Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
38
4.5 out of 5 stars
Live In Chicago (DVD Only) [2006]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£13.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 July 2010
Having already bought the Fleetwood Mac DVD, 'The Dance' which is absolutely brilliant, I wasn't quite sure what to expect from Stevie on her own so to speak. I needn't have worried, as she is absolutely brilliant on this live DVD. A tremendous backing group including Waddy Wachtel on lead guitar and her long time backing 'girls' all combine with Stevie to make this a visual and audio delight. I wont list all the numbers but they are all performed with such enthusiasm and energy it is hard to believe that Stevie is the age she is. She may not be able to hit some of the higher notes that she could in the past, but that voice is still unique and absolutely unforgetable, and she seems to get more beautiful as the years go by. A superb album/DVD! Make sure you have it in your collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
a great concert of stevie songs old and new. You get to know her a little better here and the songs old and new are excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2017
Sound quality could be better but as a fan a nice evenings escapeism
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2017
I like it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Great DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
Very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
very slick performance
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
NOT QUITE WHAT I WAS EXPECTING,BUT OVERALL NOT A BAD CONCERT CONSIDERING IT WAS ONLY A SMALL VENUE WITH NOT THAT MANY PEOPLE,BUT I WAS STILL SATISFIED WITH STEVIE NICKS VOCALS ON MOST TRACKS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
Stevie Nicks has one of the most unique and instantly recognisable voices in music. She also has a very distinct style, both musically and in her choice of attire. She's one of those artists who inspires mindless adoration in some and mindless hatred in others. This DVD is... pretty good.

The setlist is an almost perfect summary of both her solo career and her time with Fleetwood Mac though it obviously doesn't include anything of her latest album In Your Dreams which is superb. The songs are played brilliantly and powerfully and you get a real contrast of moods and energy from the explosive Stand Back to the beautiful and moving Landslide which she dedicates to her late father.

She is getting old and her voice has changed quite a bit. It's very obvious in songs like Sara that the key has been lowered and she struggles in places to hit high notes. Her voice has also taken on a much more gravelly texture which does change the songs a bit. That being said, every song is adapted to fit her voice yet retains its original power and I for one, quite like the result.

One thing that slightly bothers me is that, this being from an American tv show, the show constantly stops and starts due to the presence of adverts in the original broadcast. At times this ruins the flow but Stevie Nicks uses these breaks to run offstage and change clothes so she can make another dramatic entrance which is fun.

All in all, a very enjoyable DVD and a good introduction for someone who's not sure where to start with regards to the music of a musical legend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2009
This dvd is great. As I a die hard Stevie fan I think this is awesome! It is the only live solo DVD since the 1985 Red Rocks and it is well worth the wait. The band is great - so good to see Waddy Wachtel (lead guitarist) and Lori and Sharon (backing vocalists) are still creating the music with her after all these years. I love the solo versions of the Fleetwood Mac classics here - she seems to have much more freedom in her solo performances. To any stevie fan this is a must and to any new comers I am sure they will be pleasantly surprised that at the age of 60 she definitely still has it!!!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)