you do, don't leave it in your hotel room!

Also, I'd strongly recommend that you don't put it in your cabin luggage on flights - it contains hypodermic needles and is likely to be confiscated by security staff.

My final recommendation: buy it - but hope you don't need to use it!
review image review image
33 comments| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
Just nice to know you have this kit if you travel to places where the availability of sterile items might be doubtful. Nice and small and lightweight so easy to carry with you everywhere - and please do, even if just visiting the local market, you never know when an accident might occur and the kit is no use to you if kept at hotel, but for a woman a big handbag will hold this easily with everything else, and for a man, will not add much weight to a backpack. I would take it everywhere, you never know in this day and age, you might be in a great country but they have a disaster or epidemic and sterilised equiptment is in great demand, so by having your own there is no strain on the health resources and you have peace of mind knowing bloods can be taken, injections given, even a small operation done with your own sterile equipment.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2011
The product arrived quickly and contained all that was stated in fantastic condition. It is light and compact so great for air travel. All inside was sealed and it has really put my mind at rest to know that if the worst were to happen in Egypt that i would have hygenic assistance for a true emergency. Naturally, you would need professional help, but great to know that pain relief can be given or blood tests taken if i fell ill for any reason.
Thankyou for a great service.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
This is a nice small kit that contains the sterile bits you might need while away in a country where you can't trust them to have sterile equipment. Nice and compact, so you can carry it with you all the time. Doesn't conatin any other first aid supplies though.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
Took three - four weeks to arrive ( I lost count)
Product fine, but had bought it as a leaving gift for someone going travelling and it did not arrive in time. Ended up having to buy a second gift.
Do not buy if you need promptly, go to a shop.

The product is great though, small and compact. I will now use it myself when I go to Africa latter this year.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
If you want to travel with your backpack, where you do not trust local sterile products, this is the kit for you.. Great for minor problems.. If you are hurt bad, this will not be sufficient though.. Light and small to carry everywhere.
Satisfied, but thought it would contain more items.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
It had been recommended that I take a sterile pack of needles and syringes in case of emergency as I am visiting an under- developed country. I was surprised at how small the pack is but that's great-as it is to be carried with me at all times until it is needed- and then it is to be handed over to a health professional. As it is to remain sealed -only then will I know whether it is a good product!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2009
We bought this for a trip the The Gambia and it has everything you would need if you were injured and wanted to make sure the kit used on you was safe and sterile. You have to remember to take it with you everywhere, though. It's no good back in your room if you're injured in a car accident. We got back fine with no incidents though.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Light and compact, contains everything you need for that unexpected medical emergency including peace of mind in a less well equipped hospital than the UK.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
Small enough to carry everywhere just to be on the safe side when travelling to remote location, light and very portable!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)