Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
168
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 27 June 2008
Ok first off yes this can be seen as a con re-releasing an album but for me i had not bought the original album of Good Girl Gone Bad and im sure others have not either so im going to do a proper review on the album and not saying its a con etc

Ok so whats different about the album you ask? 3 new songs:

Take a bow
Disturbia
If i never see your face again

All amazing songs in my opinion! My fave being Disturbia out of them, great dance song and very catchy i was hooked to it from first listen!

You get 16 songs on this album:

Umbrella:
Lets face it everyone has heard this song with it being number 1 for 10 weeks! Its still a great song but not the best on the album! 8/10

Push Up On Me:
I did not like this song at first, but it grew on me, it has a great 'boom boom' beat and a catchy chorus 8/10

Don't Stop The Music:
One of my fave songs on the album! Opens greatly with an awesome beat, and all together is catchy! Great dance song 9/10

Breakin Dishes:
This song has attitude!
Another song with a catchy chorus, has great synths (used mainly in chorus) and beats in it
8.5/10

Shut up and drive:
First off this should not have been released as the second single in my opinion
It is more of a rock song this, which i dont mind and has a catchy chorus but is not worthy for to be a single in my opinion
8/10

Hate That I Love You:
A duet with Neyo, and what a great one it is!
Very catchy and was worthy of being a single
9/10

Say it:
Worse song on the album!
its awful in my opinion i skip it always!
4/10

Sell Me Candy:
I do not personally like the verses of this song but the Chorus is very catchy and saves the song!
This is the shortest song on the album with it only being 2:46 long
7.5/10

Lemme Get That:
This song is another song i do not like, ill admit i like the beat and its slightly catchy but it does not compare to the rest of the album
6/10

Rehab:
One of the standout songs on the album, very R&B!
Awesome chorus! a proper R&B song!
9/10

Question Existing:
This song is kind of dull, its catchy but is boring at the same time, nothing changes barely through the whole song and the effect on Rihannas voice ruins the song, although the beat is good, sounds like it should be the last song on the album to be honest
6/10

Good Girl Gone Bad:
Another R&B song which is just nearly as good as Rehab but not quite
8.5/10

Cry (UK Bonus Track):
Another standout song!
Fantastic vocals!
10/10

Disturbia:
Amazing song! My fave!
Awesome Beat and very catchy!
10/10

Take a bow:
Another great song, did not like this at all at first but it grew on me
great song
8.5/10

If i never see your face again:
Duet with Maroon 5 singer
Another great song! Catchy
8/10

As you can see i can not really vary much on what to say about the songs using the word 'Catchy' alot but they are! and i see an album that has so many catchy songs, to be a great album!

I'll admit her voice does sound like it has lots of effects on it on most songs, but thats not a problem to me, its still a great album even though were not really hearing her real voice.
Of course if you have the original album do not buy this even though the extra songs are great and are some of the standout songs on the album, but its just not worthy and just download them instead or something.

So here is a proper review on the Reloaded album for people that did not buy the original album like me.
11 comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 September 2008
The original version of Good Girl Gone Bad is a great RnB album with some catchy pop hooks and great beats. The singles such as Umbrella and Don't Stop The Music are obviously standout tracks, and Rihanna's shown off a very soulful side on tracks such as Rehab and Cry.

The problem is that this re-release (as with most re-releases) is NOT worth owning if you already bought the original, as most of Rihanna's fans will have. Having to purchase an entire album again for the sake of three tracks - however good those three tracks are - is just a waste of money. You'd be much better off downloading the extra tracks from iTunes or somewhere for a couple of pounds instead of forking out for the entire album again. If you count it up, there have now been no less than 7 singles released from this album and it's being stretched to breaking point - which is a shame, because the original album was a great piece of work and doesn't deserve to be beaten to death for a cash in.

