Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
53
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2015
Dara O'Briain is one of my favorite comedians. I love the way he involves the audience and the speed with which he is able to turn, (what the rest of us would consider a mundane reply) into funny repartey is impressive. It also means that each time you see him the show is different. It is an adult show but there is no gratuitis swearing, sex or violent content, so it is suitable for, and will appeal to, wide range of ages.This particular recording was made a few years ago now but it is still topical and I think it will still be funny years down the line. When you are looking for something to make you smile and feel better this dvd certainly fits the bill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
good dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2008
Mr O Briain is back in town, and he's as good as usual; as good as you should expect of him. His old DVD is simply amazing, so I was worried this new one might be not that good, and that I would be dissapointed. But since I started watching it I knew it was going to be as good as the old one, or even better.

He is always hilarious, but the best bits of his shows are the interaction with the audience; that's, in my opinion what makes his shows so brilliant. Many comedians are good on telling jokes, but they can be a bit boring, just an hour and a half talking by their own. With Dara O Briain, you can never get bored.

I hope he records many of his live shows because living in Spain I have no oportunity of going to see him live, and this man is a real treasure on stage.
11 Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2008
When it comes to "getting the crack" with the audience, this guy can do no wrong. Unlike other comedians, he refrains from being rude or abusive to his audience members and engages in witty conversation, clearly off the top of his head, whilst managing to link in his very funny stories to make an hilarious show. I loved his previous DVD and love this one even more. I watched the Irish show in the extras and, even though I failed to understand a few of the clearly regional jokes (which he warns the viewers might happen) I still was able to giggle at the majority of the material. A very funny, hugely entertaining man.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2009
This is what comedy is all about. I put this on after watching Frankie Boyle's DVD (which I was really disappointed with) and boy, what a difference. Dara has great charisma, interacts with the audience really well and tells some really funny jokes - I thoroughly enjoyed this DVD and it was well worth the money. I first saw Dara on QI and then on the excellent Mock The Week, and know that he has a rather naughty side also, however, this DVD was good humour and didn't cross too many lines - it was great fun. Well done Dara, keep up the good work and long may you entertain us!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2009
Dara O Briain is funny, charming, outrageously intelligent, and kind. Always kind, even when he's gently mocking the audience members. And can I add he's a lot better looking than he often gives himself credit for - especially those eyes.

Okay, normal objective review service resumed now...

Except it's very hard to be objective, because I loved every minute of this DVD. I watched it with my husband and he thoroughly enjoyed it too (needless to say I was careful not to mention Dara's lovely eyes).

I bought this along with Dara's 2006 DVD, and for anyone afraid they'll get more of the same, they won't. You can justify owning both DVDs. Because Dara gets something different from each new audience, and is able, with quick fire wit, to turn their lives into something hilarious and special. The encores are worth waiting for alone, as he deftly brings together all the elements of the show so far (and there's no way he could rehearse that part), and makes the audience feel a million dollars.

The extras are great too. There's a fantastic show at Vicar Street, with all the stuff that he says only works in Ireland, when actually his humour travels really well, and he does - which I thought was rather sweet - translate for the benefit of a couple of English audience members.

There's a very funny drinking game with Mock The Week's charming David Mitchell, which also gives an insight into how Dara works the audience.

And finally, a short but sweet extra that those of us watching the DVD wouldn't normally get to see, as it segues to the interval.

So DO buy this DVD if you like intelligent, quick fire humour from somenoe who makes the audience feel they're the most important part of the show. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2008
Without the constraints of a TV show like Mock The Week, Dara O'Briain is clearly in his element in front of a live audience at the Hammersmith Apollo.

Slipping effortlessly between hilarious prepared material and even more hilarious banter with the unwitting members of the audience on the front row, this DVD is comedy gold from start to finish.

No in depth critique. No long winded review. Put it in your basket now and experience some of the best stand up available on DVD.

ps. Once you've dried your tears from watching the main show, go to the extras and watch an almost completely different show from the same tour! Recorded live in Ireland.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2008
Well I'm a massive fan of Dara and I got this DVD for christmas. I wasn't diappointed. I went to see him on this tour and even though alot of it is obviously done before alot of it still new just because of his fantastic interaction with the crowd.

Probably the best part of this DVD is the fantastic extras. David Mitchell appears for a "drinking game" although they don't get drunk, Dara and David do open up a bit more and talk about the DVD. This is essentially a commentary, although rather than it being just a sound recording, they are being filmed. Rather than most commentarys which can be a little hard to watch as you are essentially watching the DVD again without hearing it very well this is just two guys talking about the show you just watched.

Other extras include an hour of his show in Dublin and a 2 minute clip of a joke he made at the interval, but because DVD's like to have you believe no interval takes place, this didn't make the DVD.

A must for fans of Mock The Week or Dara.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2008
As I loved his Live at the theatre royal I watched this with high hopes. I was certainly not disappointed. He makes stand-up look effortless and is far more than just the "host of mock the week" that most seem to view him as.

His connections between topics, plus his ability to interview improv. and prepared material is simply amazing. One thing I recommend doing if you get this DVD is to make sure you watch the extras, in there you will find Dara's now famous drinking game commentary which on the last DVD featured Ed Byrne, this time around it was David Mitchell and is itself almost as funny as the show.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2010
Like Dara's two other DVD titles, 'Talks funny - Live in London' on DVD is fast, funny and the perfect showcase for a one of best comedians working today.
The speed with which Dara puts together improvisations using random info from people in the audience is mesmerising. Around that you have some really polished routines that makes for an hilarious hour and a half.
In addition one of the special features on the DVD is the 'In-vision Commentary and Drinking Game' with Dara and David Mitchell (from Peep Show) where you see them watching the show and talking about certain aspects of the routines and the performance itself - this feature is also a fun watch. The DVD also includes an additional recording of a tour gig at Dublin's Vicar Street theatre.

This is the next best thing to seeing Dara Live (every show is slightly different) and any fan of stand-up owes it to themselves to watch one of the slickest acts in the business performing at the top of his game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)