Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
10
3.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2011
I expected it to be crap, easy watching, but this was irritating, never got to the end, too annoying.

Probably the most annoying thing is it is split into 'parts', with the same sample of music playing each time every 10 minutes or so, makes no sense to me, and the music choice is really annoying.

Avoid
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
Not counting documentaries such as "The World Of Hammer" and "Flesh And Blood - The Hammer Heritage Of Horror", this is the first output to bear the famous name of Hammer since "The Hammer House Of Mystery And Suspense" TV series in 1984. So now, after many years of speculation, Hammer are finally back in business.

"Beyond The Rave", a modern vampire tale, is actually a collaboration between Hammer Film Productions and Pure Grass Films. It was originally shown on the networking website MySpace as a 20 part serial and now all the episodes have been put together on a limited special edition DVD to form a complete movie. So is it any good?

Unfortunately, I am sorry to say that the answer is NO. In fact it's absolutely terrible. I can't believe that Hammer fans have had to wait so long for this rubbish.

For a start, the script is poor. There are no likeable, sympathetic characters in this story. Most of the human characters are either violent, obnoxious thugs or drugged-up losers. Even the film's "hero", Ed, is a foul-mouthed, drug-taking, immoral son of a bitch who gets drunk with the lads and cheats on his girlfriend (who is no angel herself) by sleeping with a prostitute. I'm not sure whether it was a deliberate ploy by the film makers to make the human characters even more repellent than the vampires but they certainly have achieved this. The problem is that whenever any of the humans suffered a grisly death at the hands (and teeth, of course) of the vampires, I didn't really care and I found myself cheering for the vampires. The dialogue is awful and packed with crude obscenities. There is barely a single line of dialogue that does not contain words beginning with "F" or "C". Blimey, poor old Peter Cushing must be turning in his grave!!! The stream of profanities is so relentless that it just becomes tiresome and I ended up not being the slightest bit interested in what anyone had to say. If the human characters and their situations are meant to represent a true and realistic cross-section of British society than I'm glad I don't live in Britain anymore.

I absolutely love the old Hammer horror movies from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s and many of these films are now rightly regarded as classics. It is fair to say that some of these films were groundbreaking and were even considered to be controversial and shocking in their day. Many of these original Hammer movies had great scripts, brilliant sets, superb direction and wonderful acting. These films have been admired by film makers such as Martin Scorsese, Tim Burton and Peter Jackson. The name of Hammer has become a legend in the film industry and, although they made lots of different types of films, Hammer has become synonymous with the horror genre. Unfortunately, "Beyond The Rave" is neither shocking or scary and has no class or any real style or atmosphere. Even the scenes featuring vampire attacks are ridiculous. The scariest thing about this film is that the people responsible for it must have thought that there are people out there who would actually enjoy watching this dross! If this was really a "worldwide online hit" as stated on the back cover of this DVD, then I can only assume that some modern horror fans must be easily pleased.

I realise that times have changed since the golden age of Hammer and that cinema has also changed. I did not expect "Beyond The Rave" to be a gothic horror film in the same vein as Dracula or Frankenstein. I did however hope that it would be quite good in its own right. My optimism and expectations were shattered within the first 5 minutes. "Beyond The Rave" really disappointed and depressed me. This is a grim movie with no redeeming qualities. It's so depressing that it makes the ending of Sergio Corbucci's "Il Grande Silenzio" look like "It's A Wonderful Life". There have been some great contemporary horror movies made in recent years but BTR is not one of them. This film is an insult to the name and grand tradition of Hammer.