Thus my two star rating is based on the lack of value in this re-release rather than the music itself. If you've yet to succumb to the charms of Good Girl Gone Bad then this album IS worth a purchase and three extra tracks will actually be beneficial for you - but in the case of Rihanna's fans this feels like a bit of a rip off.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2009
This contains the same songs as good girl gone bad reloaded so if you have that, don't buy this. If your new to the album, buy it. Every single song on the album is amazing and the bonus dvd lasts 30 mins and contains 4 live songs which are very good to watch. For the price this album is a steal. Buy :D
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2008
this was actually the first rihanna album that i bought, and im soo glad that i waited for the rloaded edition. its a totally developed sound that has some really good tracks, and each song brings something different. its a good listen!!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 June 2007
Rihanna may have Guyanese roots, but it's not a case of national pride that leads me to a five star rating for this album. This girl just keeps getting better, livening up the dog days of summer with hot hits for hot nights and days. This album can spawn perhaps six singles, and the rest aren't bad either.

Mega single "Umbrella" already has people walking down the road singing "ella ella eh eh eh eh eh eh" which sounds weird unless you can do a Bajan accent, but you just can't help singing it anyway.

The dance tracks alone are worth the price of the album, with songs like "Don't Stop the Music", where Michael Jackson blends with a Madonna type beat. (Can you say "Mamasay mamasa mamakusa"?) Other tracks to note are the revenge themed "Breaking Dishes", and the alt rock/electronic track and second single "Shut Up and Drive" co-written by the guys from New Order.

For mid tempo fans, there are the Timbaland tracks "Sell Me Candy" and the reggae/rap "Lemme Get That" plus the title track.

For fans of her slower jams, there's "Hate That I Love You" featuring Ne-Yo who also co-wrote the track, and the single-ready "Rehab", another Timbaland track co-written by and featuring Justin Timberlake.

Combining hip hop, electro-pop, reggae, lover's rock and R&B, Rihanna may just be the hottest export from Barbados in recent times. Highly recommended.

Amanda Richards
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2007
Rihanna's Third Debut album "Good Girl Gone Bad" is a Amazing Album, I bought it 2 weeks ago, and i have not stopped listening to it since..This is one album in my collection I Love...Instead of Rihanna sticking with her original music (Reggae, Dancehall, R&B) which i also love, she has changed alot on this album, and she did a fantastic Job!....Here is what i think below, of what tracks i enjoyed...

1.Umbrella (Featuring.Jay-Z)(10/10) - One of the greatest songs on her album and definatley In History, I Love this Song, I keep listening to it everyday, I Think I Will, when i am about 30 or something..This song is about when something goes wrong in life , you will always have this person next to you, who will care about you...he/she will be the Umbrella, if your a bit down...

2.Push Up On Me (9/10) - Another great song on the album,this is one dance/trance tune, which will get you dancing if you put it on real looud...This song, is about this guy, she just met and she wants him to push up on her..

3.Don't Stop The Music (10/10) - I Adore this song soo much! this is one of those songs where you will listen to in clubs! Hopefully if they play it...(Better then Push Up On Me) but i still love them both....(another dance/trance track)...this song is about going to a club, as she finds someone to dance with, and she realises she likes him to much, that she wants to take him away within the music....

4.Breakin' Dishes (8/10) - This song, is not to bad, It is okay, there is nothing wrong with the song, but in this song, you can tell straight away looking at the title, that "Rihanna" is pissed off and mad. her boyfriend or whatever has been out until 3:30..and she is doing all sorts of mad stuff such as, Breakin' Dishes, Fighting with Men, Burning Marshmellows, Bleaching his clothes etc...This song is where Rihanna is well pisseddd off!(Stay Away from Rihanna)! lool, i would listen to this song to if i was mad, just listen to the lyrics...."I'm breakin' dishes up in here, all night, i am not going to stop, until i see police lights...."

i also like the bit where she says "I don't know who you think i am"....another great song, and this song is more like a Pop/R&B Style...

5.Shut Up & Drive (8/10) - This is another good song, i am starting to like it, this style is more R&B/Pop/Rock...

6.Hate That I Love You (Featuring.Ne-Yo) (8/10) - This is soo Ne-Yo Style, he obviosuly produced it, this is one great song to...I love it, this is more R&B style...

7.Say It (4/10) - I don't know where Rihanna went with this song, I didn't like it, (but im sure others do) this is an R&B song to, who knows? i might grow to like it..

8.Sell Me Candy (10/10) - I LOVE THIS SONG! this song has one proper beat to it, and i love it, the style for this song is more of a R&B style..and at the beginingg im sure you can here japanese/chinese geisha music.....but the song is very good...it also gets you in the mood for the summer...

