Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£24.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 August 2008
QI is a class act in every way, shape and form. It continues to be as entertaining as it is informative and damned worth a watch whoever you are and whatever your interests might be. Because the questions on QI are so absurdly difficult, contestants are awarded points for being interesting and sharing their knowledge. Boring, incorrect and obvious answers (usually things most of us were incorrectly taught in school, or have been proved differently since) are highlighted, and the record put straight.

You just can't go wrong with QI.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2008
Not entirely sure where Ramsey Tupper was coming from, although I do feel that s/he was being very unfair.

Qi is, in my opinion, the most intelligent quiz show on British television at the moment - as sharp as Have I Got News For You, and every bit as funny. The chemistry between Fry and Davies is always good, and the guests always add rather than detract from the show.

As a quiz show, adding something to general knowledge rather than simply making jokes is a good thing, in my opinion.
33 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2008
QI Series C
Winner of the 2008 Royal Television Society Award for BEST ENTERTAINMENT PROGRAMME.

If you buy this DVD you will understand why it recieved that award.

Following the tremendous success of Series A and B the team at QI now bring you all things C-riously interesting. Each episode packed with classic moments from the largest names in comedy, some regular and some new faces. Topics range from Chavs to Custard, Ever wondered where champagne came from? Do you know what to do with "Cummingtonite"?
Never fear, these questions are all answered throughout the 12 episodes.
Each 40 minute episode stuffed with interestingness cleverly combined with the talents of the guests themselves. Watch as Stephen and Alan banter about the discoveries of Christopher Columbus, Just what did Rich Hall know about Cats Eyes? Can Clive Anderson tell you the REAL story of Cinderella's slippers? Most importantly, could YOU walk on custard? All these strange questions are covered on the DVD.

If you're like me and your curiousity has been piqued then QI Series C is a MUST-HAVE. Extra-special features found on the double-disc set include,

- Commentary from the Senior QI Elves
- Cutscene reel (Celebrity "cock-ups") and moments you didn't see!
- QI's first step into the world of pop videos* (Has to be seen to be believed!)*Starring Peter Cushing
- A glance into Costermongers (The QI Shop)

I feel that QI Series C is more than deserving of its 5 star Amazon award. This show provides a nation with both knowledge and laugher which, when mixed, have created the finest show watched by thousands. The effort put into the DVD is phenomenal, the layout menus are simple and direct. Easy to navigate whilst still being pleasing to look at. I heartilly dispute the comments of Mr Ramsey "RT" Tupper, QI caters for all who are willing to step up and learn something new about the world. Curiousity is part of our lives and each day we're better off for having learnt something new. If facts weren't disputed, we'd be going around with false history.

Go on m'friends, give QI a try. You won't be disappointed :)

QI Host: Stephen Fry
Regular "curious cat" : Alan Davies

With frequent appearances from huge stars such as Jo Brand, Phill Jupitus, Bill Bailey, Sean Lock, Rich Hall, Jeremy Clarkson, Rob Brydon, Dara O'Briain, Clive Anderson, Arthur Smith, Mark Steel, John Sessions and many newcomers such as Rory McGrath, Alexander Armstrong, Doon Mackichan, David Mitchell and Andy Hamilton.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
I liked QI from the outset and the number of positive reviews speak for themselves, so there's no point me trying to sell it. After all, it's gone from strength to strength since Series C to such an extent that there are large amounts I've missed and would love to catch up on.

Sadly DVD-wise the trail goes cold after Series C, meaning that many favourite episodes, unless held on digital TV recorders, are unavailable to view at the moment. A plea then, for the massive archive in between then and now to be spread before us once again.

For the potential buyer, I need only say that this is Series C as seen on TV at the time of broadcast, and you get a fair old bang for your buck. Highlights include the "Peter Cushing" song, which inspired an exchange on horror film actors and a QI version of the song itself, all included on Disc 2. Genial, witty and good laid-back fun.

So, BBC, you contrary old thing, I refer you to my review title.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I confess that I didn't watch QI until recently, but boy am I glad I've started. It's an excellent blend of wit, banter and most importantly gleaning interesting facts about the specific series letter e.g. words and phrases that begin with the letter 'C'. Stephen Fry is the perfect blend of knowledgeable but naughty host and the other panellists are hilarious too, especially my favourite, Sean Lock.

As well as containing all of the series' episodes the extras are also worth a look as there are some amusing outtakes. There's also a pop video of the little-known pop gem 'Peter Cushing lives in Whitstable', which is hilarious! I'd recommend this DVD to all QI fans.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2008
This show is just brilliant, it has the best comedians on it and as always Steven Fry shares his intelligence with no trace of being condescending. Alan is great in it too but for his boyishness.

As for the one bad review on here, I looked at that persons other reviews and it's clear that that person is a troll just looking for attention.
44 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
I think the earlier series were better than later when everyone wanted to talk at the same time, laughed too much and relied on smutty jokes, still fun but harder to hear all. This was excellent though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2009
Stephen Fry is generally wonderful in anything he does. But this series of QI seems especially nice to me. I give it a solid 10.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
Another great Qi DVD, you cant go wrong with this show, its one of the best on T.V. Full of fun facts and laughs its a must have for Qi fans. (Shame that they haven't released the other series on DVD though) All in all 5/5.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2012
I love nearly every moment of all the QI series. It is a delightfully eccentric concept -- rewarding clever or interesting answers to impossible questions, and penalizing cliche or common answers -- like it's wonderful host, Stephen Fry.

There are four 'contestants' every show culled from comics, comic actors, actors, and various public figures. One of the four is always the adorable and funny Alan Davies. He is compelling in every venue I have seen him in: The Brief, Whites, Bob and Rose, etc.

The humor is often raunchy, reflecting the gay sensibilities of the host, and comes deliciously close to crossing the line of taste, as well as the censors if any actually exist in British television. But it is always funny, and participants all seem to get a kick out of one another. Their enjoyment is contagious.

I will be buying this series as long as it is produced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)