On a slightly more positive note, the new age of Hammer has 2 more films in the pipeline - "Let Me In" and "The Resident" (the latter featuring Christopher Lee). I can only pray that these films will be a vast improvement over BTR. If they aren't then I won't care if Hammer remains dormant for about another 25 years.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2008
Many years have passed since the legendary 'Hammer Films' last introduced us to a new Horror picture. That was in the guise of 'To The Devil A Daughter' in 1976 and many fans have been hopeful for a comback for many years. After numerous false starts, we finally have a new movie to watch in 2008's 'Beyond The Rave'. It is worth noting that the dvd version of the movie is not only cut differently but is also reasonably longer than the current My Space episodic download version. This longer dvd version includes the appearances of various great character actors who's roles were cut from the My Space version such as Mark Wingett (The Bill), Ingrid Pitt (The Wicker Man) and Steve Sweeney (Lock Stock). Although the dvd has not yet been released, I had the good fortune to see the longer version in a rare cinema showing. It is a more pleasurable experience to watch the film as a whole and in this extended cut. There is a really nice pacing throughout the film, action handled very well by newcomer director Matthias Hoene and too many well executed performances to mention. Don't get me wrong, the film is no classic, but if you're after a great nights entertainment via some true craftsmen and to join in the celebration of the return of a British Institution then look no further.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
This film is divided up into more than a dozen 'episodes'. It's free on YouTube.

