Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14

on 19 January 2017
now, this is a most underrated drama series. Bill Bixby is excellent, conveying the pathos of David (Bruce) Banner.
Also notable for Lou Ferringo who adds athletic credibility to the hulk's transformation from Banner.
Each episode is part 'chase' with different situations resolved by David (& the hulk).
Fun to check out the aliases Banner uses - eg David Blaine, David Bellamy etc.
thoroughly recommended and watch out for junior actors/actresses getting their first break in TV/Movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2012
The Hulk Cartoons from 1966 received more of a stellar treatment in the dvd packaging than the other four Marvel titles from the series.
The Hulk cartoons are packaged in a green dvd case with a four page comic book styled insert with original comic information. The cartoons are complete with the 18-20 second re-cap and title between each of the the 3 5-6 minute chapters that make up an episode.
The episodes were not broadcast in the original comic book chronology. Hulk was originally published in his own comic that lasted only six issues. Hulk was then published in "Tales To Astonish". All but Hulk #4 were adapted to these cartoons. To add to the enjoyment and continuity in the story they should be watched as below:

Hulk Chronology

#1 Origin of the Hulk (Hulk #1 - May 1962)
#2 Terror of the Toad Man (Hulk #2 - July 1962)
#10 The Ring Master (Hulk #3 - Sept 1962)
#11 Enter Tyrannus (Hulk #5 - Jan 1963)
#9 The Incredible Hulk vs. The Metal Master (Hulk #6 - March 1963)
#8 The Space Phantom (Avengers #2 - Nov 1963)
#6 Brawn vs. Brain (Tales To Astonish #60-62 - Oct-Dec 1964)
#3 Titan Rides the Train (Tales To Astonish #63-65 - Jan-March 1965)
#4 Power of Dr. Banner (TTA #65-68 - March-June 1965)
#5 Micro-Monster (TTA #68-71 - June-Sept 1965)
#7 Within the Monster Dwells the Man (TTA # 73-74 - Nov-Dec 1965)
#12 Terror of the T-Gun (TTA #75-77 - Jan-March 1966)
#13 The Man Called Boomerang (TTA #81-83 July-Sept 1966)
1010 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2015
The hulk most interest cartoon i have ever watched when hulk meet the leader and meet the watcher,it seem for me real maybe possible we are not alone in the universe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2013
this dvd is great to have if your are a hulk fan or marvel fan, this dvd is the first one for the hulk, also get the 1981,1996 as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2014
my son loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2009
At last the 5th of the Marvel Super Heroes characters from 1966 is out on DVD too. Capt America, Thor, Iron Man and Sub Mariner were all released in 2007 (with the recap footage cut).
Be glad to know that my scathing reviews at the time worked. This time the company has included all the recap footage in each 3 part story of the first TV appearance of the Hulk. You'll even see the Avengers guest star in the story "The Space Phantom", explaining why Hulk left the team. Drawn by Jack Kirby, to animate his comic strip, these are original Hulk masterpieces. Don't worry about the limits of the fairly primitive animation. Just go back to 1966 and recapture your childhood.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2009
great cartoon, but ended so quickly, then 1990's came out great dvd as well, put out season 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2008
about time they released this series its only 13 episodes but they are far better cartoons than the 60s or 90s efforts the animation is classic 80s the theme music is also classic.hulk fights some quality enemies doc octopus,hunchback big spider like robots with aliens in them and many others the hulk himself looks brilliant. as a child i used to get quite scared when banner turned into the hulk.maybe the kids of today will get to see a descent cartoon series instead of the cheap poorly animated turd.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2008
What can I say, Excellent! Packaging for the Incredible hulk, the episode booklet, the mini poster, 2 single sided discs, and I had worried as I had purchased the box set of the other Marvel 1966 heroes but this one includes the individual title pages with the recap. Although I was thinking the recaps are maybe not needed as the episode they recap is just before them on the disk I still like that they were included and I did want the 3 episode title pages. The theme song and closing music is at the beginning and end of the 3 episodes however, and I agree that works fine. This presentation may not be for everyone but then what is? If like me you are in region one all you should have to do is use your computer DVD and when inserted the program for viewing should pop up a screen asking if you want to change to region 2. You may be limited on changes so take note. I read that someone did not like that the recaps were not included on the others (Cap., Thor, Shell-head, and subby) but like I said, I didn't miss the recaps as much as the title screens. I hope others from the USA see this, I know we have been waiting for the license people to get it together and let these out to us; funny, I had to go to the UK to get my Marvel Super-Heroes. Hey, whatever works. so to recap, 5 stars for packaging, 5 for one sided disks, 5 for features, and 5 for the UK for getting them out, I would give all the above 10's if I could. In conclusion; as Stan would say, EXCELSIOR!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2008
I remember the 1982 series for an episode called "When Monsters Meet", featuring a classic battle between the Hulk and Quasimodo and his massive bat Salvatore in Notre Dame. I haven't seen it for a good 20 years and this is the best animated series of the Hulk, better even than the 1966 and 1996 series, definitely worth the pre-order.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here