Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
8
Skeletons
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.00+ £1.26 shipping


on 15 December 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2013
Want to start with the product itself. The jewel case was cracked and the hinge had broken off completely, not sure whether it was due to rough postage service or if It came like it. The album itself has some good tracks on it. With 'Gimme Gimme Bloodshed' and 'Put Your Death Mask On' being my personal favourites. But there is alot of filler and not much killer. A few of the songs on this album sound like demos to completed tracks on the 'Women and Children Last' album by Murderdolls. Not bad, but not his best album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2008
well as a long time wednesday 13 fan i was highly excited about this album as it has been described by the good mr 13 himself as taking a more personal approach to the song writting to reflect certain tribulations he has faced over the past few years. so without further hesitation lets take a closer look shall we?...

the album kicks in with "scream baby scream" any wednesday fan will feel at home this is classic wednesday 13 at his best, same with the next few tracks "not another teenage anthem" the fantastic "gimmie, gimmie bloodshed" and the rest of the tracks flow in the same vein until we hit the albums title track, "skeletons" and this is where wednesday takes us on a new type of ride, this and the dark, twisted masterpiece that is "my demise" really show the inner deamons he is trying to confront and exercise through the music and its quite refreshing to hear this level of honesty in wednesdays music instead of just the usual horror themes (not that they were ever bad). then we come onto "with friends like these" which is a snarling punk rock stomper seething with anger and venom, its apparent this is aimed at someone or someones in particular that have burned a bridge or two with mr 13!! the next track "no rabbit in the hat" is probably my favorite on the album its a typical wednesday 13 song saying a big FU to any haters out there and that he is just doing what he wants with no tricks up his sleeve. the album then goes on to close on a high with the awesome "all american massacre" and "dead carolina"

all in all this is by far the heaviest wednesday 13 release to date but also his best. every song would be killer live and theres no filler what so ever. i would recommend this to any wednesday fan new or old and infact to anyone that appreciates a good well written rock album. my album of the year so far without a question! so go buy it...NOW!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2008
Let's start by saying this album really isn't as dark and heavy as it's made out to be. Everyone's been saying how it shows Wednesday's battle with depression and stuff but the fact is, like his earlier work, this is still upbeat and easy to listen to. In fact it strips out some of the dodgier aspects of his other songs by removing death-related innuendos and the like. But make no mistake, this is still a morbid album; all the songs relate back to his humourous obsession with death and dying (and the dead?).

The track "My Demise" marks the biggest change in Wednesday's sound; the dark, slow sound hinted at in the song "Transylvania 90210" really manifests here in a self destructive ballad that is the 'Wednesday pouring out his emotion' effort. It's great to hear something with feeling that also incorporates a horror theme, melding the two cleanly together, but without overshadowing the album with a depressing tone.

In terms of music, this isn't any heavier than "Transylvania..." or "Fang Bang", it's just the same glam influenced heavy metal. Many reviews make it sound like a hardcore death or thrash album but its still melodic and fun to listen to.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2008
Skeletons is the third album released by Wednesday 13 on his solo career. This album was released entirely on Mr. 13's own back from his pocket and distributed by DDR2 Records in the UK. His new album is much more personal than previous albums and while still carrying the same puns laughs and ghouls, it is definatly darker and heavier than previous rleases.

The horror punk album lives up to what has being told by Wednesday himself it truly is mcuh more serious and has a much stronger influence. Tales of mishap relationships, hauntings from past memories and the occasional family cannibal roast all mix up to give a perfectly balanced album from this amazing band and the instrumentals match the new heavier darker style perfectly with the same mix of heavy drums and snappy solos.

Overall this is my favourite album to date released by Mr. 13 (ssecond only to Murderdolls-Beyond the Valley of the Murderdolls) and is deifnatly worth paying for! I woudl like to remind you that he paid for this himself! It would be good if you showed your support by actualy buying the album
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2012
by far my favourite wednesday album. not as dark as the others but still bouncy and in a way darkly humerous. love "from here to the hearse" darkly comical, brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2008
My boyfriend brought this album for himself while seeing Wednesday in Leicester's "The Charlotte". We have been hooked on it ever since.

I love the fact Wednesday has brought all his stuff out of the closet, and laid it bare for everyone to see. Only way to get through I think.

Anyone who loves W13 will love this album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2012
what an awsome cd this has nin/rammstein infulunce on it with the guitars the way he has put the songs together love wed 13 this one a very gd cd .ive listerned to it 3 times in a row fx awsome .his voice is still amazing .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Condolences
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)