Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
34
4.3 out of 5 stars
Tha Carter III
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 April 2008
It would be unfair to make a proper review of the album until i hear it, but here are some of the magazines views of the album coming out in America:

"...most important hip hop album of decade."
Rolling Stone

"He's The perfect artist to own this time - the best rapper alive. Hear! Hear!"
VIBE MAGAZINE November Issue

"The 1 most anticipated record of the year"
XXL MAGAZINE

Need i say anymore! "The Best Rapper Alive is back"
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2009
This is terrible!!!!! Lil Wayne is so awful, I can't believe so many ppl like him, his voice is just irrating, this ******* needs to retire from music, because he is killing hip hop!!!!! Forget Lil Wayne if you want good hip hop/rap ablums, then buy The Game, Eminem, DMX, Tupac ect, buy something worth your money, Lil Wayne is a waste of time!!!!
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2008
First off this album aint boreing,its exellent wayne has really come on since his last album,the production is exellent and wayne's lyrics are dope,i love every track but for me 2 tracks stand out the most (TIE MY HANDS and SHOOT ME DOWN)really tight tracks and definetly one of the hottest albums this year,the only rappers i think can top this is NAS/THE GAME OR DRE thats if he ever brings out DETOX.So this is a must for rap fans PEACE.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2012
This was the first lil wayne album i purchesd and this album did not disappoint. i love nearly every song on this album. I prefer this album better than the carter iv album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
Lil Wayne has shown his lyrical ability in this album if your a Lil Wayne fan, then you will Love Tha Carter 3 more than any of his other albums!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2008
A powerful rich white man sits in his leather chair atop his huge music empire. Prising a Cuban cigar from his mouth, he smiles as he approaches the young black man who has just entered his office. The young black man awkwardly accepts the rich white man's offer of a handshake. The white man excitedly urges the young black man to sit down. His excitement increases upon the sight of the loose-fitting apparel and silver chain donned by the young black man.

"So how are you going to make us richer?" the powerful white man asks, aroused now as he notices a bullet scar on the left side of the young black man's neck.

"Well, I want my lyrics to inspire kids to stay clear of guns, drugs and violen..."

"Get out."

The next day, the same powerful, rich white man is smoking his cigar. Another young black man enters the building. Awkwardly dressed in a suit, the rich white man offers a less-than-enthusiastic handshake. The young black man seems uneasy with the gesture, but eventually unfolds his arms and reaches out his left hand. The rich white man surveys the black man, noting with dismay a lack of scars. He asks the same question as they both sit down.

"So how are you going to make us richer?"

The young black man thinks for awhile, before answering:

"Well, I want to rap about bitches and killing niggas and shi..."

"I'll have you on MTV this afternoon."

The sad fact is, record company execs do not want to distribute to the mainstream audience hip-hop that is thought-provoking and intelligent, free of violence, doused with hope. Those artists that do convey such a message are relegated to smaller labels or merely recieve limited exposure. The argument that they are simply supplying to the demand of their audience is not a valid one. These people have the power and influence to control what the audience demands. Were labels, radio and music-channels to continually expose the likes of Common, Immortal Technique, Lyrics Born, Atmosphere, Talib Kweli, The Roots, Jurassic 5, Blackalicious, Nas etc. to the same extent that they do the likes of Soulja Boy or Lil Wayne, there is no doubt that the audience's demands would change.

Unfortunately, that is not, and possibly never will be, the case. Instead of offering young kids positive role models, inspiring aspirations that do not involve bitches, guns and violence, the people with the power continue to put their backing into illiterate dumb thugs. We don't want to see black people as intelligent and inspirational! No, we want them to continue appearing as violent and uneducated, as a threat to our society.

This guy Lil Wayne is just another example of this racist mechanism that continues to pump out mind-numbingly awful black musicians. He has the lyrical writing ability of a 5-year old; lines about bitches and not being "no homo" are constantly ended with swear words, such is his inability to rhyme properly. The generic Southern beats do nothing to set him apart from his equally-moronic peers Lil Jon and T-Pain. Yet, he recieves the exposure and all the hype. That this album could even be considered the finest of the year, a year in which sees Nas return to form with his incredible Unitled album, simply highlights how widespread this problem has become.

Hip-Hop is not dead. Behind the morons parading on TV with their bling-out teeth, intelligible lyrics and booty-shaking "ho's", there is a huge base of intelligent, conscious rappers. Hip-hop is alive and well; unfortunately those that continue to breathe new life into it are cast aside, labelled "left-field" and "underground", ignored by the powerful rich white people who define the demands of a dumbed-down generation. You can help however by ignoring this terrible artist and his ilk, and searching for the aforementioned talents that are so abundant within this genre. Good music does not have to remain underground.
2424 Comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2015
Poor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
Phat
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)