And it's not even worth that!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
As a massive Hammer Horror fan i was ecstatic to find out they had been bought and were starting production on new films.
I missed Beyond the Rave when it was on My Space becuase i knew nothing about it, i have since watched it , it is definetly Hammer in the 21st Century, in the respect that it is not set in an authentic Victorian era or predecessing era before that as many Hammer Horror fans would have liked to see.
Saying this the 20 short episodes put together made an enjoyably Vampire flick in the modern era, it was nothing brilliant , however it wasnt as bad as some of the reviews wish you to think, if you are comparing it to older Hammer films like Frankenstein and Dracula, then obviously it fails in comparision, but if you are judging it on the merit of what it is then it is a nice fresh new piece of filmography.
It would be nice to see Hammer making some period horror again, with authentic scenery - as a Hammer Horror film fan you will already know they made films cheaply but effectively in the past and could do the same again, i think this is what we expect from Hammer and would definetly like to see again, if you remember though Hammer always moved with the times, when in the seventies when Martial Arts became all the rage they bought you The Legend of the Seven Golden Vampires - Peter Cushing against Dracula and Martial Arts Vampires, and in the eighties they moved into Television with the brilliant Hammer House of Horror, and Mystery and Suspense.
I think the way forward would be for Hammer to do a mix of films to suit all fans , the modern day ones and the authentic Horror, i belive they could do a really good Zombie film as i think they only did one when originally in production Plague of the Zombies.
Going back to what i was saying , it was nice to see an old stalwart of Hammer Horror in this production in Ingrid Pitt, and also Christopher Lee is currently filming The Resident for Hammer at the moment.
It was sad about the death of Peter Cushing in 1994 as he and Christopher Lee were to me the faces of the brilliant Horror films and of Hammer, Peter you are sadly missed and a true gentleman that no one ever could say a bad word about.
Lastly i will add this remember the House on Haunted Hill remake where someone took Vincent Price's role and was a spitting image for him and they even called the character Mr Price, is there a lookalike for Peter Cushing around as i would believe this would bring atmosphere and nostalgia to a Hammer Horror film - Hammer bosses if you are reading please take note.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2010
Soldier Ed(Jamie Dornan), on the eve of being called up to fight in Iraq, joins best mate Necro(Matthew Forrest) and together they go looking for an all night rave. Not any old rave, but one organised by Melech(Sebastian Knapp) who just happens to have taken Ed's girlfriend Jen(Nora-Jane Noone) along for the ride. Melech has his own plans for the night, plans that involve the participation of some very unwilling subjects....
So here we have it. After years of rumours and dissapointments, Hammer films have returned. Fans of British horror have been teased and titilated about this prospect for some time now, so there was a great sense of expectation when the rumour became a reality. After the expectation came the dismay, with many voices calling 'Beyond The Rave' an insult to the memory of the 'real' Hammer films, and also seemingly outing the new Hammer as charlatans and imposters. Well, two years on, and Hammer are about to make a long overdue film adaptation of Susan Hill's classic spine chiller 'The Woman In Black' as well as a remake of the brilliant vampire film 'Let The Right One In'. So perhaps Beyond The Rave could be described as a tasty titbit whetting the appetite for the main course.
So, just how successful was this attempt to merge the vampire mythology with the modern rave culture. Well, in my opinion, its a great little 'film'(on this dvd, the episodes are all presented together, but with their own titles). I found it to be stylish, witty and very atmospheric in places. I think those who were horrified by the name of Hammer being associated with this were probably expecting a gothic horror, maybe even a remake of one of Hammer's past glories. What we have instead is Hammer bringing itself bang up to date. I think the traditionalists should also remember that in the 70's Hammer brought out many interesting and quite experimental horrors.
One of the most successful aspects of Beyond The Rave is the attempt to draw parralels between the addictions of the ravers and the vampires. Both groups are very much creatures of the night, the only difference being that the vampires feed on the blood through necessity. Throughout the film there are some pretty striking scenes. One that stands out in particular is when the crowd of ravers cheer as a vampire above them swoops down for a kill, the applause rising as they are showered with blood, thinking it a cool party trick. Another great sequence is when the ravers having been sedated with gas, watch helplessly as the vampires feed on their friends.
There are a number of excellent performances to be found throughout the episodes. Probably the real standout is Trevor Byfield as the suave, sinister Leopold. Byfield steals every scene that he's in. Tamer Hassan and Lee Whitlock are great as a couple of gangsters who take on the vampires and sadly consigned only to the bonus scens is Steve Sweeney who is a real hoot as the very, very crusty Tooley, a drug dealer who keeps his stash in the cavity of a stuffed dog. Of interest to Hammer fans, Ingrid Pitt turns up in this bonus scene as Tooley's mother. I could go on, as Beyond The Rave is crammed full with top notch performances.
As mentioned in the last paragraph there are some great bonus scenes in the extras on the disc. It's a real shame that they didn't make it into the episodes proper. Also included in the extras is an extra episode entitled 'Necro's First Kill'. A terrific little episode this, that ows as much if not more to Pete Walker as it does to 'classic' Hammer.
This is a fantastic release, a great main event supported by a wealth of extras. I could not possibly give it any less than the full 5 out of 5. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
Its hammer time again after 25 years!! This dont really feel like a hammer film though when you watch it but obviously times have changed! Still this is a brilliant bit of filmmaking with a superb story and an amazing cast. Theres plenty of good bloodshed and the soundtrack is awesome! For a horror fan this is rather a treat and a worthy addition to the collection. Great fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
First of all I'm a massive Hammer horror fan and love everything about the horror period drama classics which starred for the majority of time the great Peter cushing and Christopher Lee. So being a completist I just had to watch this 25 years after Hammer studios rolled out its final feature To the Devil a daughter.I admit I was expecting the worst, seen as this was a myspace 20 episode series for the internet. How wrong I was! Hammer has definately moved into the 21st Century and this is about as contempory as you can get in regards to the vampires. Gone are the slow-witted, almost romantasised vamps we had come to expect from previous 70s films and in are the technology loving, sex-craving, throat gouging night crawlers which have to take on a new thuggish and wild generation to survive.I particularly loved how two vampires inject a hapless victim with heroin before taking turns to drink from his veins to both acheive a high from the victim's tainted blood stream. Hammer have now moved into the mainstream with the upcoming Let Me In. If Beyond The Rave is an example of the direction Hammer studios is going then I can see great, successful things happening for this legendary name. Children of the night should embrace this film..you'll love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
No brought as a present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2010
This is complete and utter s**t-water. It claims to be a Hammer Film. It is neither Hammer, nor actually a film. It's a bloody disgrace, and a dismal watch to boot. British cinema. Don't make me laugh
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)