Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
24


on 14 July 2017
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2015
Great album...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2017
Top notch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2013
I have had this album for a LONG time never played it

despite seeing them live and loving 59 sound and american slang etc

I actually think this is stronger than handwritten

The reason it has remained unplayed was I foolishly assumed being their first it would somehow fail to deliver.. particularly when their recent album contains a lot of filler.

well there are a lot of great tunes on here and the album seems to flow beautifully from song to song... the first two songs very catchy and especially strong

great vocals. A must have
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 December 2013
If you are a fan of any of the Gaslight Anthem's later work, you need to get this record. I got into them just after Handwritten had come out, but starting by listening to Great Expectations and The '59 Sound, and then snapped this up because when I love an artist (and I swiftly fell for Gaslight) I want to have their whole collection. This album is great, and includes arguably my favourite Gaslight Anthem song.

The sound is - as debut albums often are - more raw and less polished than their later albums, but it contains some characteristically superb lyrics and the edge that comes from it being their first release makes it exciting to listen to.

For many people 1930 is the classic, and that was the only song from this record that they played when I saw them earlier this year, but my favourite is the opener, Boomboxes and Dictionaries, which has truly spectacular lyrics, full of depth and soul, and growled over the top of simple but driving guitar. But there are other highlights, too, including the stripped back 'The Navesink Banks'.

There are echoes of Springsteen in the lyrics, but for me the Gaslight Anthem don't really sound like the Boss. And whilst plenty of people will say they aren't breaking any new ground, that's never been that important to me. What is important is that they feel like a proper band, writing great songs and singing great words. If you're thinking of getting into the band, you could do worse than start here, although I'd probably recommend getting The '59 Sound first.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2010
An excellent album, but to get the best out of it, put it on your stereo in your car and drive around. this is music made for driving and to be heard live. Same with the 59 sound and american slang, each album brimming with fast paced, sing out loud songs.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2008
The Gaslight Anthem are getting a lot of press right now,and rightly so.
Their latest album "The 59 Sound" getting rave reviews everywhere and yes it is very good,but dig a little deeper and check out this earlier release.It is SUPERB...Guitars and drums and some of the best sing along tunes I`ve heard in ages. If you`ve heard "The 59 Sound" you`ll love this,if you haven`t......believe the hype,buy it,hear it,love it.The futures bright for these New Jersey punks................
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2013
The Gaslight Anthem... Absolutely outstanding! Brilliant album, but be warned... once you listen to one song, you listen to the rest, over and over and you will have to buy all other albums!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2012
i like the gaslight anthem a lot and this is a good album, a bit more of a raw, old sound but the sound of the band is great. the songs are full of passion and the singers voice is awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2014
Saw them live supporting The Killers - they were excellent, so I bought their first album and I'm not disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Get Hurt
Handwritten
£5.99
The '59 Sound [VINYL]
£17.91
American Slang [VINYL]
£10.99
Senor & the Queen Ep
£11.83

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)