Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
69
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 August 2008
For once you can! Following their Kerrang interview a few weeks ago, i was a bit sceptical about the 'next big thing' but checked out their myspace page anyway and i was glad i did. No music has moved me this much in years. Every word out of Brian Fallon's mouth drips with passion, heart and soul, like every word could be his last.

It may not be original (does anyone make anything original these days anyway?), it follows Springsteen's template of telling tales of small town folk, their (and indeed Fallon's) tales of love, loss and discovery. Indeed TGA's sound comes on like the young Springsteen fronting Jimmy Eat World or even The Killers (with added balls).

Every song is played to perfection, hooks to die for, never outstaying their welcome. It's Emo music that is actually emotional and not about identikit haircuts or music vids that are more like mobile phone adverts. This band plays music because they want to, need to, because that's all they have.

Check it out, let yourself be transported to a world offramp diners, seaside boardwalks and 50's Chevys racing down the street. Album of the year by a galatic lightyear.
22 Comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2016
A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2016
Great album by a great band. The colour vinyl adds to the experience of listening to this album.
Deserves 5star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2016
Birthday present ,well liked
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Gaslight Anthem's second album 'The '59 Sound' was on my list of the albums to buy almost as soon as it was released five years ago. I was going to get it purely on the strength of the title track which I discovered on the 'Best of 2008' compilation CD that was given away by 'Classic Rock' magazine. I played that song to death, but never got round to actually buying the album until today, after recently hearing more tracks from it on Spotify.

With two more albums released since then, The Gaslight Anthem have gone from strength to strength and I rediscovered them recently after seeing their latest release 'Handwritten' high in the UK charts. But I do wish that I'd purchased this album sooner.

The title track will always been my favourite, but the whole album is perfect. It's one of those rare releases that actually sounds better every time you play it (and I've already played it six times). I love Bruce Springstein's music, and you can certainly hear his influence on every track, as well as punk and vintage American classic rock. The story-telling songs are strong, hard rocking, uplifting and inspirational, with none of them particularly outshining each other as they are all consistently good.

Don't wait as long as I did to purchase 'The 59 Sound' - believe the many five star reviews on here and buy it!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`The 59 Sound' is another storming album from New Jersey boys The Gaslight Anthem. On this album you get a selection of short, punchy tracks that can't help but put a smile on your face and leave you feeling uplifted. It's simple, good rock music that lives up to the legacy of New Jersey musicianship. There are a few Springsteen references on this album that fans of his will notice and will produce a wry smile. The title track stands out, as does `The Backseat' but to be honest there aren't any dud tracks on this album and although it is short, it manages to pack song after song of great music in. Top riff after riff and hook after hook will keep you coming back for more and this makes for one highly recommended album indeed.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2009
This album is exceptional. The music drips with nostalgia, and the lead singer has a raw voice that he manages to control and keep in check, whilst sounding passionate and completely sincere. The reviewer who said he can't sing is missing the point, the lead singer sounds like a young Bruce Springsteen, so is he too incapable of singing? If all you desire from music is pitch-perfect vocals then go look elsewhere.
If you want uplifting music that rocks hard and with genuine honesty and musicianship, then look no further. There's no weak tracks but there's also little variety. The style and structure of the songs remains mostly consistent but when it all sounds this life-affirming, melodic and catchy then who cares?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2008
Gaslight Anthem are a band I was not aware of until the EP they released before this. Over 4 songs they perfect the pop/punk/soul combination in effortless style. Proving that this was certainly not a fluke, Gaslight come up trumps on their 2nd album. All the tracks here have great melodies, and massive hooks. The general feel is one of uplifting, even if some of the lyrics have melancholic overtones.

In an age where a good pop song is often eschewed in favour of funny time signatures/weird chords, it's great to see a band take the simple pop formula and give it a new lease of life.

This is a quite brilliant album that demands repeat plays.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2009
I believe a really classic album takes time to evolve into just that - great. Like it first time of listening and you'll soon get bored - not so this album. Its been in my car for two months now and the songs just keep getting better. Fallon's voice is superb, the lyrics the best I've heard since Springsteen's early work. Put quite simply this is the best album I have heard in years. Although the 59 Sound is a real rocking track and clearly a commercial single to be had, the outright winner for me just for the lyrics is Miles Davis and the Cool which blows me away. You Tube Brian Fallon and listen to his acoustic versions from this album - I am so looking forward to many years of seeing this young talent develop - Cant wait!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.99
£5.99
£7.99
£2.75

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)