9.Lemme Get That (10/10) - Again, another great song, I am sure you can hear Mr.Justin Timberlake on this track,singing the chorous with Rihanna, its cool, I Love it...this style of music is more Reggae & R&B...this song also gets you in the mood for summer..

10.Rehab (10/10) - this song is second best, after Umbrella.. this song is an amazing concoction! Justin Timberlake produced it and wrote it for Rihanna..its got the same style like "What Goes Around..Comes Around"...but i still admire it, the lyrics are amazing, i love the way she says "Your the reason why i am thinking, i don't want to smoke on these cigarretes no more, i guess this is what i get for wishfull thinking, should have never let you enter my door"...."it's like i checked into Rehab, and baby your my disease".......if you think the lyrics are Amazing so is the song....this style of music is more like an R&B style....

11.Question Existing (7/10) - This song, is more about Rihanna herself, if you listen to the llyrics nearer to the end, you get to listen to Rihanna speak her own mind...she starts of by saying "Dear Diary, Its Robyn...." and finishes the song off, i like it...

12.Good Girl Gone Bad (9/10) - This style of music sounds like "Beyonce's Irreplaceable"...its another R&B tune and its admirable...I like it...its about how men dont treat women right, if they dont get treated right, the women will turn bad...(LOL)...

13.Cry (UK Bonus Track) (10/10) - This song shows Rihanna's true talent nearer to the end...its R&B style again.. and its Amazing....

Rihanna has worked really hard on this new album of her's and her music is getting better and better....if you have bought her 2 previous albums (MUSIC OF THE SUN and A GIRL LIKE ME) get this album...you will love it, i did..

once you hear the album, !!!!BE WARNED!!!!...you will NOT STOP listening to it because the beauty of the album cleary shows!

i bet you will have it on REPLAY for the next couple of weeks....

Ravi x

WELL DONE RIHANNA...
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2007
Love this album.

1. Umbrella (ft. Jay-Z) 10/10
Well, you already know what this is about, an absolute MEGA-hit and for good reason too.

2. Push Up On Me 8/10
A funky lil pop/electro number - not as good as Umbrella, but displaying Rihanna's new musical direction.

3. Don't Stop The Music 10/10
An excellent dance tune that'll have you dancing and singing along, plus there's a great Michael Jackson sample in there too.

4. Breakin' Dishes 9.5/10
Another fantastic song, really catchy hook and kick-ass lyrics.

5. Shut Up And Drive 8.5/10
A great rock song, have you singing along as well - second single from the album.

6. Hate That I Love You (ft. Ne-Yo) 9/10
A fantastic ballad featuring Ne-Yo's amazing voice, the two compliment each other very well.

7. Say It 6/10
By all means not a bad song, but this slightly-boring mid-tempo tune sounds quite mediocre compared to the rest of the belters.

8. Sell Me Candy 10/10
LOVE this song. Very funky and unique, and the guy in the chorus is amazing - listen and you'll see what I mean.

9. Lemme Get That 7/10
Rihanna goes back to a "Music Of The Sun" kind of sound with this one. Not bad, but not great either.

10. Rehab 9/10
Another Timbaland produced song, and this is a great guitar-ballad about love, Rihanna's voice sounds amazing on this.

11. Question Existing 6/10
Has the potential to be OK, but this song and it's futuristic beats never really seem to go anywhere.

12. Good Girl Gone Bad 9.5/10
Fantastic guitar ballad, sounds a bit like "Irreplaceable" with a great chorus.

13. Cry (UK Bonus Track) 9.5/10
Absolutely beautiful. Sounds a lot like Unfaithful, with Rihanna's voice being the main instrument in this tune.

All in all, BUY IT!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2011
Rihanna's third album marks a change of style for the singer. Her first two albums had been well-recieved, with huge singles like 'S.O.S' and 'Pon De Replay' and reggae-influenced fillers, but it was this album that catapulted Rihanna from pop-star to superstar. It's sleaker and more polished than the previous two albums, with production by big names like Timbaland and Ne-Yo, and the songs are perfectly crafted pop-hits suited to Rihanna's vocal style.

