Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
23
4.5 out of 5 stars
Don't Waste Your Life
Format: Kindle Edition|Change


on 8 June 2017
Amazing book. Truly amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Very inspiring!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
A must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 December 2003
This is a tremendous book; a great book to read at the start of another year. The vast expanse of the rest of our life (or the not so vast, God alone knows) stretches before us – the question hangs in the air: Will we waste it? What will we have to show at the end of our one and only precious God-given life?
Is Jesus useful only for escaping Hell, or is he the Treasure of our lives? Do we live lives that demonstrate something of the all-surpassing value of Jesus, or lives that show only too clearly that we have the same earthbound focus as our neighbours? Are we wasting our lives?
John Piper demonstrates with passionate forceful clarity that a life lived revelling in God’s glory and seeking to bring glory to him in every sphere of life is the only way to really live your life. He issues a call to serve and glorify Christ in the ministry, on the mission field, and in secular jobs. Amidst his passion there is balance and wisdom for all believers.
In the first two or three chapters, perhaps less easy to read than the rest of the book, Piper tells us of his discovery of the preciousness of Christ. And this is his great prayer for the readers of his book – that we will not only see it, but live it out. The succeeding chapters are powerfully challenging with titles like:
‘Risk is right – Better to lose your life than to waste it’
‘Living to prove He is more precious than life’
‘Making much of Christ 8 to 5’
‘The majesty of Christ in missions and mercy’
This isn't a book to read quickly, but a book that will take you time and will profoundly challenge you – your use of time, money and life itself. If you want to live life as God intends this is a book is for you. It should be compulsory reading for every Christian!
1515 Comments| 130 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
This is a fantastic book to read! I thought it was very useful and offered practical advice on how to avoid a wasted life. It really brought into perspective the importance of being `eternally' minded Christians, and not being caught up with the superficial `stuff' that seems to be ripe in today's culture; popularity, success, power and wealth. John Piper writes with precision and clarity on the issues and topics raised in this book; one quote which echo's throughout the pages is, `Risk is right, Better to lose your life than to waste it'. I think this is one of the better books out there that tries to renew the Christian vision, and give new enthusiasm for the Word of God. Just recently I read Rob Bell's Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith, which in essence tries to do what Piper does here, but however is nothing more than a sloppy mess of stories and analogies. John Piper hit the nail on the head when he wrote don't waste your life; thought provoking, challenging and Biblically founded, I think this is a good and helpful book that a people will continually return to and enjoy.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
An eye opener, a powerful book, you will never be the same again as you realise the true meaning of life as a christian here on earth and begin to live it daily........Read it , you will never want to waste even one day of your precious life again!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2010
If your looking for a deeper understanding of the Bible, of Christ living life and true spirituality, this book really helps understand some complicated stuff. And it's very easy to read.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
During the past few months I have taken retirement from a Christian organization, ( although I still work with them two days a week).

I found this book the most challenging book I have read for a very long time, certainly this year. John Piper sets out in very clear terms that we are not our own but that we belong to Christ.

Our lives should therefore be used for Him and in seeking to make Him known, not only to those round about us but to all men everywhere from whatever country or culture they may come from.

To be highly recommended to everyone everywhere.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)