01. Umbrella - ft Jay-Z. - The first and biggest single from the album, and quickly became Rihanna's signature song. It stayed at #1 for weeks and is Rihanna's biggest single to date. With a rap-intro by Jay-Z and a catchy chorus it kicks off the album with a bang.
02. Push Up On Me - An electronica inspired beat sampling a Lionel Richie song, a fast, club-hit song.
03. Don't Stop The Music - Another huge hit, sampling Michael Jackson's 'Wanna Be Startin' Somethin' chant. A great dance beat and sing-along chorus make it one of the most memorable songs on the album.
04. Breakin Dishes - A angry female-empowerment song with lyrics like 'I'm breakin' dishes over here all night, I ain't gon' stop til I see police lights' over a punchy, rock-tinged track.
05. Shut Up and Drive - A pop/rock song that samples New Order, a top #5 hit for Rihanna.
06. Hate That I Love You - ft Ne-Yo - A slick, RnB duet with singer Ne-Yo. One of the standout tracks on the album.
07. Say It - Midtempo old-school feel pop song in the style of Aaliyah or Ashanti - wouldn't sound out of place on one of her first two albums.
08. Sell Me Candy - Timbaland produced song, has a nice summer feel and good beat.
09. Lemme Get That - The second song on the album produced by Timbaland, with an eastern-influenced beat over a dancehall beat.
10. Rehab - A real standout track, an RnB beat with rock-tinged guitars and backing vocals by superstar Justin Timberlake.
11. Question Existing - Electronica trance-style track with Rihanna's vocals treated to give it a robotic-feeling.
12. Good Girl Gone Bad - Another RnB flavour song with a good chorus.
BONUS TRACKS.
13. Cry
14. Disturbia - A dark but energetic pop-song and one of Rihanna's best vocals. A huge hit in 2008.
15. Take A Bow - A slow RnB ballad, another #1 single.
16. If I Never See Your Face Again - ft Maroon 5 - A rock/pop/electronica duet that was a sleeper hit. A very good but overlooked track.

BONUS DVD.
A half-hour dvd that gives a behind the scenes glimpse of Rihanna's Good Girl Gone Bad World Tour, featuring four full length performances of 'Umbrella', 'Breakin Dishes', 'Hate That I Love You' and 'Push Up On Me'.

Some won't like the departure from the frothy-pop of Rihanna's first two albums, but this album showcases Rihanna at her most-creative and lets her display a variety of styles that will fit most people's tastes.
A really good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
I have heard a lot of Rihanna tracks over the radio and the tracks I have heard I loved. I have a rule, if I like 3 tracks I tend to buy or download the cd. I looked at all of Rihanna's realeases and plumpt for Good Girl Gone Bad. The cd arrived promptly and I eagerly played it. Unfortunately, I became quite bored and was relieved when it finished playing. I left it a few days and replayed it again and again but the bored feeling remained. I even became bored of the tracks I was familiar with.One for the charity shop sadly. It makes me wonder if Rihanna has the staying power or 5 years from now a vague memory... I hope not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 May 2007
Forget about the single, it tells you nothing about the whole album.

Honestly I don't understand why they let one of the weakest songs in the album to be the lead single!

Well maybe it's all due to the appearance of Jay-Z !?

Anyway, the rest of the album is quite amazing.Of course the main style of music is Upbeat R&B,

a bit of hip hop as well, like she always does.

Very fashionable, danceable, commercial and really OK to listen to.

Highlights: Breakin' Dishes, Push up on me.

However, there's extra flavour and only due to that I gave this album 3*.

There's flavour of techno-disco in "Don't stop the music",

the kind of song that never get tired of playing in gay bars.

Mark my words! :)

There's flavour of slow, sexy R&B love song and it's a brilliant duet

with Ne-yo in "Hate that I love you".

It's been a long time having 2 great voices get together and sing along.

There's also flavour of.. stuff she always does as well, you know,

like Unfaithful, it's Rehab. I love this song.

Very positive, honest, well written, well produced and well sung.

Very Rihanna definitive!

In conclusion, Rihanna has made a very good effort of coming back,

reinventing herself in many different ways and luckily for her they all works well.

This album defintely deserves a try people!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)